Diving into Korean Weddings – Full Immersion for a 2nd Gen

in #culture7 years ago (edited)

hansikhouse_cover.jpg

Diving Off the Deep End


So in a few months, I'll be an officially married man in the eye of Korean law. I never expected this day to come up so quickly in the chaos that been my last several years of work and life. But it's almost here and for a number of familial reasons, my partner and I have decided to hold the wedding in Seoul.

This scares the sh*t out of me

Big events are always a nerve-racking affair and I'm not one to shy away from life milestones but this particular situation is terrifying.

For a suburban New Jersey boy to conceptualize a full blown traditional Korean wedding is like setting off to sea without a compass, having only been told legends of pirates and sea monsters.

As any 2nd-Gen minority can attest to, learning the ins and outs of our parents' culture is no easy feat. Simple things like how to bow properly or distribute drinks among elders comes with a litany of implicit rules and consequences.

Compile that into several hours of expected behaviors that I've never experienced before...and you have the first real boogey-man that I'll have to face head on in front of the eyes of hundreds of people


Steemit as Self-Therapy, Self-Preparation


So what to do? In the preparation for the grand ordeal, I'll use Steemit to “practice” all the expected ceremonial aspects of a Korean wedding and what that entails. I'll go through unique parts of the day-of as well as how Koreans prepare beforehand through family events. This will (hopefully) prepare me for what's to come despite having absolutely no muscle memory.

These include a great number of traditional nuances, nearly all of which I've never witnesses or heard of. Events between parents, sharing of gifts, messages amongst family, etc... all in 100% Korean of course. Looking into these facets in blog/Steemit form will give me the opportunity to do a bit of research and not go into this journey blindly. And I thought it would make for compelling content for some on Steemit as well.


Exploring an Opportunity


It isn't very typical for a 2nd-Gen Korean to go through this experience in Korea itself. Weddings amongst ethnic Koreans typically fall into these categories-

[1 - a] Korean marrying a Korean in Korea with a hybrid Western/Korean Wedding
[2 - a] Korean-American marrying a Korean-American in the US with a Western Wedding sprinkled with Korean elements

I've experienced both of these amongst friends and family. I fall into the 3rd more rare category of a Korean-American marrying a Korean, in Korea on top of that with a Wedding that leans more traditional.

Even amongst in-Korea weddings, the practice of traditional ceremonies is quickly fading. These acts are burdensome, take a great deal of preparation and knowledge, and cultivate friction with the increasing popularity of Western-style weddings.

My partner and I made a decision early on that we would make an effort to attempt these historical components and revisit the practices that were so ubiquitous before Korea's entrance to the global cultural market.

mck_57bedf91d9dff.jpg

  • Korean Traditional Homes, Hanok Wedding | Source: Marie Claire

--
So if this all interests you in any way, great! I'll elaborate these traditional gems in a series of posts. I know a great number of foreign-Koreans are on this platform as well so this will be a good opportunity to share these findings and underlying cultural anxieties.

If it doesn't strike your fancy, eh, I don't blame you. Wedding shenanigans. I'm sure I'll throw in some mindless K-pop related post during this series to keep myself from going insane in the membrane.

In any case, Steem on!

I got the main image as a gift from @cheongpyeongyull nim. He draws a 'Wearing Suits' series for Steemians!

@cheongpyeongyull 선생님, 대문 이미지 고맙습니다.


Sort:  

Formal bow to parents Lol it is even weirder than Turkish weddings looks fancier tho

It's like the kung-fu of respectful gestures. So many moving parts...

Congratulations to take a new life, hopefully can build a good home in the future and happy to be with you both ...

There is so much pressure concerning weddings anyway and your post identifies even another added layer of stress.

Absolutely. Hopefully this process of blogging about it helps parse stress into digestible components.

Hello, It would be a great help if you nominate me to be a member of @sndbox

Hi @swaraj,

To clarify our mission, Sndbox is a Steemit-based incubator that strives to empower creative and organizational practices. If you have clear goals to achieve some impact through being on Steemit, you can submit them through our website questionnaire here. If you want to learn more about Sndbox, we recommend reading the posts about our membership referral process and our mission.

Thank you for the message.

Thanks @hansikhouse for the information. I have submitted questionnaire in the link you have mentioned. It would be great if you can review or help me out with the next process. Thank you

Congratulations! Have fun at the wedding.

Btw. Since you told me to check your profile instead of writing on Steemit. chat, now I'm here. I have translated a post from @sndbox to German again
https://steemit.com/sndbox/@cryptogainer/steemit-tipps-was-sie-nicht-tun-sollten

Congratulations!!
Wedding is a wonderful ceremony but at the same time it can be a very tiring event. I don't blame you. I myself did a very simple wedding ceremony, omitting PyeBack and everything. Hope yours will be wonderful and happy as can be! :)

Thank you bree-nim! I'm pretty anxious but excited to have these parts in my wedding. I'll be learning about traditional ceremonies in the coming weeks... =)

I would love to learn more about traditional Korean weddings 😃 I've seen them on tv but to know the story or the meaning would be interesting. Looking forward to the series 😃

I've only seen bits and pieces from dramas/movies too! I'll be sure to share as much as I can.

저는 결혼을 통해서 많은 것을 얻었습니다. 결혼식을 통해서 추억도 생기게 되었지요. 두 사람이 만나 한 가정을 이룬다는 것은 이전에 없었던 큰 경험이 될 것입니다. ㅎ

앞으로도 많은 추억 만드시고 행복한 결혼생활 되시길 바랍니다. :)

I will follow this series for sure and love that you're using Steemit as a catalyst for practice and support in this. I imagine some Koreans on the platform will have a few pointers as well which I"m sure will help. Cheers to your upcoming wedding!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75