Curie Author Showcase (July 28, 2018)

in #curation6 years ago

  • In the spirit of Curie's mission to promote undiscovered but exceptional content, we wish to use this twice weekly section to provide an author showcase for some of the outstanding authors who received Curie upvotes in past week. Curie curators and reviewers nominate authors for inclusion in this showcase and author approval is sought and attained.

  • For those new to Curie, please follow @curie, and join us on Discord: https://discord.gg/jQtWbfj

  • Follow @curie's votes to support the authors. Please consider following our trail and voting for curated authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @curie is an available trail to follow.

  • Vote for the @curie witness to support Curie operations (all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations).

  • If you would like to delegate to Curie you can do so by clicking on the following links:
    50 SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
    Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Featured Author: @jacinta.sevilla
Watercolor Practice: My 12 Portraits
For Improvement and Self Critique 🎨👌


Images property of @jacinta.sevilla

We start off today's Author Showcase with the beginning of a major undertaking for artist @jacinta.sevilla. Her goal is to become better at painting portraits. So, how does one go about achieving that goal? Well @jacinta.sevilla's plan is to paint 100 portraits for practice! That's right, 100 painted portraits just to get better at what they feel is one of their weaknesses. That is some major dedication. Of course if you scan through her other work you will see she must have practiced in many other mediums as well as their talent shines through in every piece they do.

To get started on this task she has done twelve portraits for this post. As you will notice the subjects are a varied group of people and looks which I am sure was done purposely just to make the challenge a bit more productive. I can't wait to see the next 88 portraits so we can watch their progress.

Be sure to go check out her newest post which talks about preparing for an upcoming gallery exhibition for women artists that her work will be featured in. Banwa Madigar - Bai Hinang 2nd Exhibit in Museo Dabawenyo 🇵🇭🎨

Go see all 12 completed portraits.

Featured Author: @jackieobermeyer
Steemit Introduce Yourself #2/3:
I'm Jackie O - Pole Dancer, Fiddler and Engineer.


Images property of @jackieobermeyer

I know there are a bunch of multi-talented people here on the Steem Blockchain. You can find painters who can also sing, musicians who take amazing photographs, or medical professionals who might also write some killer fiction. I challenge you to find another person on the platform who possesses the mix of talents that our next featured author does.

Meet @jackieobermeyer, This is her second of three planned introduction posts. Her first one talked about the first of her talents - Pole Dancing. This second one talks about The Fiddler portion of her talent.

Jackie started playing the violin when she was just five years old. Thankfully it wasn't until much later she picked up the pole dancing! Her talent definitely shines through in the two videos of her playing.

Be sure to stay tuned for the post about talent number three coming soon as Jackie explained -

I'll be posting my third, and final "introduce yourself" post about the engineering aspect of my life this week! I'm currently finishing up a PhD in chemical and biomedical engineering, set to defend the first week of September. I was planning to share some of what I do in the lab on a day-to-day basis and my personal experience with the PhD journey. As I finish up this degree, I'm looking to go into business for myself as a freelance musician (jackieomusic.com), a health & performance coach (jackieobermeyer.com), and an engineering consultant (https://www.linkedin.com/in/jackie-obermeyer-4b591b67/). This is a big transition for me, but one that I'm extremely excited to make and Steemit is a much-needed platform for expression and exploration during this time of great turmoil in my life. I'm excited to share more about going though this transition and love that doing these posts have been helping to hold me accountable and are increasing my productivity. A performer through and through, I always work better with an audience! Haha.

Go listen to her playing that violin!

Featured Author: @nolasco
Chinatown, Singapore, a short trip as a solo traveler


Images property of @nolasco

For me, photography is the expression of a life dream, the desire of knowing and getting knowledge. Photography and traveling are the perfect combination, as through them, I can see and capture the wonders of this Earth we call home, and also of its inhabitants, the people and the human condition in it, all different but so equal, their cultures, works, ways of living and daily life. - @nolasco

@nolasco headed to one of their favorite destinations, Singapore, for this next featured post. While there they stayed in the Chinatown neighborhood this time around and captured some magnificent photographs. They like to stay in a different section each time they visit so that they can immerse themselves in as many cultures as possible.

