Dec 31 -- Steemit Ramble #52 -- Don't You Hate it When You Miss Good Posts?

in #curation8 years ago

The last day of 2016. I actually started this post two days ago but since I’m finishing it today, I’ll update the opening comments. Yesterday the weather was gorgeous for this time of year. Well, the sun out and it not subzero temperature is gorgeous at this time of year in Canada.

I had to go over to the branch to do up a report and let a tech in. Then I stopped into the local fruit and vegetable stand to pick up some raw honey before they closed. Then I did something I rarely do, I headed out of town and went out to lunch. Then I went and had a haircut.

Looking forward to the Levee tomorrow at the branch. That is my New Years fun. You guys go enjoy your New Years Eve, I’ll take the day :)

Onward to today’s rambling

TIL How to Roast Coffee

AHH Coffee! I have never really understood people who don’t look forward to starting their day with coffee. One of the largest chains in Canada is Tim Hortons which is a coffee shop. When a Canadian says “let’s get timmies” we all know it is coffee time. @prufarchy has written a great post, with photos, about how coffee is roasted. Well done.

Tribute to Hobo

Have I told you I’m a sucker for cats? @jacobtothe writes about their kitty Hobo who wormed her way into their lives and they had to make the painful decision to put her down. It’s heartbreaking to lose our furbabies.

A Peep into a World of Aloneness

This is a post that maybe could have used a stronger headline. When I decided to have a look the headline had me thinking it was about people who were lonely. I was delighted to read an article about introverts. Being an introvert, I can totally relate to what @the-explorer has written. This is definitely a post that should have had more attention.

How To Succeed When You Aren’t The Best At Anything

@getonthetrain has written an interesting piece about succeeding even when you aren’t the best in that particular field. Many people think they have to be top of the field in order to succeed with a business idea. As @getonthetrain points out, you can work with what you have. An excellent read for a new beginnings time of year.

My 2017 Bitcoin and Crypto Currency Predictions.

@hilarski makes his predictions on the state of cryptocoins based on their market caps. Do you agree? Have a look at his reasoning and weigh in with your comments.

Tom, Dick, Harry and George, The Great Canadian POW Escape From Luft Stalag III, Near Sagan, Poland 1944

The Great Escape is a story I’ve known since I was a child. My dad often would talk about when we were watching Hogan’s Heroes. We loved the show and didn’t really care that it was based on something not involving the Americans. The story got through to me because I heard it often enough. @rebeccaryan writes a good recap of the story.

Will Robot-Run Restaurants Like Eatsa Become The New Normal?

@stellabelle writes about a chain of eateries where the only humans in the place are in the backend preparing food. Your orders are taken self serve, payment automated and food presented without contact with another person. Interesting concept. Is it a place you’d want to eat at? Have a read and see what you think.

Wrap-up on Day #52

Today I settled with fewer picks than usual. I’m struggling with a cold and trying to get the New Year activities in place. I wont be going any where but bed this evening. I’ll be out all day New Years Day and the following two days are my volunteer days at the branch. BUT, life is returning to a more normal pace. This is good.

Hope you all have a wonderful New Year and a great year ahead.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

Happy New Year @shadowspub! Thanks so much for including The Great Escape story. I'm really happy that our Canadian version will be preserved on the blockchain.
I grew up watching Hogan's Heroes re-runs and have fond memories, too. :)

Happy New Year to you as well @rebeccaryan ... I have some more Canadian things arriving for the blockchain in the coming days and weeks.

Great picks @shadowspub, gave them all a read and a vote. Appreciate the feature.

Thank you @getonthetrain ... it's fun doing them.

Thank you for including my article. Have an Amazing New Year!

thank you and I think we should all have an amazing Steemit Year :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01