Oct 21 - Steemit Ramble - Notes on My Favourite Reads

in #curation8 years ago

I posted a short Christmas themed story yesterday called Peace, My Sister. This is the first time I’ve posted any fiction on here. It received some upvotes and some posting reward, so not a bad start.

I was out to a meeting last evening to start the planning on a local festival which will run in May. There is a lot of planning that goes into this festival every year. Like anything else, some work hard and others in the community nitpick and complain. I prefer to be among the ones who work on success.

Onward to today’s rambling

Self-entitlement on Steemit

This post was written in response to a post Joseph wrote. He’s one of the witnesses and was expressing his concern about the quality writers who are moving on from Steemit. It’s the comments @senseiteekay is responding to in his post. I saw the post and most of the comments. I tend to agree with his assessment of the comments.

Qnantum Entanglement: Pipes, Pipers, Parades, Surfing in October, and Partially Naked Drinking as a Sport

I came across one post from @rebeccaryan which is going to be listed next and then found this one. @rebeccaryan lives not far from me geographically. Small world in so many ways. I had never known this story about Kincardine. Many communities in Ontario seem to draw toward the bagpipes, but seems Kincardine takes it to a new level.

My late husband, who died in 1989, asked for only one thing at his funeral. For a lone piper to play Amazing Grace beside his grave. It was the one point in the service where I had to struggle to keep my composure. Frank treated Amazing Grace like an anthem, when it played he would stand out of respect.

Being a Legionnaire, I can’t remember a parade that didn’t involve at least one pipe and drum band, including our Remembrance Day parades in our small community. When you parade behind a pipe band, you get an appreciation of why in WW1 the Germans called the Canadians “the ladies from hell” because of the tendency of some of the regiments to be led into battle by pipes and drums.

25 years and Still Afloat. (Part One: An Introduction to the Trent-Severn Waterway by Canoe.)

Another post by @rebeccaryan about spending a day on the Trent-Severn by canoe. Great photos she has posted of a beautiful area of the Province of Ontario. While it was chilly out on the water that day, I was in shirt sleeves when I was out and around. I can’t remember being this far into October and still being out in shirt sleeves.

Although, there was a Remembrance Day a few years back where we were on the deck at the branch after the parade with shirt sleeves. That was a one-off day.

Positivity Challenge 4 and 5 Beginning 19/10/2016 lasting two weeks.

@positivity’s posting has been a bit quiet but he’s back this week with two Positivity Challenges which will run for two weeks. Have a look at the challenges and let’s see your post for them.

Attention Economy of Steemit

@mrosenquist writes about @ned’s appearance at the Hackathon in Oslo last weekend. There has been a lot of discussion on SteemSpeak Chat on Discord during this past week. Overall, most people seem to be looking towards the implementation of these ideas as part of the process of strengthening the platform.

Better Steemit Promotion: Ask people what it is, don't tell them.

@winstonwolfe suggests taking a different approach to promoting Steemit. Rather than telling people what it is, ask them what it is and get them curious enough to come and look. What you think? Good idea or not? Let him know in the comments.

New Steemit Registration Process - Using Mobile Phones

The process to sign up new accounts has changed. Instead of using Facebook or Reddit to verify accounts, your mobile phone is used. That could be a barrier for anyone who doesn’t use a cell phone. Anyways, @steemtruth provides a tutorial on how to signup with the new process.

South African living flag will be seen from space

A neat project underway in South Africa using 2.5million plants to create the South African flag large enough to be seen from space.

@daveks - YOUR NAME IN PEPPERS

@papa-pepper writes about @daveks, a member of Steemit who has been working on growing his presence with his amazing photographs. Go have a look and give the fellow a follow. Nice work @papa-pepper

Wrap-up on Day 39

I had to take a few hours away to give a hand on the door for a dinner at the branch. We had schnitzel since October is Oktoberfest time. It was a good dinner and well enjoyed.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

Thanks guys. @papa-pepper had a similar post, with illustrations and everything! Thank you @shadowspub

Thank you too man!

Thank you for including me "twice" in your blog post @shawdowspub. I greatly appreciate it. I am sorry that you lost Frank...the piping must have brought you right back there. :(
That was a fantastic side note about the Canadian Soldiers being called the "Ladies from Hell". If a bag pipe can't stir adrenaline within you, then nothing can.

Thank you and now following!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53