Oct 20 - Steemit Ramble - Notes on My Favourite Reads

in #curation8 years ago

Fall weather seems to be having trouble getting started. I can’t remember when I was able to have my heat off and windows open all night in mid-October. I’m loving it. Just hope it doesn’t turn cold for Remembrance Day which is rapidly approaching.

I’m starting this post on Tuesday Oct. 18th but I suspect it wont get finished until Wednesday.

Yesterday my time and attention was all Legion. Our General Meeting tonight is what is called an annual inspection. It’s when the next level of Command, Zone, arrives to have a look at our books, check we’re in compliance with Legion procedure and then sit in on our meetings.

Today will be a meeting in the morning with the other groups in the county engaged in looking after the less fortunate at Christmas time. Then my volunteer shift on the bar during which I’ll be making sure all our material is together and ready to go. Going to be a long day.

So, the SteemTalk voice chat I’ve been visiting on TeamSpeak has moved over to Discord. Discord has some interesting features. It has voice chat, text chat, graphics and video can be displayed in the text chat. You can be in a voice chat channel and looking at a text chat at the same time. You can even be in voice chat on one server and looking at text on another server.

Discord is available on pretty much every platform. You can use it in the browser, a desktop app or on mobile.

Have a look at this post by @steemspeak to learn more about SteemSpeak and joining us on Discord.

The channels for SteemTrail are being setup on another Discord server which is great. You can get there by clicking here.

There is also a server for SteemitTalk where some of the podcasts are done live.

I think this is a great development. Able to participate in community chat all in the same place. The voice pickup isn’t the best for me but I’m going to get a headset and see if that helps the situation. I visited the local computer store yesterday to get one and was told they don’t carry them, no one uses them anymore. Could have fooled me.

Onward to today’s rambling

Announcing: Golden Steem Awards @ Steemfest

Okay, ladies and gents, it’s time to put forth your favourites in the areas of: photography, original art, original fiction, life advice and undiscovered author. I’ll be posting this for a few days to give you a chance to have a look and make your nominations.

The Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide (Revision 2.0)

@thecryptofiend has updated his excellent etiquette guide for Steemit. I saw someone on one of the chat channels commenting that this was blatant reposting of material for gain. Apparently the person hadn’t bothered to read the post to discover that it was an updated post. The guide will need to be a living document and be updated as the community evolves.

I’d suggest when talking about tags on posts that it would be a good idea to encourage authors to be selective in choosing their primary tag. Not only does it tell curators the primary topic of the post, it becomes part of the posts URL. That URL is picked up by search engines like Google, the topic becomes an important keyword.

So, posting your original photos and using Life as the primary tag takes away from the fact you’re a gift Photographer who happens to shoot photos about life.

Steemitguide: Tips & Tricks for Writing Steemit Posts [Edition 1]

@steemitguide has written an excellent post on getting started with Markdown. I’ve said it before, I held off learning Markdown when I first came on Steemit. Once I tried it, I really found it easy to use. Much easier than HTML which I am pretty familiar with.

Business Curation Trail Is Alive And Kicking in SteemTrail

The Business Curation Trail is up and running. This is part of the Steem Trail project being setup by @instructor2121. Over 80 people have stepped up to take part. The objective is to build community around the categories through curating the content in the associated tag.

Curation channels are setup on the SteemTrail Discord server so the curators can discuss the curation of the various posts and decide on the voting.

Reflections on the Benefits and Growing Pains of Project Curie, Steem Guild, and Other Curation Projects on Steemit

@donkeypong talks about some of the strengths and weaknesses of curation projects like Curie and RobinHood Whale. He didn’t look at Steem Trail so his post is not broad picture but it does give some insight into the behind the scenes effort in a project like Curie.

How to change a person's character for life!

Filed in Life:@rainbowelephant writes about how our character changes as we age and mature. We may be basically the same person most of our lives but we do change and evolve as we travel through life.

Take Life a Little Less Seriously

Filed in Life: Sometimes we take life too seriously. There are times when we do have to take it seriously and sometimes, we get so wrapped up that we lose site of when to just chill a bit and let the world pass by.

10 MISTAKES THAT SMART PEOPLE DON'T MAKE TWICE!!!

We all make mistakes. Some of us keep making the same mistakes over and over again in an effort to have a different result. @rainbowelephant writes about the ten mistakes people don’t make twice if they are smart. Some of us take time to learn.

It took me a long time to not try to be who I am not. That came about because other people were making demands of who they expected me to be and I tried to meet those demands. Eventually I just decided to consider what was said but only apply their comments if they mattered to me. In the words of a friend, “How you like me now?”

The Essence and Feel of Some Place

@lovejoy writes about the craft of writing. It can be an elusive craft at times, the words running away in our presence or they can pour forth and led us into both dark and scary places or exciting and wonderful place. And then there is all those places in between. The mind takes us and we follow, the words describing.

How my IPhone ruined my life

@forestwest writes an evocative piece about his attachment to his iPhone and the impact it has on his family and in particular his child. The phone used to be an instrument which sat in our homes, rarely thought about until it would chime for attention. Now, we carry the around in our pockets and their chime demands attention that should not always be theirs to demand.

Indie Writers! Follow Me to a Site That Pays 93% Royalty Instantly and 11 More Features Amazon Can't Touch!

@markrmorrisjr writes about a new site he’s writing on which will pay you directly to your Paypal account when you make a sale. It looks to be geared toward book sales. Some of the writers on here could edit their posts into books for that site. Just saying.

Wrap-up on Day 38

I should maybe start calling it Post instead of Day on my wrapup. I did start this post on Tuesday and it is the early hours of Thursday when I’m wrapping it up. Was a couple of busy days for me. I expect to spend most of today writing. Then again, I likely shouldn’t suggest that as I seem to get derailed when I do.

At the meeting on Tuesday morning of the groups doing Christmas programs, we learned there are about 82,000 people living in the county and about 12% live in poverty or about 9,800. We looked after 4,000 which means there are a lot of families who could get help and either don’t know they can or wont seek it.

The meeting in the evening went well, better than I expected which is great. Always love having my expectations exceeded. So, onward to a great day today.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

Thanks for the link and your continued support:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57378.99
ETH 3121.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24