You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finding Good Curators for Delegation 📢 DELEGATION CONTEST 🔊

in #curation7 years ago (edited)

Great post, I'm also a bit concerned about this. I do feel upvote bots and delegators has a place in this community, and they do help the community, but I think the owners should always have a team, who quality checks the material, and blacklists people who abuse them. Though it's obviously not the main income, the community is what makes steem different.
I've used minnowbooster since the start, but I always work hard on my posts. Now that I've gotten some more SP, I'm delegating a bit to minnowbooster, but unless I stop upvoting irrelevant one sentence comments for them full of typos, I will stop using them all together.

Sort:  

For the past few weeks I've been working with Buildteam (the guys behind minnowbooster) to make it more friendly to content creators, communities and curators. So far - they've improved rates for community account SP leasing. I am hoping to get them to do more.

Glad to hear it. Like I said, minnowbooster all in all does help the community, and I have seen progress, that's why I'm still delegating, but some moderators would probably be in both their and the community's interest.

I am still trying to better understand how the content quality vs profit balance can work best and we discuss it a lot on the minnowbooster marketing channel. :)

Personally I don't see any bot promoted post as an abuse. Apart from maybe plagiarism. But I see the selling for a price that appears to make a return but does not as an abuse.

I personally think the abuse is when you use the bots to promote garbage, other people's work and comments that doesn't bring anything to the platform. As long as you put in the work, I have no problems with them.

One mans garbage is another mans treasure. If everything were manual voting on this system we would still be fighting over who got what, but I think it's important as a community to learn to respect other views and opinions because we are so multicultural and full of different philosophies, but we could do with mutual respect for what people value.

I concur, still I think we can agree that ''great post I upvote and follow you, please upvote and follow me'' is not something that should be upvoted.

I do agree. But isn't that the same as "send sbd and I upvote you" or what it usually says "this post has been upvoted by this bot that has a name that sounds like it's helping you"

pretty much, unless you've used a service

Why is a service any different?

Because this is a product you purchased. It's neat since people is made aware of the purchase, and it serves as a logo for the product they delivered.

Who are you to determine what is garbage and what isn't?

What I consider garbage is spam, I think we all can agree that it's bad for the platform... Also the content is not relevant to me, it's the amount of work put in. You can easily see when someone put in work on a post, if people keep paying to upvote stuff they just blurted out in a minute, it's gonna hurt both this platform and our investment.

All stakeholders have the right. Though I do see it as more destructive to downvote than upvoting the content stakeholders or their delegates prefer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58270.16
ETH 2600.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39