Sort:  

Paul talked at our Crypto Meetup earlier this year and gave a quick introduction about Herocoin

At 1:42 here:
https://steemit.com/blockchain/@limesoda/this-is-blockchain-crypto-meetup-2018-in-vienna-recap-and-livestream

Great Project and very nice guys!

Great - When is the next meetup like that scheduled? ;)

Will post it on twitter and FB and tag them

I hope you will announce the next meetup you have on Steemit as well - Maybe a little livestream will work too ;)
Unfortunately I can't attend in Vienna today - But have fun guys, looking forward to meeting you soon!

Maybe we can convince them to join steemit :)

No need to convince them, they are already here but not active - @herocoin.

let me get you started :-)

jk

interesting coin, what do you thinkt they do better than their competetors? Being from Austria or already thinking about legal issues.

I have none real gamingcoin in my portfolio but I want to pick one up. I will take a look into this one

I actually have not heard of too many serious competitiors yet - But I also have not looked a lot.

For HERO it was the package that got me onboard. The situation with them being Austrian + having known Austrian investors like Altrichter on board, made it clear that it wasn't a scam. Their marketing and social media behavior also looked well plus I always had the feeling they were going for a real product instead of a coin looking for a quick pump. Their focus on the product instead of getting on quick exchangens asap also suggests that they are in there for longterm rather than a short term pump.

Last but not least they already have an existing product with six figure members on there which definitely also is a plus point. Those users are more likely to try a betting currency on a platfrom they already are at than to register somewhere else.

I know this sounds like they have bribed me - But it all just looked and felt right for a long term investment.

What other options have you considered so far?

I looked a bit into First Blood.

People loosing their shit about "The Abyss" ICO what has something to do with gaming, too but afaik it is about skins.

I am thinking about getting some herocoins though. I like to bet and I like esports.

Just took a quick look at "First Blood" - It is not about betting right? Didn't look closely, but it appears to be a currency rewarding the gamers for quests, ladders and tournaments - correct me if I am wrong ;)

I think the potential market of betters is higher than the ones of high-level gamers earning through competition. And since I always think about mass adoption - I don't really thing "First Blood" is such a perfect name for a product aiming at achieving mass adoption.

Concerning the Abyss, this is what makes me turn away:

"Unlike other platforms (Steam, Origin, GOG, etc.), The Abyss offers a groundbreaking motivational and multilevel referral system, allowing gamers to earn from in-game and social activities, and other gamers’ payments as well."

I don't say this can't work or won't be beneficial for certain individuals. However it reminds me of a MLM-scheme rather than a product that has the potential in a new market. I also doubt that big developers and companies will allow them to sell licenses - But I stopped reading after the quote, so I might be wrong.

However it also doesn't seem to be competition in the field of eSports betting ;)

I like to bet and I like esports.

Seems like HERO would fit best from the three options ;)

I am sure there are more - so if anybody has esports Betting alternatives, feel free to share them!

Even if the concept is interesting, the one show-stopper for me is that "handsome guy" marketing style. I don´t care how are the people looking, the product should speak for itself.

If you check their facebook page, you will see that it is not just about this "beautiful guy" - Different interviews on different topics are done by different people. Even in this articel I have linked to statements from three different people ;)

Puh ..

An Betting/Gambling Mechanic for eSports which to a great degree target an young audience.
Seems like their lawyer was looking for an new challenge.

I highly doubt that this will work well as long as they don't bother to legitimate their Customers, and doing so is ...

Sure, there are solutions out there like "PostIdent", "WebIdent" or "IDNow" (last one used by N26 Onlinebank) but yeah - wouldn't be an Plug&Play solution either. More like signing up for an new Exchange - which is totally possible but an high barrier of entry.

I'll watch the Project and wait what will happen in the Future. Interesting Idea anyway. Thanks for the Information @theaustrianguy.

The question is, what is the definition for young ;)? I don't think they are aiming for kids but rather for younger adults (<30years in my view f.e.) who are well legal to do betting ;)

That's the question.

Legally its their Job to determinate if their customer is 17 or 19, and i don't think that this 'll be fun.

