The Inbox Runneth Over -- Issue #7 -- a curated list of casual pieces, fun features and other tidbits and treats

in #curation6 years ago

TIROcover007.png

The Inbox Runneth Over

is a private curation project begun by @enchantedspirit to honor the exceptional posts she finds in her Steemit travels. The content here will feature a good number of posts from The Steem Engine group in Discord. Their customary post is titled The Daily Whistle Stops.

@enchantedspirit is the curator there, and in that work she finds quite a few posts that are casual, interesting, well-written, helpful or just fun to experience (sometimes writers, sometimes musicians, sometimes artists), but because they are up against such stiff competition that day in submissions to The Steem Engine they can't be included in The Daily Whistle Stops. They also tend to be short, easy to read, easy to digest ... or maybe they just offer something special.

So, she brings them here and finds them a home -- because they deserve more than just a quiet decline and death ... an experience that is already all too common in Steemit. (I know I don't need to tell you that, but it's true!) Sometimes, there may be outside content, too ... from other intriguing people she follows. Sweet little "feature story" experiences and fun artistic moments of all kinds have their place in life -- and on Steemit, too. Please stop in and visit these guys ... and if you enjoy their work, show them you care.

I ... and they ... thank you more than you'll ever know.

You can find The Daily Whistle Stops at @thesteemengine -- and there is information there and here at the bottom of this post telling you how to apply to join. There is also another curation project run by both @enchantedspirit and @catweasel on his blog. It's called The Magnificent Seven and it, too, features exceptional content we find on our Steemit journey. Each of these projects has its own theme, tone and focus. You will find things in both that are worth your time and effort -- and excellent new people to follow. I offer all these suggestions with pride. I know they will enrich your day.

break1.gif

Family, Food, Fun and Finances

I stopped watching GOT part-way through. I just couldn't stand the brutality. So I don't know what this post is really about, but it presented some questions and ideas that are easy to understand in any context. That made it worth reading.

I have seen some documentaries on the monetary system that insist, if you really understood what this is all about, people would rise up on a mob, shut down the banks ... and the buildings would all be piles of ashes in the morning. I can't disagree. The same with governments ... and maybe the whole idea of what should constitute currency.

U5drZWPcKjyh3w7crVjyuZmvqSifXgr_1680x8400.png

How Queen Cersei Can
Solve Her Money Problems
(without becoming a debt slave)

@penston

cws.gif

Ok, I already had "a little talk" with @eonwarped about his humor-warped sensibilities ... showing us these wonderful pictures, rhapsodizing on and on about how much he enjoyed it all, but not offering to share with any of us. You can practically get whiffs of the aroma. To me that's just plain cruel.

I demanded that he send take-out to repair our tattered friendship. He simply stopped speaking to me. I didn't get any take-out either. Shows you where we stand, I guess. Or maybe he just washed his hands of me.

DQmSdAwPBJqcWP45J4We4tAkxTPZu7teRbNEKVoSVnfiN9c_1680x8400.jpg

Our Favorite NYC Restaurant is Vegan.
Also, Reduce Wastefulness!

@eonwarped

cws.gif

Yes, these are really pretty. I like the red ones, too. But not the ones that look like brains. Those are icky.

DQmY3amsS1H1gaRmrbPwhwxHcYN32pFCkwfc8TySJJakSHT_1680x8400.jpg

Cockscombs in the garden
@coffeetime

cws.gif

When I was little I had a Raggedy Ann doll. My mother made her. I don't know what became of her though. Whatever it was happened behind my back. Now @redwellies newest family member, Freya, has a rag doll cat that's nearly as big as she is. That doll could guard the kid against intruders. My Raggedy Ann wasn't nearly that big.

DQmQgLLKUapim3vhkSehehwFrRzpdpYwyBwriCuJxx7RiSL.png

Red Wellies
Original Artwork #3
Halying Island Rag Dolls

@redwellies

cws.gif

@apanamamama is trying to educate these kids of hers. And get them to exercise. When you have kids you have to get creative, I guess. I don't envy her this task. My parents preferred yelling. Lots easier. And more effective. I still hate exercise.

DQmTGgJsyp4o9a7VBAYsfuJjuthoaev69kctwR2CTFQ7ESb.jpg

Spelling Fun: Kid Fitness Activity
Schoolhouse Saturday by A Panama Mama

@apanamamama

cws.gif

Ok, let's get some action going. Blow up stuff. Continue the cultural indoctrination on how much fun violence can be. @coldsteem writes a pretty interesting movie review about 12 Strong. I may have to try this one. Someday. Just for noise. @catweasel will watch anything that doesn't make him think, so that won't be a problem.

