Curating with ease: @ehiboss Nigerian community curation report 1

in #curation7 years ago (edited)

leadership.jpg

I will like to start by saying I am not declining payout for this post because I as a curator, am trying to build my steem power for easier and better curation, or until we get stronger delegation.

A couple of days back, @donkeypong started curation for the Nigerian community to be comprised of @donkeypong, @infovore, @fisteganos, @ogoowinner, myself ( @ehiboss ), @gbenga and @destinysaid. @donkeypong also introduced @hanshotfirst as a curator to be added to be Nigerian community.

I wish to say that this will in no way affect my commitment to the general community, as this added responsibility is perceived as a challenge which I plan to take head on. Furthermore, this provides me with a chance to help the community in more ways than originally anticipated.

@donkeypong helped the Nigerian community acquire about 30,000 steem power, with the promise of getting more very soon, for use in curating quality posts by Nigerian authors. The posts are selected from authors whose works show quality, originality/proper referencing, lack of plagiarism and creativity.

The acquired 30,000 steem power was sent to a central account, while further delegations will be spread among individual curators for maximal output.

work.jpg

Work done

Since the inception of the Nigerian community curation a few days back, almost a hundred posts have been curated so far. Although curators have always tried to maintain anonymity and professionalism, there are times when we comment on good contents.

Selected posts are sent to our bigwaves closed group on steemit chat for curation approval by all curators, which means each post has to be painstakingly reviewed by all the curators in the group and approved or denied. Further planning and discussion on improving the Nigerian and general steemit community is usually done on our simply closed group also on steemit chat.

Curation is no child's play as we have to be devoid of sentiments while selecting, ignoring family and friends preferences, refusing bribes to influence curation, dedicating time to searching out authors and thoroughly reviewing their works, teaching people how to avoid plagiarism, dedicating time to others and not one's self, taking the good and bad that comes with it and lots more.

Our work exceeds simply reading and curating, I believe we are also responsible for ensuring Nigerians comply with the rules and regulations of steemit, of which they have been law abiding.
Another core function is to try and have a database of Nigerians on steemit, both now and in the future, and to ensure that at the end of the day, everyone goes home happy.

As an individual I sleep about three to four hours daily and spend most of my time either coordinating my start up, which I am trying to get a license for, thinking of marketing ideas for steemit, reading and curating posts, helping minnows out of steemit chat or planning the Steemit In Nigeria event coming up in November.

It is not easy as this is not a responsibility that can be taken lightly, so I ask for our cooperation and patience as I as an individual try to adjust to this new setting, I have had lees time to chat with my friends on steemit, and I implore you to be a little patient with me.

Also the Nigerian community curators need delegation to make their work easier as sadly, we do not necessarily have enough steem power to cover everyone effectively as we only vote good posts with the central account at 10%. This would have been more if we had enough delegation, although we are grateful for the 30,000 steem power delegated to us, which @donkeypong should approve of first.

I pledge to support the Nigerian community and steemit at large in any capacity I can.

My support

For Nigerians:

  • Drop the link to your post as comment
  • Quality posts will be sent for curation
  • Look at my blog for other curating with ease posts
  • Encourage other Nigerians to submit their links
  • You can resteem this post for more visibility

For other African countries:

  • If you are a member of Africaunited closed group on steemit chat, simply drop your link with your country eg # South Africa https:steemit.com/@.............
  • If you are not a member of the Africaunited group and you are an African on steemit, and you have a steemit chat account, simply indicate in the comment section to be added.
  • Quality posts will be voted and resteemed by me
  • Encourage others to participate
  • You can resteem this post for visibility to others
  • Don't forget to drop your country and link

For countries outside Africa

  • Simply drop your link in the comment section below
  • Quality posts will be voted and resteemed by me
  • You can resteem this post for visibility to others

I hope this helps in combating unnecessary trolling of posts.

Image credit: 1-2

Thanks to @elyaque for the badge and @son-of-satire for the generic footer
lion badge.png
generic.gif

Sort:  

You are doing great work. The importance of curation cannot be underestimated. Curation helps to maintain quality content which is the lifeline of Steemit. It also helps to bring exposure to deserving underated authors. Do check my profile if I am worthy to be curated.

Its such an inspiring post @ehiboss , and got to follow some useful accounts too !

Do u welcome Egyptian between u on the group as still am a part of Africa or not 😊

Thx for this nice post 👍🏻😊

This is a superb development!
big ups to you and the guys for putting this together!
i'm relatively new here but i can attest to you guys untiring effort to help minnows grow on here.

blessup!

👍. Keep up the good work.

Hello @ehiboss! You are doing an amazing job for the whole community and merit a big respect! It's a huge task and very time consuming too! Good luck my friend and wish you lots of success!

I am from #Mauritius and already on #africaunited
https://steemit.com/@progressivechef

I've resteemed this too

Good Curation is one way to success for Steemit ^^

I've really been enjoying the posts from the Nigerian community in my feed, and I think it's awesome that you're doing this project to help promote quality content. Thanks for your hard work!

Running low on upvote power but my fellow Nigerian deserves whatever I can give.

Also: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@edumurphy/okay-let-s-try-this-for-the-first-time-again

Should I resteem or is it too soon?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62974.52
ETH 2679.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55