In their post they shared this interesting view of what it's like to be a solo traveler -

And, as strange as may seem, you will never feel lonely, on the contrary, you end up with the feeling you are part of the place you are visiting, more than if you were traveling with a company. There are exceptions (wonderful exceptions!) but, as a solo traveler, you will inevitably interact more with the locals and better soak up their culture.

Go check out all of the photos from Chinatown.

We finish up today's Author Showcase with two great pieces of fiction.

Featured Author: @felt.buzz
"The Library of the Dead" an original work of ficition for #365daysofwriting


Images property of @felt.buzz

The first one is from a rather prolific writer here on the blockchain, @felt.buzz. He does explain a bit as to why he is such a prolific writer on the platform -

Steemit is responsible (in a good way!) for my writing! It is thanks to the daily prompts by @mydivathings and @mariannewest that I write every single day (and have done since November, last year). @mydivathings posts a picture prompt every day as part of her #365daysofwriting challenge, and I have fun seeing what comes out of my brain when I see it and then start writing. This picture immediately made me think of ghosts (the setting of a library was obvious) and everything else just flowed out of my brain. I didn't set out for it to be funny, but the plays on words and horror genres just popped into my head, so I just put them in.

It is a great challenge that @mydivathings runs. It inspires so many and produces a lot of high quality stories. (As does @mariannewest's #freewrite ) Personally looking at the photo my first instinct is something related to Harry Potter, but I love the direction that @felt.buzz went with his story. Being a horror fan it fits right in with what I generally like. That is all I am going to say as I refuse to spoil the story for you.

Go read this great short story.


Featured Author: @gabriellecd
Legacy - A Witch Story


Images property of @gabriellecd

@gabriellecd's story was for the CELF Challenge run by @celfmagazine. For those that do not know what that is go check it out, it is a bilingual magazine working to bring multiple cultures together here on the platform. I did just learn that @gabriellecd won third place in the competition with this story. So join me in congratulating her for the third place victory! Congrats @gabriellecd!

Check out her newest story which is for @mctiller's twentyfourhourshortstory contest - The Superhero: Visible Man - Short Story

Again, no spoilers here, so go read Legacy for yourself.

This Curie Author Showcase was written by Curie Curator @randomwanderings (Gene) at times with input from other Curie curators and reviewers. All images and quoted texts are the copyright of their respective authors.

Sort:  

Very Colorful and light ... it's great In this weekly weekly section, I would like to present a writer exhibition for a number of prominent writers, who received the Kuri Approach in the past week.

Great selection!! Two of my favorites are featured and the others look like more than worthy to check out. Thank you!!!

Thanks for featuring my post, @curie! And thanks for the wonderful writing, @randomwanderings (Gene)! I feel honored and happy to be selected by this curation team in the pursuit of talent on Steemit and on behalf of those who have less visibility on the platform. Congrats to all the featured and to the @curie curation team!

Its such an honor! Thank you so much!
Will keep making art! :)
Thank you for the feature and positive remarks!

Keep steeming! 🐳

Intresting post
Sir i am new on Steemit can u upvote me once I will upvote you in return as much as possible

Nice, love the last one. Congrats for all!

So beautiful photography
for sporting me vote &comment thanks

Thank you for doing STEEM - better. Good luck to you and Love.

Спасибо, что делаете STEEM – лучше. Удачи Вам и Любви.

I love all of these. Each are so differente and so amazing. I love how some of them are whimsical too. The colors are my favorite though, I love the bright night photography of the singapore photo.

Great selection of featured authors and posts. I loved every single one of them ... Thank you again for bringing this selections of talented writers on the steem blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53406.14
ETH 2398.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15