Chinatown, Singapore, a short trip as a solo traveler

in #swmchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Hi there, my friends,

Finally, my first entry ever to the wonderful contest by @runicar, the Steemit World Map Challenge #26 edition!

This contest with the tag #swmchallenge brings up to light the most unique and special places or events worth visiting or putting on our travel bucket list. As a blogger, and a travel blogger, this contest is my cup of tea and I wanted to participate in it since long ago. Today is the day!
Know more about the contest here!

ME AS A SOLO TRAVELER

As you may know by now, I’m currently living in East Timor, a tiny country in South-east Asia, neighboring Australia and Indonesia.
So, besides Australia and Indonesia, I travel, often as a solo traveler, to several countries in Asia. And when I travel, my favorite country to be in transit is Singapore.

Singapore 25 lion cityscape 1-3.jpg

SINGAPORE

Singapore is like a Russian Matryoshka: It’s a country within a city, and a city within a lot and diverse neighborhoods that depict, themselves, many countries of the world. I’m talking about Chinatown, Katong, Little India… Many other capitals in the world also have these neighborhoods, as New York, or Kuala Lumpur, and they have come from the far past in history, where the migrants stood and grew together and, generation after generation, keep cherishing their culture and traditions.

Singapore chinatown architecture 23.jpg

Singapore chinatown architecture.jpg

Singapore chinatown architecture 15-2.jpg

Singapore it’s not an exception and, along with the new and superb neighborhoods that grow bigger each day (with extension platforms built in the sea, whenever needed), like Orchard, Marina Bay, or Sentosa Island, there are also these traditional (but always refreshed) neighborhoods, making Singapore a fabulous country where the vanguard and traditional opposites meet in great style.

Singapore chinatown architecture 30.jpg

Singapore fullerton 18.jpg

Singapore chinatown architecture 13-2.jpg

It's a superb blend where, layer by layer, you can discover, altogether, traditional street markets and food, the most vanguardist urban art, daily cultural events, and the top-of-the-art fabulous, original and iconic architecture that it's recognizable everywhere in the world. True masterpieces.

Singapore 29 marina sands bay.jpg

Singapore 36 music concert-6.jpg

Singapore fullerton 21 statue kids-2.jpg

So, being in Singapore countless times to this date, while there I try to stay in a different neighborhood each time, so I get to know it a little bit better and immerse myself in the environment and mood they exhale: the culture, the food, the streets, the architecture, the lifestyle, and the people.

Singapore clark quay 18 statue 1.jpg

Singapore 22 bolas 6.jpg

Singapore 39 ferrari.jpg

CHINATOWN

In my recent stopover, I stayed in Chinatown, in a colonial-style hotel called Bliss. And a bliss it was, as, being the hotels in Singapore usually expensive for the Asian standards, this one was beautiful, nice and cozy… and on a budget (70 SGD per night). And the Internet was fast, you know how I am always longing for a good internet connection (in East Timor it is at an unbelievably low speed, slower than a snail!)

Singapore 41 chinatown architecture 5-2.jpg

Singapore 41 chinatown architecture detail.jpg

Singapore bliss architecture.jpg

Chinatown is a colorful neighborhood, fascinating by its sights, culture, and smells. And by the new and vibrant events and shops that surprise us in every corner.

Singapore chinatown street 20-2.jpg

Singapore chinatown street tintin 25_-3.jpg

Singapore chinatown street 17.jpg

I love wandering in the streets, capturing the moods and people that, most of the times, don't even notice I’m there. And that's what I do most, and like to do most. To walk without a destination and enjoy capturing street scenes that happen before my eyes every second.

Singapore chinatown street 24_.jpg

Singapore chinatown street 16-3.jpg

Singapore chinatown street 18.jpg

TRAVELING AS A SOLO TRAVELER

Traveling as a solo traveler gives you more time and availability to enjoy these realities, raises your awareness and focus to better observe the world and people around you.

