The Effects Poverty Has On African Cultures, And Vice Versa

in #culturevulture7 years ago

This past weekend my hubby and I did a bit of travelling, we went to see my parents who live about 4 hours away from us. As I watched the scenery that passed by I was reminded of how beautiful my country is, the grasslands, the mountains, the wild life - it's magnificent! But, in some areas, the picture wasn't so pretty.

As we drove further from the city we lived and into more rural areas, we were hit with the picture of poverty. Houses made from tin, grass and other bits and bobs (whatever one could find that would make fit as a roof and four walls). Chickens and goats roamed the sidewalks freely and children built towers from the litter strewn around them. As I thought about my comfortable and sheltered life, I was reminded how poverty stricken our country actually is, how poverty has become a part of our African culture, so much so that we become oblivious to the state of it. What made me think about this a bit more is the fact that there is a noticeable divided, you are either knees deep in this poverty, or you are a spectator (perhaps on the greener side of the grass). 

How African Cultures Have Adopted The Role Of Poverty


Below is a photo I took of the rural villages we drove past. There were many of these little homes, all dotted along the landscape. Here and there you would find a well-built brick home, these are low cost housing structures that are granted to some by our government, they are tiny and often filled with many family members and friends, more than the four walls can bare. But if you own one of these homes in the village, you are considered rich! So, it goes to show, even the poor have adopted a “rich” status among themselves. We have created a whole new income class!

A home belonging to the richer of the poor

When I watch the children play with the litter, which is sadly abundant and an indication of how uneducated many (MANY) people are (due to a failing educational system), I realise that to them, this is the norm. Their little imaginations have drawn them to these cast-off items, making them their play things. Their parents watch on, without the blink of an eye – THIS IS HOW THEY PLAY, it has become part of who they are and how they will learn.

The sweetest little Zulu children at play

Goats and chickens sit on the roofs of old rusty cars, which look very awkward parked next to their accompanying mud huts. A mixture of traditional culture and the modern, and indication that cultures are in fact constantly evolving while desperately hanging on to what made them authentic in the first place. While skeleton-like dogs search for scraps food, so do the villagers at the hardest of times – food was once a big part of the traditional African cultures.

The abundance of food, or its lack, now plays a big role in how often the people of Mali, Senegal and other nations in West Africa gather to eat and how much opportunity there is for families to come together and share their stories. Keeping this connection between family members thriving is a big part of Agile International’s mission. By working to increase the abundance of food, Agile International is helping to keep family bonds strong, culture and history alive. - https://agile-international.org/west-africa-poverty-food-water-facts/

This leaves me with another thought that I am still rolling around in my head is: which is greater, the effect poverty has had on culture, or the effect culture has on poverty.


The “zen-ness” of travelling got me all philosophical, as I am sure you have noticed. And while I was pondering how the traditional cultures have had to adjust to the different circumstances of poverty, I also wondered to what extent have cultural practices lead to poverty.

For instance, in Zulu culture the women have always been in charge of food, from cultivating it, preparing it to serving it. But, Zulu women are not allowed to own land, this is not custom practice. Without being biased, this is indeed a fact, Zulu women have proven to be harder workers than most Zulu men, if they were allowed to own and run the land they live on, perhaps their produce and efforts would result in greater riches?

Free Stock Image - Zulu Woman Collecting Water From Afar

So much to wrap your head around right? And I am sure this is how it is around the world, not just in Africa. An infinite battle of poverty vs. culture arises – who will win?

We arrived safely at our destination, and the same trip and scenery greeted us as we traveled back home. Nothing visible had changed since we first passed our rural dwellers, but in just a few days, how many of the villagers had succumbed to non-cultural practices just to feed their children, how many women and children lost out on opportunities because their actions would be frowned upon by their people? Just another unfortunate circle of events.

Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Founder of the HobbyHub Challenge (WIN SBD) – Find out more HERE

 


Sort:  

Sad state of affairs around the world, we can only work toward a better future for all. Stand by and help in whatever way you are able to afford.

Education is a massive factor and once done correctly I think change will happen for many, one thing I have found here on Steemit it the massive amounts of free quality education being collated and shared, let us hope with technology this will get shared further afield.

I agree completely, education is the only way forward! But I have a feeling our government prefers the people to be ignorant and uneducated, it's much easier for them to be corrupt that way!

Same like my city, Aceh, Indonesia. Many society still dont have house. I thing many city face the same situation. It coused by goverment dont care with low level and often collect much money for theirself and partner.

That's true, I don't think our governments want people to be educated, it will make it much harder for them to be corrupt then!

Thank you for commenting on my post, perhaps you would be interested in entering my HobbyHub challenge? Find out more: https://steemit.com/hobbyhub/@sweetpea/enter-the-hobby-hub-challenge-and-win-15-sbd-plus-winner-announcement

which is greater, the effect poverty has had on culture, or the effect culture has on poverty

For me culture is the emergent effect from the everyday choices of a people. Since poverty reduces choices, I say it that poverty affects culture more than the other way around. Though there is a feedback loop. The poverty trap snd the wealth spiral are the same thing except the direction of movement is different.

You are right, there is an infinite loop that will possibly never be broken. Thank you for sharing your well thought out opinion :)

Thank you for commenting on my post, perhaps you would be interested in entering my HobbyHub challenge? Find out more: https://steemit.com/hobbyhub/@sweetpea/enter-the-hobby-hub-challenge-and-win-15-sbd-plus-winner-announcement

I get the same feeling when I travel in Romania. Living in the capital, full of malls and fancy cars, it's depressing to see the sad reality in so many villages. I cannot enjoy the scenery, seeing the small hut-like houses in many villages. I might be tempted to say our poor are richer than your poor, but then I never travelled to the poorest areas in my country.

I think that there are "levels" of poor in every country, with everyone having the poorest of poor. I know for a fact that even I have been sheltered from seeing the worst cases of poverty here in South Africa, the villages I see are nothing compared to the stories I have heard. I think all we can do is what @joanstewart suggested and work hard to try improve the world ourselves, with our own abilities.

there must be a change in their lives, perhaps like an economic revolution, certainly with the source of the local government ...

Curruption is what we all must fight together.

Really poweful post.. seeing poverty is something that greets us on most of our travels too. I've often wondered about many of these questions too. And we always try to do our little part to help.

As women in this changing world, we can only hope that cultures will evolve to support women and the situation will improve as the world starts to recognize our worth..

If only women could rule the world, what a world it would be ;)

I know right! We'd have things sorted in no time at all I'm sure! Thank you for your thoughtful response, it is good to know that others are taking note of these things too :)

We couldn't agree more!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58720.84
ETH 3088.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41