Curious Mind

in #csgo6 years ago

0C8513C6-E29E-482A-8503-42CDFBACF6F4.jpeg

I’m currently watching the CS:GO Masters where the Finnish team ENCE is in the finals. I have never played CS, and only seen a few funny clips, and I don’t intent to start playing, but I am curious.

Esports is not too far from the crypto world, and I’m into all sorts of nerdy stuff, or truth be told, I’m into nerds. People who spend a lot of time alone in a dark room with a computer, eating junk and being up on weird hours are my kind of people.

Along with blogging/vlogging, gaming is a true millennial job, something that didn’t really even exist just ten years ago. I sort of feel a connection to gamers because I’m sure they face quite a lot of misconseptions too and quite frankly, have to deal with jealousy and hate from people who don’t understand how and why anyone can make a living playing. I think I’m going to get into this topic more thoroughly in another post.

I keep asking questions from my little brother and friends who actually know how to play CS, and try to figure out what this game is all about. Quite an interesting world really.

ENCE is sadly not doing that great but it’s cool that they got this far.

Sort:  

There's a documentary series on Netflix called 7 Days Out which has an episode about an eSports competition. I especially liked the part about the pro basketball player who bonded with his son over video games - and then bought an esports team, becoming a sort-of father figure to his players. I found it surprisingly moving.

That sounds like an interesting series, I have to check it out.

My daughter has a Nintendo Switch console. When I was killing time at the game shop today (it happens to be right across the corridor from the cash registers of Citymarket in the Karisma shopping mall in Lahti, the sales guy told me that a remake of Doom existed. Doom is a 1990's classic, I'd play a lot when I was a student. Of course, the new Doom has much fancier graphics but the weapons are the same (and there are others). Will I drop nearly €70 to get it? Not likely, but if someone were to sell it used at steep discount, I just might get it for nostalgic reasons.

Here's the original:

Here's the new one:

Doom rocked, but what about Duke Nukem?

I've heard the name but not played it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Aah we've spent most of our high school free time in the game room playing CS. Good times. :)

It was a really big achievement from ENCE to get this far and in my opinion they are winners :) More training and more hard work and they will get more chances! And yeah, nerds play one of the biggest parts of this new world! Awesome time we're living in <3

Nerds are the new cool kids!

Astralis is insane at the moment. But so many props to Ence for getting this far. Nobody though they would!

Posted using Partiko Android

But everyone loves an underdog 😁

Over my head all that haha 💯🐒

Mine too, I had to ask a lot of questions 😅

I'll just nod and smile dam I'm out of touch I only in my 30's haha ```💯🐒

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @eveuncovered! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61659.26
ETH 2446.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60