Maybe an Coin like Civic would help them.

There are many betting operators out there who manage to do that - why shouldn't it be possible for them as well? I don't think that's going to be a huge issue. There is a lot of available experience on how to verificate users on online betting platforms.

Well do they manage the gambling issues actually well?

Here are two videos from last week tonight about gambling, and concerning eSports / games, the loot box system has seen a gambling discussion last year as well (also mainly because they exactly did not managed to get the kids or addicted out of it).


HERO has nothing to do with lootboxes - Btw. a system I don't like at all ;)

Your point was that there are systems in place at online gambling plattforms to verify users.
I asked / questioned if those systems are doing a good job and added the videos as background information.

So going back to the original point, "why shouldn't it be possible for them as well" -> How does HERO plan to handle it? Are there actual plans and statements or is it more about hoping / guessing it'll turn out fine?

Since I don't work for them or have any background info, I don't have details about how they will do that.

However I know that it doesn't seem to be a problem for the many betting operators of classical sports bets out there. And since HERO is in contact with people from those platforms, there should not be a problem to implement the same verification processes on their betting site as well.

A company with conscience? In a relative unregulated environment like crypto currencies?
And at gambling it is not only about kids but also about adults that have it not under control.

There will always be people who have no control over certain things (alcohol, poker, betting, etc.) But is too much regulation really the key? Or should there just be better prevention and education? I favor the second.

Are we talking about too much regulation or about any regulation at all?
"I don't think they are aiming for kids but rather for younger adults" - is there a fact that proves this?
Please don't get me wrong, I don't want to talk that coin bad. But I think there are legal and moral items to be considered for a coin focused on online gambling to succeed in the long run (referring to your HODL picture). And I am asking if that company startup has a plan to deal with such items.

This weekend John Oliver had cryptocurrencies in his show as a topic. See
e.g. https://steemit.com/crypto-bitcoin/@icebergizzle/johnolivertalkscryptocurrency-5xykz5ik0d or look for it on the last week tonight youtube channel. I would say the final thoughts apply to HERO as well.

Since they want to be present in a country where betting isn't allowed for underaged (<18 here in Austria) people, I think it is quite safe to assume that they don't target those as their audience ;)

That would be the same as if you were to produce vodka for 14-year olds in Austria - plain stupid and no business model.

I think they have thought about such basic things ;)

Well basically that's my point (applies also to the other discussion line).
It would be actually plain stupid and a poor business model. And when I plan to put my money into a business I want to know some key items about it. Just guessing that they'll handle every critical item is not a good basis in my point of view.

But as John Oliver described it, any money put into crypto is currently already gambling and you should only put in so much you can affort to loose. So if someone want's to FOMO on hero coins he is imho free to do so (even if it's not of my business).
I just think it is good practice to also consider and discuss potentially drawbacks instead of just presenting the "potential" (aka $$$) .

I have not considere this as a critical item in my thinkings since it is so plain obvious.

They have shown way deeper thought processes than that and I totally trust them to have considered this issue.

I saw this the other day, first coin I see marketed on football matches.

Do you think that is positive or do you think it links cryptocurrencies to something "bad" litte gambling?

Not much of a betting man myself but I'm glad to see this european blockchain project making progress :)

Same goes for me ;) Im probably betting less than 10€ per year - So I am not a great customer :P

Okay that really sounds like a great project. It's in general simply amazing how many ideas pop up in the cryptospace these days. The world will change significantly the next years through a lot of these projects :)

Will definitely look into hero :)

Hallo @theaustrianguy, du hast von mir ein Upvote erhalten! Ich bin ein Upvote-Bot und meine Mission ist, guten Content unter #Steemit-Austria zu fördern. Hier kannst du mehr über mich erfahren. Auch, wie du an meinen curation-rewards mitverdienen kannst.

Übrigens: Wenn du den Tag #steemit-austria verwendest, finde ich deine Posts noch leichter!

Erfahre mehr über mich und promote deine Beiträge im Steemit-austria slack, sowie im steemit-austria discord-channel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65975.42
ETH 3308.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69