Backyard alley in Seoul

in #culture7 years ago

Seoul is metropolitan.
You can see skyscrapers, fantastic restaurant and very expensive department.
But everything has plus and minus, bright and darkness,
In this time, let me introduce backyard alley in Seoul. I had walked around the backyard alley with my friend in Seoul, several weeks ago.
We, middle ages, all remembered the past of seoul city. So it was a trip to the past for us.

At the entrance of the alley, I could look at old wall and small and tiny trees.

This scene guided me to think the fate of this alley.
It seemed that many people had been working in this alley to raise their family. But everything has gone now.

The tiny tree looked like the symbol of new hope in this alley.

This place located in the center of Seoul, surrounded by skyscrapers.

70 years old traditional restaurant

small store

I didn’t know that there existed these alleys in Seoul. My friend told me that there are much more alley older than this.

I ‘d like to take the pictures of the old alleys in Seoul.

We never forget the Past.

Sort:  

It always fascinates me how different worlds clash in Asia.
You can have skyscrapers, glamour, fancy restaurants and luxury stores in the town center, but if you walk around the corner you can find old alleys like this one.
Thanks for sharing these pictures, it gives a unique outlook on the city Seoul! I'd love to visit one day, I've only heard great things about it. Must be a very lively city

Thank you so much for your comment @sirwinchester.
It is great honour for me

@slowwalker nim, do you appreciate the countryside now? :)
I saw one of them in a documentary here
I guess its the same all over the world - there's always such a sight

Nice shots...

There looks like the other cities in Asia. Although I am in Southeast Asia. I am very interested to go to Seoul, just not have a chance :)
Seeing the alleys in your photo makes me feel familiar. Thanks for share, @slowwalker

Thank you for your comment

This is exactly what Hong Kong government do! It is very short sighted to tear down everything to construct new buildings just for profits.
Hong Kong is now a city without tradition, without soul.
I miss the good old days of Hong Kong. Too bad it will never come back.

Beautiful and insightful as always with your words and your photos my friend.

  • Say hi to your mom for me again

LOL

(:

Thank you so much
My mom will like your warm word

I love your posts and you know that.

It is good to encourage one another.

(:

The purpose of the past is to remind us of the distance of our journey.

As we travel, the distance appears short. But it is relative.

Viewed over many years, we can see just how far we have travelled.

Us, as individuals. But communities and cities too.

Great post.

Thank you for your comment

Nice pictures and there are indeed many old alleys in Seoul and sometimes like a maze for people not knowing the streets. But the funny thing is that they are old but usually welll kept, very clean and safe where I used to live in Sinchon area. Guess it has something to done with the good mentality of the Korean people to keep things tidy and to be responsible for your own neighbourhood :)

Thank you so much

I've done that before where you've found a new street or alley in a city and you think you knew the whole place. It's a funny feeling!

interesting.

good

oh, you are generous! Thank you :-O

가끔은 그리울때가 있지요
저기 한구섞 문방구에서 줄을서 있던 한소년이...

옛날이라는 것이...

Thought provoking post @slowwalker. I love history!!
Your visit to the past must have been enjoyable.
I always love to revisit memorable places.
Last week I did that, I visited my boyhood neighborhood. Happy memories!!

Thank you for your comment.
I think we have a same tendancy to recall the past.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65156.13
ETH 3530.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48