Geometric Patterns outside of Temple

in #culture7 years ago

20170905 slowwalker

I carefully looked around the temple. The name of this temple was Kwanum Am. Kwanum means the goddess of mercy and Am means temple.

But the Am means small size of the Temple. Large size of temple was called as ‘Sa’. Usually Am is attached temple of main temple Sa in many cases. But here the Kwanum Am’s main building looks bigger than Donghak Sa which could be believed main Temple.

I began to look around the temple. At the corner of the temple I found an old traditional rice chest.

It was curious why this rice chest was placed at the corner of temple.

At another corner of the temple I met nun. Nun’s role in Buddhism is quite different from Sisters in Catholic church. Buddhist Nun has a same authority and play same role as a male Buddhist priest. They can preside over the all of ceremonies. There are no differences. Only one difference is the temple where they live. They are strictly seprated.

Here the Kwanum Am is a Nun’s temple. At that time a nun was talking about something with a visiter. I came closer to them.

Nun was explaining the reason of painting this gorgeous colour on the temple. Look the cloth of Nun, that was a kinds of nun’s convenient uniform.

She explained that the origin of this colour was going back to Shilla Dynasty. It might be the first time to mention about Shilla Dynasty. Shilla was the one of the oldest country and the longest kingdom. It had lasted for 992 years (57BC- 935AD). Shilla was the one of the longest kingdom in the world history. I wish to have a chance to post on Shilla Dynasty.

What I heard from Nun was the colour and the patterns were originated from Shilla Dynasty. Nun told that the colour of the Palace and the Temple of Shilla was painted in gold color base. And the patterns were also quite different from common temples. Patterns were very similar to that of Persia.

Nun guided me every corner of the temple to show me the patterns.

under the roof.

pole outside.

side bar of outside

These patterns are geometric style.
How did Shilla think to use these geometric patterns.

Patterns inside the temple were more colourful and beatiful.
I’d like to post next time.

Sort:  

Hello Friend @slowwalker! I am very curious to see all the details of your temples! Oriental culture is very elegant and beautiful! I also love to travel in historic places! Recently I visited the medieval fortress of Ackerman! I wrote today about the bandura music that I listened to at the medieval fortress! Enjoy with me!
https://steemit.com/travel/@olga.maslievich/my-holiday-near-black-sea-in-the-south-of-ukraine-legend-of-the-girly-tower-bandura-music-sounds-near-the-medieval-fortress

I hope you enjoy it! Did you read the first part?

The Oriental people are so hospitious that they often arrange things to get a balance for luck and prosperity @slowwalker

Thank you so much

Those patterns are very beautiful and now I would love to read about Shilla Dynasty in detail. They seem to have great art and architecture.

I read your posts very easy. Thank you.

hi
nice post.
i follow vote and resteem it

I love geometric patterns. It is so beautiful and alluring that I feel like I'm in a trance just watching in awe.
I think Korean temples are my favourite since the architecture and design are amazing. (That may be a good post idea for me)
It is great to see that Nuns and Priests are treated the same and there is no disparity like in other religions.
Thanks for letting us know about Kwanum Am @slowwalker! :)

Thank you so much for your comment

a temple that has an incredible size of artwork, and I wonder why it does not get old or faded carving out of the colors of every corner of the temple, an amazing work of art, and man can not do that now, even if it may not last long...great post @slowwalker

You are welcome... @slowwalker .., if you not busy...come to my blog..and put your comment...i have make a new post about Data is the new gold.., maybe you interesting..

I like this post, you have my vote, by the way,
thank you for stopping by and voting on one of my post
really appreciate it.I started following you @mannyfig1956

@slowwaker upvoted...the temple details was based on oriental culture it's very nice and its so
amazing and the historic place that marks on the memories of the past.

thanks for sharing.i give you my upvote..

kindly see my post.i love to share it with you..hope you follow me back,,
thanks for your kind heart.

https://steemit.com/poetry/@mrblu/poem-the-power-of-illusion

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43