Cryptogee Photomash Particle Challenge: DisintegratingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptogee-photomash7 years ago (edited)

This is my entry to @Cryptogee's Photomash Challenge


my edited image can be found here;  original image from imgur

Kinda cool, eh? Haha. But it's not that complex to do. Check out @cryptogee's Particle Effect Tutorial.

He has got tons of interesting tutorial photo editing videos like how to do a Fire Effect - Hunger Games style, or how to do particles like in the image above. I'm not quite sure how he comes up with these cool photo hacks, but it's magic!

At first, the final photo seems it's a tad difficult to achieve, but he demoes the processes really well - so it becomes easy. I only know basic editing so I learn a lot of new tricks from his vids.

For my entry, I followed his tutorial steps but changed it up a bit:

  • I used a background image instead of white. To make this work, I used @cryptogee's magic wand tutorial to cut out the subject and put it in a different layer. 
  • Because of the background image, I needed to put the layer with the mask on top.
  • Instead of splatter brush for the effect, I used orb-particle thingies for a "disintegrating" feel. And because my choice of software - GIMP - has no splatter-type brushes

Updated (forgot about including the layer screenshot):

Kudos to @cryptogee for hosting contests like this one. He also creates fun Easter Egg Hunts for SBDs.  Go follow him if you haven't yet :)

Sort:  

@originalworks please :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jazzhero to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

It looks a little bit sad. Because I just remembered when I cried watching cartoon 40 years ago, a little mermaid, disappearing into bubbles.

true, it's a bit sad indeed. and wow cool reference to the little mermaid story. It matched the theme perfectly. I even considered using a picture of a woman submerged but it turned out really difficult to edit :)
Thanks a lot for the thoughtful comment.

Of course, the photo and its effect is very nice and actually thanks you for sharing those good photos. I'll follow you. Thanks,

Mmmm, nice I like this one :-)

Cg

Thanks for the nice comment, upvote and resteem, @cryptogee.
I had great fun with this challenge.
And I now know how to use a layer mask thanks to you. Cheers!

Wow, Very cool!
I will give the vote to you, Please vote and follow me. @hostyz

Cool, thanks for checking out my post :)
Good luck and welcome to steemit.

Wow, Very cool!
I will give the vote to you, Please vote and follow me. @hostyz

Good Stuff!

Thanks, More power to you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68152.98
ETH 3536.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86