Save the bees with Fungi

in #science8 years ago (edited)



Certain species of bees have been placed on the endangered list for the first time just at the end of last month. Many people know that the numbers of bees are dwindling but don't know how we can solve the problem besides stopping the use of pesticides and herbicides as mentioned in the article below by the free thought project. But it seems getting this accomplished may be impossible, and it's also not the only thing harming bees.
http://thefreethoughtproject.com/7-bee-species-declared-endangered/

I have been studying mycology(the study of fungi) for about 5 or 6 years now and while I cultivate and do research on my own(nothing significant) I like to read books and watch videos from some of the most prominent mycologists in the world who are far more brilliant than I.

After watching videos and reading up on the matter I believe  the best solution at the moment for saving bees and stopping colony  collapse disorder is by using fungi. Certain polypores(type of fungus) mycelium can boost  bees  immune systems if they eat it, and scientific studies have shown so far  that the bees who eat these polypores live longer. At the moment there is nothing else that helps prolong bees life more than by feeding them polypore mycelium.

Probably my favorite mycologist Paul Stamets has patented his own method of feeding bees these polypores he calls mycohoney. You can find all of the information on these studies and his patent here. https://www.google.com/patents/US20140220150  Hopefully this mycohoney will be available to the public soon. But instead of waiting on the bureaucracy to approve something we need now, learn the art of mycology and beekeeping now and we can find our own methods of feeding bees these polypores.

for those who don't know, colony collapse disorder is a huge phenomenon going  on right now where entire bee colonies die and it's what's causing them  to go endangered. Colony collapse disorder is caused by many things but  mostly pesticides and toxins in general as well as viruses.  

if you like scientific journals here's a plethora of info on CCD and what causes it. http://journals.plos.org/plosone/article?id=10.1371%2Fjournal.pone.0006481

for anyone who would rather watch a video than read, this topic is discussed here a long with many other benefits of fungi.


Sort:  

Hello, thanks so much for putting up this post to the community. Such a shame really that apparently it does not seem to interest the people here. Why that is I really do not know ?? This is a very serious and disturbing problem we face and it is a subject that I too have tried to expose here !! You get my upvote anyway !! )) we all need to fight for the bees to survive !!

Science isn't sexy? lol yeah I don't know. thanks for the upvote though!

God depressing isnt it ? I know what you mean about sexy !! Maybe we should dress up bees and make them more sexy and less transparent. But then where there are none left, they will be sexy as hell as we will all be talking about them and saying " How did this happen ? " but too late as always !! (


Hi @kylehenry, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads today and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Thanks! but I noticed you said it was about stopping monsanto.. while I agree they are a problem my post is mostly about solving the issue on our own through mycology and beekeeping. boosting bees immunes systems to help them fight off these toxins as well as things that aren't caused by monsanto and herbicides and pesticides such as viruses, diseases and stress.

My commentary includes not only comments on the post but my opinion. I know you didn't mention Monsanto... I did :) I really want the reader to click through to your post and see what you wrote.

ok sounds good :) just wanted to clarify.

Congratulations @kylehenry! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95