Singapore chinatown street architecture cityscape 10-5.jpg

Singapore chinatown architecture 14-2.jpg

Singapore chinatown architecture 24-4.jpg

And, as strange as may seem, you will never feel lonely, on the contrary, you end up with the feeling you are part of the place you are visiting, more than if you were traveling with a company. There are exceptions (wonderful exceptions!) but, as a solo traveler, you will inevitably interact more with the locals and better soak up their culture.

Singapore 41 chinatown architecture 7.jpg

Singapore 35 statue.jpg

Singapore 40 paineis 6.jpg

In Chinatown, and on the walk I made around, I confirmed this feeling. I strongly recommend everyone to travel, even as a solo travel, instead of staying at home. At least once in your lifetime.

Singapore clark quay 16 boat funky.jpg

Singapore chinatown architecture 31.jpg

Singapore chinatown.jpg

And Chinatown could be a good choice, for a start. Because I believe that, once you make your first solo travel, you’ll love the feeling of freedom it will give back to you and you will wish to repeat it, over and over again!

Singapore chinatown architecture 22-3.jpg

Singapore 31 marina sands bay street.jpg

On the next stopover in Singapore, I will explore Little India!

Thanks for this challenging contest, @runicar!

Love to all!

Steem on!

Yours,
Isabel

Original text and photos taken by me.

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

DQmSSjgs1swFwv64uXRVpB9DAtzSnDv2Eeqr3CnPAup4WVV.png

photofriend banner.jpg

DQmc75yMiEvNZwe9U2sA7t4ghotVDAWpZp3VsJaRYaJ3fDV.png

steem sugarsDQmeZR5gxMRsGvanJAzkyHoYaXBTVWCfHEYqiycvb4rLJtU_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

Wow What beautiful photos! Thank you so much for sharing these great photos of this beautiful city :) I found you following @curie <3

Aw, thanks s much, Rose! I truly appreciate you have liked it!

My pleasure! ☺️💐

I have never been to Asia and traveling solo there sounds like a really courageous thing to do! Your photos are beautiful!

Good luck with the contest!

Thanks so much, @delishtreats! How sweet of you saying that :)))! Cheers!

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_3 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

PS: Did you know that you can support TravelFeed by claiming your free Byteball Bytes?

Aw, thanks so much for the recognition, @travelfeed, I feel more than honored and grateful with it! Cheers and have a wonderful week ahead!

Thank you! And stay tuned, you have got all the chances to be featured in one of the curation posts.

I will!!! I always am, my friend! Thanks so much! Have a wonderful day!

I will!!! I always
Am, my friend! Thanks so much! Have
A wonderful day!

                 - nolasco


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Ahah, love it!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks, my dear Pix!

good post

Thanks so much, @duque!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nolasco
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=chinatown-singapore-a-short-trip-as-a-solo-traveler


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

what a awesome collection of photos. I´ve been to Singapore as well and loved it. It´s a great city.

Thanks kindly, @betterthanhome, I truly appreciated you have passed by! Singapore it's a great city, indeed! I love it!

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Yupeeee! OMW to there! I'm so happy, happy as a little child! Thanks so much, @steemitworldmap!

Hi nolasco,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Aw, thanks so much, this is fantastic! Such a great and genuine Steemian job Curie Community curation project does on behalf of quality and less visible posts! I'm truly grateful! It's indeed a great day! Wishing you a great weekend too! Cheers

Hi @nolasco,

Such a wide array of amazing photos! I think my favorite is the first night shot of the water with the lit up buildings in the background. Great work!

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted Early Saturday (U.S. time - about 17 hours from now) on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@randomwanderings#9929 ) or even through email to randomwanderingsgene at gmail .com . This personal addition to my article is always one of my favorite parts.

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Gene (@curie curator)


Curie Badge transparency.png

Hi, @randomwanderings, what an honor to be featured on @curie's Author Showcase, I'm truly happy my post was selected, wow! So I've reached you on Discord, and posted a short paragraph about what photography means to me. Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40