You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will Money Be Missed In A Post Scarcity World?

What a fun train of thought to explore! Firstly, this is SO true -

What we don't perhaps take note of too often, is how the potential lack of profits stifles and halts innovation.

I think that some people without a fire under their butts to take action will slack but that the vast majority of humans will be taken into all kinds of endeavors by their curiosity and desire to connect and engage with others and the human need to discover what we can do and to experience our own prowess.

For me, I'd definitely slow wayyyyy downnnn which would make life so much nicer! And I would probably do some of what I already do with my daily practices, self mastery, and art making but it would be more joy and curiosity driven. I'd also travel a lot and spend a lot of time enjoying this world and all that life has to offer with friends and family. I'd walk the 5 miles out to my favorite restaurant instead of driving, and I'd try far more restaurants and I know something else I'd really love is to see what other people are doing. I'd enjoy seeing them create, and whatever else they are doing.

Sort:  

the vast majority of humans will be taken into all kinds of endeavors by their curiosity and desire to connect and engage with others and the human need to discover what we can do and to experience our own prowess.

I think this is undoubtedly true, however what I'm wondering, is will we have a collective will to do? Without industry driving us forward, will the effort of the individual be enough. One person designed the printing press, however it took the commercial will of many to turn it into a daily part of our lives.

Cg

True, true but I think that alongside the individual need to create and "do", we also as a species have a need to work together, to do stuff together, to be part of something greater than our individual selves. And whether we'll get too lazy for this to continue I don't know but I like to think that our drives to do, be, create, interact and see evidence of our efforts will rise above everything else. Of course I AM an idealist ;-)

I hope you're right; and maybe it's just a case of new incentives will take the place of the old economic ones. One thing is for sure though, we'll all be a lot happier without it. :-)

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80