February 19th -- Steemit Ramble #143 -- Curating Great Posts for You

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

I’ve implemented some new posting rules on the Steemit Ramble discord. In most of the link posting channels the poster is now required to introduce the post. It’s sort of the elevator speech why others should go read the post.

During this initial stage I’m deleting improperly posted posts and reminding the poster to read the rules. The response has been rather fascinating in an irritating way.

In the Post Promotion channel there are three rules:

RULES:

  1. You must be registered.
  2. You must introduce your post. I will delete posts and revoke access if you don’t.
  3. Posts must be in English

Interesting the number of people who get to #1 and decide they don’t need to notice the other two. So, I get a lot of “I am registered” in response to my direction to read rules.

Others just ignore the fact that I’ve said anything to them. So after 2-3 repeats, I change their access. If it gets their attention we have a conversation and they get another chance. If not, well, eventually, they will be kicked.

The Steemit Ramble discord is about Steemians getting a chance to know each other and to share with each other their posts. It’s not about dropping a link and moving on. Those get ignored.

I’d rather see a community of 200 networking and sharing than one of 1000 all dropping links and ignoring each other.

Onward to today’s rambling

VersePerfect – Review of Free Writing Suite for Poets

Poetry is increasingly popular on the platform. @damianjayclay provides a very well presented review of a free poetry writing suite. If you are into writing poetry, you want to use a tool built for the job.

Introducing: @idenkcall

@tinypaleokitchen introduces a new Steemian, @idenkcall. He’s both a talented writer and an artist.

Art Contest by the @mitneb Curation Trail Project - Week 3, February 2018

@mitneb runs a great project of curating those with English as a second language. She doesn’t stop there though, she also works to help coach ESL members to improve their English skills. She is running a contest to design a new banner and logo. Jump over and have a look at entering.

Mortal Kombat Cyborgs [Drawing Grayscales]

@ilhuna takes us through her process for drawing her cyborg drawings in grayscale. They really are fantastic sketches.

You Are H.O.P.E.💖Valentine's 💯 Club (week #2)

Last chance to get in on @thealliance’s Valentine’s fundraiser for @youarehope. If you are not aware of YAH, it is a charity built on the blockchain which gets help where it is needed without the usual administrative costs. Agents on the ground deliver the help directly to those who need the help.

Chief Bex Bee

One of the very busy bees in @thewritersblock is @bex-dx, the Editor in Chief, who shepherds the critiquing in the workshops and so much more. One of the members @diebitch reached out to @matytan to create some caricatures for Bex..and they are really great. Nice work @matytan

Dust and Shadow Western Game Season One Sign Up

Announced at last weeks PYPT, @swolesome has moved forward with his blockchain based text game. This post will let you get signed up and underway with the game. Nice work @swolesome.

Join the Curation Trail

If you’d like to be part of supporting the posts that I curate, you can join my curation trail. What that means is if you are part of the trail, when I vote on a quality post, your votes will automatically follow me. The trail name is PathtoSuccess which is another of my accounts and the one where I read most of the posts shared here.

You’ll need to sign up at SteemAuto and I’d recommend you use SteemConnect when asked to give voting rights. That makes sure your keys are safe.

Once registered, the link to the curation trail is right here. You can set the percentage of vote you wish to use in the settings once you join the trail.

Nominate Your Favourite Post

With all the chaff that I end up trying to sift through each time I sit down to do the Steemit Ramble, I think it is time to give you dear reader an opportunity to nominate your favourite reads.

Just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord and post the link in the Nominate-A-Post Channel.

steemit ramble

As much as you may love your own post, I am really looking for someone else to say, “Hey, I like this post, have a look”. When I post a Steemit Ramble, that is what I’m telling my readers.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Don’t forget, Pimp Your Post Thursday takes place every Thursday at 11am and 7:00pm EST. Come and join the fun.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Until Next Time — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile


Sort:  

Mortal Kombat!!!!

Gee, wonder if you are a fan LOL

Thanks for including my review, Shadow. You're a star!

well actually, you are, that would be why you got into the Ramble :)

Thank you for mentioned me :D

nice work on the caricature for Bex.. keep up the great work.

Thank you Shadow!! Is nice to participate in PYPT.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52