Strawberry and Vanilla Cupcake

in #cupcakes7 years ago (edited)

Afternoon Steemit,

I recently wrote about the salted caramel cupcake that I had last weekend. Now it’s the turn of the strawberry and vanilla cupcake. Let’s see how this one squares up to the salted caramel one.

Strawberry and Vanilla Cupcake

A vanilla flavoured sponge cake with strawberry and vanilla frosting, filled with strawberry jam and topped off with a chocolate strawberry.

This cupcake looks so sweet and creamy. It really is a pleasant view to my eyes. I love the look of the little strawberry on top. You certainly know what flavour you are in for. I pick off the chocolate strawberry. It’s white chocolate and not a nice one at that! It tastes like really horrible cheap chocolate. Not what I was expecting! That aside I take a big bite into the cupcake. The cake is spongy and not dry and has a nice vanilla flavour. I like the strawberry jam in the middle, but the icing… boy is it sweet! Too sweet for me and I have a very sweet tooth! I can’t really taste the vanilla or the strawberry flavour in the frosting. Just sugar! Yuk!

When I first saw the selection of cupcakes, I really thought this one was going to be my favourite. It’s not! It really was just a sugar fest! It would be much better if there was a lot more jam and a little less sugar! I think this cake really needs more fruit flavour than anything else. As mentioned, the sponge was nice. This cupcake would have been a whole lot better if it was just left with the sponge and the jam and nothing else! Sorry cupcake fans but I wouldn’t recommend this one. Looks lovely and that’s about it!

If you liked this, watch out for the last flavour that I will write about over the next few days!

Previous Cupcakes

Salted Caramel
Snowman
Sparkling Prosecco
Chocolate Ganache

Sort:  

Sometimes desserts are made more appealing than appetizing. A lot of people "eat with their eyes". Money grabbing desserts I call it. Do you buy these desserts at a grocery store? Or from local bakers? It does look nice but you can tell by the icing that it has a grainy texture, extra sweet it would seem. I am a baker myself and look forward to reading blogs like this. Thanks for sharing ^_^

@foxysprit You're welcome :-) These cupcakes were from a grocery store. They did look so nice. The salted caramel one was amazing. This one certainly was made to look good rather than taste good.

cant go wrong with salted caramels :p

Buen post ese cupcake se ve sumamente delicioso

right now I want it.

not really a fan of sweets but I love looking at them, they're very appealing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.35
ETH 2687.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50