You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation Conundrum

in #curation7 years ago

I did not like it when I found out the rewards auction. If I see a piece of content I like, I want to upvote it right then and there.

When I started using Steemit, I browsed through the "New" feed a lot. But I had to go through so many spammy posts to find ones that I liked that I eventually I just stopped. Now I mainly stick to Hot and Trending. Reading this post though makes me want to go back to being a more active curator for the good of the community.

One thing I think could help would be creating "Publications" like there is on Medium. There could be some Steemit accounts dedicated to resteeming posts. The key is that authors who believe in their posts could send them to these Publications to be resteemed if they approve. That's the main way Medium solves the issue of putting unknown content in front of more readers and I think it would work here too. Of course, people could start spamming requests at the publications but, like you said, we shouldn't dismiss that solution because people might abuse it.

I think the stuff @sndbox is doing is pretty interesting. They're gathering a group of people tasked with finding interesting entrepreneurial content for them to resteem.

Also, I mentioned you @thecryptofiend in a recent post I wrote about the pros and cons of using a username vs. real name on Steemit

Sort:  

Actually the idea of publications is a really good one. In some respects I think the communities function may fulfill a similar role as people will be able to create their own communities (if I understand it correctly).

What's the communities function? Is it like Facebook groups?

To a degree - I heard it would be more like sub-reddits on Reddit - although we don't have much detail on it yet.

Hm, interesting. I thought tagging was supposed to be like that but I guess not because you can add multiple.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64440.63
ETH 2653.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80