October 30 -- Steemit Ramble #128 -- Curating Great Posts for YousteemCreated with Sketch.

in #curation7 years ago

I’ve been really behind on my Steemit Rambles and Coffee Time Meditations. Some of it has been the time I’ve spent getting Pimp Your Post Thursdays setup. If you don’t know what PYPT is, you can read more about it in the report below. I’ve been really pleased with the response to the project so far.

The next couple of months are my busiest time of year offline. My time will be a lot more limited but I’ll get as many posts as I can out. The Christmas hamper program is getting underway starting Wednesday, we have Remembrance Day coming up which is very busy and I have a Silent Auction to organize in early December.

I’m home today and glad of that. I woke to the sound of wind and rain as fall takes hold in this part of my world. I like being away from the heat of summer but, now I have to turn the heat on which means spending money. Have to take the good with the bad I guess.

Zappl finally released this week. It’s a Twitter like app on the STEEM blockchain. It had some issues out of the gate but they have been working diligently on the problems and are getting it workable.

I’ve managed to make three Zaps and will be mixing them with my longer posts. I like the convenience of being able to just post a quick short post using Zappl without thinking about the formatting. I personally think that mixing short and long form posting is a great idea. It allows for greater flexibility for the platform and is attractive to a wider group of people.

Pimp Your Post Thursday Report — Oct. 26th

Onward to today’s rambling

DLive - The First Decentralized Live Streaming Platform on Steem!

Another development to the Steem ecosystem is the addition of DLive, a live streaming platform on the Steem blockchain. I’m not big on video but, I know a lot of people are and live streaming has become very popular. Why bother giving revenue to YouTube, Twitch or any of the other platforms when you can gain some revenue yourself?

Hello Steemit!!

#thealliance is a group of Steemians who support each other. It’s not a circle jerk, it is based on quality, consistent work. Each member is reviewed by other members before becoming a member and those who fail to participate will be dropped. The main group is capped at 100 members.

The cap has been reached. Rather than turn people away who qualify, three syndicates have been created. Read more about them in the post.

1# Drawitbetter Contest - 20 SBD + 20 Whale Shares FOR THE WINNERS!

This post as nominated by @kid4life, thank you.

@sirsensei is on a quest to learn to draw well. He’s sharing his creations while he does and now he’s added a contest. Each week there will be theme and an opportunity for you to improve on the creation @sirsensei shares using that theme. Check it out, could be fun.

Internet Connection In Africa : A Necessary Luxury

This post was nominated by @battleaxe, thank you.

@ogochukwu writes a well presented post about the cost of being on the internet in many parts of Africa. While some of the prices he quotes doesn’t seem expensive to us here in North America, they are a big part of most Africans income. Members of Steemit from Africa is a growing segment which makes it interesting what it takes for some parts of the world to take part on the platform.

Steepshot Review📷 (What's Instagram?)

This post is over seven days old but I good information, so I included it.

Another part of the STEEM ecosystem is the Instagram like app, Steepshot. It’s only available for Android mobile devices, so I can’t check it out on my ipad. @enginewitty uses it and for the most part likes it. There are some downsides but like most of the growing STEEM ecosystem, it is a work in progress.

One thing that @enginewitty didn’t mention, and might not have been aware of, is that they have released a web version of Steepshot. It’s a nice looking interface.

My Witness List🔬(...And Why I Vote For Them ✅)

Every account on Steemit has thirty votes to use for witnesses. It’s important that you find out who the witnesses are and choose your votes carefully. They are supposed to be working for the benefit of the platform and you can’t know who is if you know nothing about them.

@enginewitty has shared who he votes for and why because he takes voting for witnesses as seriously as I do. Have a look over his choices. If you haven’t voted, you may find some guidance there. If you haven’t reviewed your votes in a while, you should.

If you’d rather let someone else select who to vote for, you can choose a proxy. I currently am proxy for a few accounts. While your voting strength may not be very strong on your own, by delegating it through a proxy the voting block becomes stronger.

Mermaid Brigade (What the Heck?)

Are you a woman finding the ‘man’s world’ attitude is extending to Steemit? @battleaxe has decided to do something about it by creating a space for women to gather on Discord. If you’d like to be included, DM her on Discord.

If you’ve not got onto discord yet, you’ll find it a great place to network and get to know others on Steemit. The desktop app seems to work a lot better than the web app and it’s a good idea to have a mic and headset but not required. Not every discord does voice chat, a lot of them do mostly text.

👉👉Featured Member:👈👈 🎴@reko👀

One of the activities #thealliance does every week is selecting a featured member of the alliance with a write up and their name ‘up in lights’ so to speak on the discord server. This week is @reko. If you read the last PYPT report you’ll come across one of his posts that @enginewitty brought to share.

Welcome to Lisbon, SteemFest!!! (yes, it's Creamy, and Delicious!)

@inquiringtimes is enroute to Steemfest and has published the first segment about the adventure.

Steemfest Safe Travel Guide

@guiltyparties has put together an excellent guide with tips about travelling and your security while doing so. I can’t think of anything more frightening than to suddenly discover that your access to funds for travelling is suddenly non-existent among other things. This post is written geared towards Steemfest but it applies in any travel situation.

Getting in The Steemoween Spirit - Free Steemit Steemoween Covers

I’ll readily admit, I am not a fan of Halloween. Haven’t been for years. But, I do know that a lot of people get into the event and really want all their life to reflect it. Having said all that, I can appreciate someone doing some event related graphics and them looking nice.

@hopehuggs has put together several Halloween themed graphics that you are free to use on your profile for the occasion. Have a look and don’t forget, if you use one, at least thank @hopehuggs as the creator please.

How To Write Comments That Makes Influencers Notice You

@ogochukwu has written one of the best posts on the subject of commenting I have ever read on this site. Very well written and very comprehensive. While it has not received high enough rewards to reach the trending page, it should be there with almost 400 views.

Wrap-up on Day 128

Some interesting posts today, I love finding variety on the platform. The system seems to be working better. I hope that holds and that we’re past the issues of the last couple of weeks.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting.

Nominate Your Favourite Post

With all the chaff that I end up trying to sift through each time I sit down to do the Steemit Ramble, I think it is time to give you dear reader an opportunity to nominate your favourite reads.

Just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord and post the link in the Nominate-A-Post Channel.

steemit ramble

As much as you may love your own post, I am really looking for someone else to say, “Hey, I like this post, have a look”. When I post a Steemit Ramble, that is what I’m telling my readers.

Once you’ve shared someone else’s post, you’ll be given access to a channel where you can share your own posts for me to consider them. It’s only fair for you to have the chance.

Please Join the Curation Trail

If you’d like to support the posts I find and upvote while searching for the Ramble shares, please join my Curation Trail on Streemian

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile


Sort:  

Love your work @shadowspub! Looking forward to tuning in to PYPT when im back on home soil :)

sounds like a plan.. will be looking for you

This is great! Keep up the good work, Steemit needs all the curation it can get. These days, I honestly discover more new posts from curators than from the actual topics.

that is good to know @mountainwashere. It's always good to know that the time and effort that manual curating takes has a benefit for others.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ShadowsPub from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

They released the desktop about 12 hours after I made that review and yes i did see it. Have not used it, as Steemit works pretty swift now. Thanks for highlighting my post(s)!

Steemit does seem to be working better that last couple of days.. let's hope we're over the hurdle. The web app for Steepshot at least lets the non-Android people have access

There is always stuff happening on steemit, because steemit is a happening place! Thank you for sharing your favs! @ironshield

you're right.. there is always happening stuff going on on Steemit.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Lovely post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64036.76
ETH 2647.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78