Usernames vs. Real Names on Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

usernames vs. real names.png

It took me a while to create a Steemit account, mainly because I couldn't decide on what my username should be. On one hand, I've been using my Reddit username to take part in crypto forum discussions. On the other hand, I already blog on Medium and Quora as well as for MIT under my real name. I wanted to link to my Steemit posts from other social networks with my real name but most accounts I saw on Steemit were under pseudonyms. The issue (and great thing) is Steemit's flexibility to act both as an online forum like Reddit and a blogging platform like Medium.

I began to wonder which one was better to use. In my first two months of using Steemit, I've seen successful examples of both. So I did some research and I've broken down the pros and cons of each.

Usernames

Examples: @thecryptofiend, @oleg326756, @papa-pepper, @infobunny, @cardboard, @sweetsssj, @firepower, @stackin, @stellabelle

Pros

  • Anonymity. With a username, people feel more free to post what they want where they want. They're less hesitant to state unpopular opinions and are more likely to have truthful discussions free from social pressure. We all have those subreddits we subscribe to that we wouldn't "like" on Facebook.
  • Privacy. A username adds a layer of privacy to users who don't want to blatantly link their real name to any personal details that might show up in their posts.
  • Branded Personality. Names are names, but with a username one could define what they are all about. I'm thinking of @heiditravels, @stackin, @thecryptofiend, @cryptogirl1, or one of the many other accounts with a keyword in their name.

Cons

  • Outgrowing a name. People sign up with one name but after using the platform for a while, they want to branch out and write about something else. But they transition smoothly because their username already has a keyword like "crypto" or "food" in it. Or it's too unprofessional sounding and they want something else. On Steemit, it's not currently possible to change your name so you're stuck with what you choose.
  • Could come off as spammy. Having a bunch of numbers or random words in a username could be seen as spammy unless you have a good profile picture or a strong brand built up.
    *False sense of privacy. Even with a username, it's possible for someone to find out who's real name is attached to it.

Real names

Examples: @evanrvoss, @joshsigurdson, @jerrybanfield, @joeparys, @stephenkendal, @barrydutton, @hilarski, @ericvancewalton

Pros

  • Familiarity. Seeing a real name lets users feel like they're talking to a real person. It makes that user seem more relatable.
  • Freedom from subject matter. When using a real name, a user doesn't have to worry about one day wanting to write about something unrelated. Their username doesn't commit them to a specific category.
  • Contains an air of professionalism. It's easier for an account with a real name to look more legit than an account with a made up username.
  • Off-site branding. Steemit posts seem to have unusually good SEO. Online personas could benefit from reformatting their content for Steem under their actual name. Many of the names listed above link back to their personal websites that also use their real name.

Cons

  • Less anonymity. Every post and comment is linked back to a real name, so people may be more reserved in what they say and share.
  • Less privacy. Every post and comment is linked back to a real name, which makes it easier to track someone online.

Conclusion

Ultimately, it comes down to what kind of brand you want to have on Steemit. Do you want to stay anonymous and be able to post freely without needing to consider your personal reputation? Username it is. Are you a blogger with a personal brand already built around your name? Sounds like real name is the way to go. My hope is that the Steemit platform remains flexible enough to accommodate all the different kinds of accounts people would want to make.

So, friends on Steemit, which do you use and why?

Sort:  

Love your response, I've also found that the best conversations I've had with posters who seem like real people with thoughts and ideas. I don't like all the spammy accounts but that comes with every social network so I don't think it's a flaw in Steemit's system. Looking forward to seeing some of your work!

Haha, looking forward to seeing what you come up with!

@erickpinos since you asked for my opinion, let me try to condense what could easily be an article for me:

I personally don't think it matters what your name is! I don't even care what someone's name is, don't look at it really, don't relate to it normally, it's not really even on my radar because I am interacting with the comments that name produces!

I know I might not be speaking for everyone here but I interact with users based on their content whether that be their posts or their comments on mine or other posts I am reading the comments of.

I didn't sit around and think about my user name. I just trusted my instincts and typed in the name that came from my you guessed it heart! I write about topics that all have to do with the same thing- things that inspire me and so I am not worried at all about branching outside of the parameters of what my user name suggests.

I could potentially be limiting myself in some areas but I CHOOSE to let it be my brand, in my case it is a perfect gateway to show what I am about and it's not about anonymity or anything like that to me, it's just what I relate to, what I feel at home with and what I want to showcase to the world. I don't link in anywhere else so having this username doesn't affect my 'real profiles' either. I also make sure to add tons of personalization in all of my posts with pictures and information about myself so no one feels like I'm a bot =D

Hope this helps <3

Thank you for your insightful and detailed response. Perhaps you should make it an article on its own :)

I don't think your username is an example of one that is limiting. Limiting usernames would be ones that are about specific topics (travels, crypto, photos, music, kids). Limiting usernames are also not a bad thing, but they would never work for someone like me who wants to write about everything.

That's interesting that you don't even look at the names and just look at the comment. I'm starting to adopt that approach and thus so far I've made good friends with people both with "real names" and usernames.

Hey, that is my favourite part about being here, these conversations and the ability for them to happen :)

You're right, I see what you mean. I write about everything too so if my name were like something-food then I couldn't be all THIS IS HOW TO STEEMIT now could I? Lol

Ya, I never even thought of it, I wonder if I will now that you've brought it to my attention. I doubt it but I will keep a note to let you know!

Have a great weekend =D

Nice post, Erick! Well, my user name is really a mixture of my real (first) name and a number series that I’ve been using for all my online accounts for the past 16 years or so. See, we have many Olegs in this world. I needed a unique identifier to claim my online id. @scrooger revealed the origin of my Steemit handle in this interview he did with me in South Korea two weeks ago.

In the past I led a more public life than I do now, both online and offline. Usually it was very easy for anyone to track my online persona oleg326756 to my real full name, my postal address and occupation. I never made a secret out of it. I am more reserved and private today, but still it’s no huge challenge to find me offline. Like you mentioned yourself, a sense of privacy here would only be a false one. :D

P.S.: Great to know you’re involved with the MIT. I did a short course in web development there back in 2003.

Thanks for the comment! I did not expect there to be so many Olegs in the world.

I guess having that sense of privacy is important to a lot of people here because of the principles of anonymity and privacy that go hand in hand with Bitcoin and blockchain technologies.

And cool, I hope the course was useful.

Thank you! It's pretty important for Steemit's case because, as of now, usernames can't be changed. I like your avatar too, with the Guy Fawkes mask and the initials.

yes; I almost made it more generic but then how would I stand out and be professional?

Great post with both sides clearly stated. Thank you for that mate!

Thank you for checking it out.

Everything depends on the person. Most dont want their identity to be known hence the weird user names and pics haha, good one indeed, upped.

Thanks. Yeah it feels weird sometimes commenting on threads by people where everyone has weird usernames and pics and you're using your real name but it suits how I plan on using Steemit. I've found a good balance by having an avatar for some privacy.

Good point, I agree. Your pic look great ..haha
keep steeming.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Erick Pinos from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congratulations @erickpinos! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @erickpinos! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I think you will find that a lot of people in the cryptocurrency world tend to value privacy and anonymity so this may be a reason why a lot of the users on Steemit (particularly the early users) use pseudonyms.

Makes sense. I wonder if one will win out and become the norm or if there will be an equal amount of both.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57050.09
ETH 3060.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32