Sept 17 -- Steemit Ramble -- Notes on My Favourite Reads

in #curation8 years ago (edited)

Well today has started off rather unplanned and counter-productive. I went to bed early last night because of being awoke so early yesterday morning. Well only an hour, but it was still early. The cats let me sleep until well after daybreak this morning which was really surprising .

I wanted to get up early to finish posting yesterday’s Ramble and then get on with today’s. So, I get up, put coffee on and start feeding the cats. The phone rings. It’s someone from the branch giving me a heads up about some childish nonsense expected to come up at the meeting this Tuesday.

I have to keep reminding myself, I don’t do what I do for people like them. I do it because I support the mission of the Royal Canadian Legion, not petty nonsense that some seem to think is way more important.

So, that killed most of my morning. I need to be aware and ready, it’s just frustrating. Anyways, on to today’s reading.

The Main Reason For Steemit To Be Considered A Scam. - Envy and Despair is disgusting!

@hitmeasap writes an excellent piece about Steemit and his thoughts on those who see it as a ‘scam’ and those who despair of ever making anything on the site. I agree with a lot of what he writes here.

Yeah, I had my times that I wondered if I should put time into the site or not. I looked around at the number of people making decent money within minutes of posting. I also looked at the number of people making nothing after hours having been posted. Yeah, maybe I shouldn’t invest so much time. I have other things to do but, you know, there is some good stuff to read here. I like reading.

As I read more, something else crossed my mind and I went back to look at the two groups. Those earning and those not. I looked at the profiles. Something stood out pretty quick, those who posted original content more consistently, earned more. So, yeah, I should be able to build up an income on this site. It wont be in the short term, it will be over time and persistence. That is my goal.

#22KILL 22 Push-ups for 22 Days - Raising awareness for Veteran Suicide through Steemit [Day 14]

Has been a few days since I checked in on @senseiteekay and his 22 day challenge. Of the 13 days he has completed, he was able to make donations in multiples of $22 on 6 of those days. Looks like more people need to be upvoting and supporting the cause. Let’s do what we can to help.

Personal Boundaries? What are they and where can I get Some? :)

Personal boundaries are very important, both physical and emotional. @serioustruth writes a good post on defining and establishing your boundaries. People will not automatically respect them, some take more than other to get them established.

How to Sell Steem Dollars – 🌞 The Fast and Easy Way – Visual Step by Step Guide 🐳

One of the challenges for the non-crypto people who join Steemit is to learn how to move their Steem funds to fiat funds and vice versa. @steempowerwhale provides a visual guide for selling Steem dollars.

What is an Attitude? And How to Build a Positive Attitude.

A positive attitude can take a long way in life. Unfortunately, negativity, either our own or the impact of others, can intrude and take over if we’re not careful. @slayer writes about how to build a positive attitude and maintain it.

Mascot Contest for Steemit- Calling All Designers!

Well this is kind of neat. @knozaki2015 has organized a mascot design contest. I came across one of the submissions and then found this post about the contest. The submissions are supposed to be uploaded to the comment section of the post. The upvotes on the comment count towards the winning design.

Social Media Tip #9 Use Memes to Convey Your Brand or Message.

@hilarski writes about how the social media meme can be a great way to effectively brand you or your product. Good memes are shared and spread the word on your brand far and wide.

The 7 Design Principles of a Blockchain Economy

@antifragile writes his second part of a series on Canadian futurist Don Tapscott’s book on the blockchain economy. In this post he describes the seven design principles of the blockchain economy. It’s become pretty clear we’re going to be hearing more and more about this approach.

Wrap-up for Day 15

Had to take some time out this afternoon to go to the branch. As I was getting ready to leave an out-of-town guest arrived so I ended up staying longer. It was getting towards the end of the day and there was no one else around. So, rather than leave our guest to have a drink on his own, I stayed and visited. We do pride ourselves on hospitality.

Some interesting reads today. Hope you enjoy them as much as I did.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on


If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.

Sort:  

DUDE, solid summaries and choices of material, definitely followed. Excellent, wish more curators took the time that you take.

I'm new and part of my struggle is finding the content of those I'm following. I follow those I'm interested in, but my feed seems to be filled with random stuff. Thanks

thank you for your kind words @witnezme .. and umm... that would be dudette :)

Great read as always!

thank you @modernbukowski ... keep up your good work eh :)

Awesome post. Glad to see so many people helping one another out through sharing one another's posts and thoughts. Thank you for making our community stronger!

thank you for your kind words @alchemage

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78