Curation Strategy Of A Minnow

in #curation8 years ago

After two months on Steemit I have eventually built up enough Steem Power from blog earnings to start earning minuscule curation rewards. Currently my weekly curation earnings equal one takeaway Wimpy mega coffee. Wimpy coffee (R26,90/$1,95), together with chicken curry roti rolls (R37/$2,68) are my life. 

  

I actually require at least 3 Wimpy mega coffees to get through the week, more if it's cold! As for chicken curry roti rolls, I can eat them for breakfast, lunch and supper! This means a certain amount of curation strategy is needed to meet my dietary requirements!


I think most people with a Steem Power similar to mine, which is currently around 820, will be familiar with the 0,001 curation reward. I have noticed that this amount is the usual payout if you vote for a "big name", such as @dollarvigilante or @charlieshrem. I didn't think much about curation rewards before, as my main focus was blogging so I tended to vote for people who put a lot of work into their blog and it only received a few votes, as I knew how disheartening that felt.


All of a sudden I started to notice something interesting, my curation rewards rapidly increased in value. My highest curation reward was 0,70, which is impressive for my level of Steem Power. I would need seven hundred 0,001 payouts to equal that one reward. What I am basically trying to say is forget voting for the big names unless you are genuinely impressed with their article. I do realise if you vote for them at exactly the right time, your payout will be good, but that is merely a matter of luck. Vote for what you enjoy, though if I have to be brutally honest, because there is not enough interesting content yet for me to use my 40 votes on, I vote on "effort" expended, or just on what catches my eye. If only one vote receives a curation reward, say of 0,20, which is doable, it is still better than 40 X 0.001 rewards.


This strategy has had the added bonus of making my feed much more interesting, and I unfollowed all the "big names" who dealt in subject matter that didn't appeal to me. I also feel satisfaction in voting for someone who only has received a few votes, because as a blogger, and especially a new blogger at that, I know how it feels to work hard and feel devastatingly unrewarded. Additionally, if more votes were directed toward diverse content from a wide variety of authors, the experience of inequality on Steemit would be reduced. 


Now to touch on a point of irritation. If you are a minnow, vote 100%, you are not doing yourself any favours by voting less than that. I have a couple of voters who consistently vote 1% on my blogs. Why??? What good does do them, or me? I do use my slider for comments, but even then I vote around 20%. To me a 1% vote has a kind of stingy connotation.


Lastly, although I know that this has been covered extensively before, it is worth repeating. Interact with the community through meaningful comments. As our community is still small, it will soon be noticed if you constantly post a variation of "great work, good blog" on hundreds of articles, in an effort to gain recognition and followers. It doesn't work, it's annoying. Meaningful comments have the added benefit of the possibility of you earning author rewards. The majority of my blogs earn under 1SBD, and often a single comment I make will surpass an entire blog's earnings. As an added bonus, you could also gain followers.


As for me, currently one cup of Wimpy Mega coffee a week is a guilt free indulgence, I have earned it in invested Steem Power. And that is not bad at all for simply clicking on a little ^ button. As for all those other cups of coffee, and the roti rolls, the guilt is REAL.

Thank you for reading! Please follow me @onetree

Sort:  

Hi there
I'm new around here and I can see I'm not the only disappointed of how an original and elaborated post won't get much attention or at least recognition. Great advices. I'll definitely try to compensate this by voting right.

It takes a while to find your niche on Steemit!

What I am basically trying to say is forget voting for the big names unless you are genuinely impressed with their article.

This is correct. Basically, your % share of the reward is important, and if you are voting after a whale, your percentage share will be less than 0.001% in other words practically nothing.

To get an idea of what your percentage share is, look at the article in steemd. For example here is the url for your article in steemd:

https://steemd.com/curation/@onetree/curation-strategy-of-a-minnow

Click on advanced mode on the top right and then scroll down to "vote details" and click it. It should show you who has voted and their percentage weight. If your percentage weight is greater than 0 then you get a reward. If you vote on the "big money" posts as a minnow, your reward will be very tiny, because the whales take most of the reward.

Vote for the smaller posts - better to be a big fish in a small pond, than a small fish in a big pond.

Thank you so much for this information! I am definitely going to take a look!

Now to touch on a point of irritation. If you are a minnow, vote 100%, you are not doing yourself any favours by voting less than that.

How true! This reminds me of the one (and only) time I waited on tables. I was a kitchen worker in my youth and had somehow convinced a waiter to let me try waiting on tables. He was not really willing to train me well but went along with my request. At a slow point near the end of the lunch shift there was only one couple in the restaurant so he gave me a chance. I guess I came across very nervous or something the the people were in a hurry and very hard to connect with. After they left I cleaned the table and thought that they had not left a tip but there in among the dirty napkins was hidden a couple of quarters. It kind of ended my aspirations to be a waiter at that point.

These type of things really don’t bother me too much now. People like to play games and I have let go of getting irritated by most of it. After all a pile of pennies is still some type of tip right? :)

Good attitude! I waitressed for 3 years! So can understand the analogy. Poor you, usually people are kinder. Don't sweat the small stuff-true, but you can let others know when their small stuff is ridiculous!ⁿ

I was reading this post without seeing who the author was, nodding my head in agreement at most of your points ..... and then...oi, is @onetree!! I am starting to feel like a stalker {smile}. Genuinely good post.
I know what you mean about putting in a lot of effort with no reward, so I too actually look for original content where the author has made an effort.

Hahaha, it's because I blog tooooo much!

Thank You, I need to look into this as well, as writing stories!

I do not have any particular duration strategy and will try this out. But I do generally leave my comments.Thanks for sharing.

I have noticed this a bit too, but with less steem power a little less than .7 haha. I appreciate your posts! I still have not seen this "slider" thing yet! I understand that 100% is better for my voting status, but when does one get the "slider?"

You get it when you have a Steem Power over 350. When I started on Steemit about 2 months ago I reinvested my first earnings into Steem Power. It's worth it to do in the beginning, because once you begin to get curation rewards, your SP rises steadily, if slowly.

Any Advice for newbies on Steemit?

I took a look at your profile. I think you need to do an introduction post with a photo and in it have a paper or card that says "Steemit" and the date.
Make sure you publish only original content, and if you use information or pictures, always cite the source.
Interact with the community, join the Steemit Rocket Chat to promote your articles, and you can ask questions there too.
Look under the Steemit tag, it has lots of advice.

Vote for what you enjoy

That's the best long term strategy!

when a ton of minnows all vote for a big name they have to share a small slice of pie with many people.
but
if you vote for less popular names you get a bigger slice to share with minnows.

i think. lol

When i stopped thinking about when i voted as in the timer and how much rep people had i started getting better rewards. I average a little over a dollar a week (510power est.)

voting in that 30 min spot is bollocks. i had posts that didn't take off until almost 22 hours later.

I agree with you on voting for what you want at anytime is rewarding.

I agree about that 30 minute spot, I have experienced the same as you with my blogs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51