U5dtGTHJyNdbBKtq9C7VFWFLeVGiUiH_1680x8400.png

12 Strong - Movie Review
@coldsteem

cws.gif

Yeah, this whole deal should have gotten people stirred up more. Makes you wonder WTF it takes.

DQmZsEgqynFtPUvfobPzRt2KzoDPBDPX6DLBs1YRFBcxJkM.jpg

How the rich avoid taxes?
Revealed by Paradise Paper

@tngflx

cws.gif

It's really sad when you have to reminisce about "the good old days" when people working in stores actually knew things. Like basic math and common idioms.

One day recently at Taco Bell, the kid behind the counter asked me if I wanted taco sauce with my order. I answered, "Yes, maybe half a dozen." He looked at me like I'd started speaking Martian. I was cruel enough to just stare back.

He pulled up a handful of little packets and started dropping them on my tray until I said, "Thank you." I have more stories like this. I need to work on my compassion.

DQmT6BPEwp7evdAK8i7MBAiHup19bLCe6aGoRHRRCSv98hN.png

Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 01/21/18
Auto parts stores, the new competition
for McDonalds and Burger KIng

@sultnpapper

cws.gif

Making Your Life Easier

Do you write? (Of course you do!! You're on Steemit. There are the easy questions, ok? You should get these. They're dead give-aways.) Do you write like poetry and stuff? Good. Then you'll be interested in this next post. As @deborism says, some things are too good not to share!

U5dtvN6RDMZBjp6NpFsjjCSmMuuzewd_1680x8400.png

The All In One (FREE) Tool You Need
For Smooth-Like-A-Criminal Writing

@deborism

cws.gif

I'm glad somebody finally called bull-pucky on this idea. I thought it was terrible when I first heard it. I say punch out their lights and walk away. But that's me. YMMV. Still, I'm glad somebody else agrees. For all the reasons listed here. I mean, come on, people ... srsly!!

U5dtELTGZeFL8dHTTi1fxVeWUqkujGE_1680x8400.jpg

Don't Use the "Sandwich" Technique
When Giving Feedback!

@nuridin

cws.gif

Ok, let's close with a little class. (That sure makes life better.) A little art, a little philosophy, a little reverie. Stir slowly and season to taste, you come up with something like @mineopoly wrote. Step inside ... and savor.

U5drs5W8RAuiQpT1kaJBSshavmVtp4x_1680x8400.png

The Sounds of Silence
@mineopoly

cws.gif

If you're looking for other quality posts to read,
these are links to other worthwhile curation projects.

  • @catweasel and @enchantedspirit do a project very similar to this one called The Magnificent Seven. It is published every couple of days or so on his blog. There are about 15 of them so far.

  • @mitneb devotes her efforts to The @mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report. She focuses on finding newcomers to Steemit whose first language is not English. She finds some interesting people. She also includes some of her own "most interesting articles" at the end of her posts.

  • @ethandsmith is doing podcasts about other pieces he enjoyed from The Steem Engine's membership. Look for ones like this ---> The STEEM Engine Express Episode 3 There are (obviously) two previous ones as I write this.

  • The Daily Whistle Stops -- found at the @thesteemengine account publishes one of the best general audience curation collections on Steemit if I do say so myself. Go ahead, ask me about it. I'll be happy to say it again. There are about 18 posts to enjoy at the moment. The group itself is astonishingly new for the amount of raw talent assembled there. If you create exceptionally fine content and especially if you consider it undervalued, check this out. It could change your whole Steemit adventure!

  • @goldendawne is the head writer for The Daily Qurator. Again, if you're a producer of quality content on Steemit, you might want to join @qurator ... if you haven't already. They make it worth your while and they're a lot easier than I am to get along with.

  • Finally, @shadowspub does the redoubtable grandmother of all curation efforts on Steemit, The Steemit Ramble. You can find plenty of issues from it on her blog. She also hosts a Thursday discord feature (twice every Thursday, so you have a chance to catch at least one) Pimp Your Post Thursday. You can find out more about it also on her blog

break1.gif

The author of this list of curated posts mostly by members of The STEEM Engine is @enchantedspirit whose mostly metaphysical writing can be found on her own blog.

cws.gif

steemengineBanner.png

cws.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for including our exercise. Now to get those kids up and moving. ;)

Aww thanks so much! @enchantedspirit Spent hours for that article :) It's great to have appreciation! Thanks so much!

Thanks for including me. I read quite a few of those other posts. Great list. There are some solid writers...I feel a bit diminished in this excellent company.

It's so refreshing to see a curation project that writes about the posts to which it's linking. The effort is greatly appreciated!

People seem to like it ... and it adds something special to the visit. You don't have to just face a list of bare links -- and take your chances.

That was a real good one by @nuridan. Read that a little while ago. Thanks for compiling all these for people, you rock!

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.32$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71