CryptoCurrencies - Sleepless Nights, Regrets, FOMO, Happiness and Anxiety 😳

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

After one year in the cryptocurrency world, I thought it was about time that I'd share some thoughts on my experience.
I suffer from a severe fear of missing out, FOMO, in all parts of my life. I also love anything that is risky and I'm always up for taking chances.
That makes it harder to navigate in the world of currencies.

The ups are amazing and the downs gives you anxiety.

U5duK2bqHwTCrETfh3JreeYkft6PwGu_1680x8400.png

When it's going good, it's all fun and games.
But then you check Coinbase right before bedtime and it's not so fun anymore.

The other night, I saw that the value of BTC was decreasing, so much that I thought to myself: "okay, I should sell everything and save what's left."
I woke up many times during the night thinking about it.
The next morning I woke up, ran to my computer and saw that BTC had gone up to the same level as before it started to decrease in value. Two days later it had gone up by 15% too.
It's hard not to freak out and panic when you see the numbers go down. But I do keep in mind that it's not money that I can't afford to loose. As it all came from Steemit.

I never had a significant amount of money held up in cryptocurrencies, because when I lived in Australia I needed the money, and cashed out.
Now that I am back in Norway and making money from my business, I saved up some Steem Dollars and bought various CC.
My friend, @svk, told me what kind of currencies that he considered promising, and I bought some of the ones he mentioned.
I'm very happy about that now..

The last thing I do before I go to bed, is to check Coinbase, and it's also the first thing I do in the morning. What have I become?
What is this sorcery?

At the moment I've only got MLN, BTC and ETH. I would love advice on other promising currencies from you guys.

I've done so many stupid things in my crypto "career".
The one desicion I regret the most, was selling all my Golem..

#WHY ?

How do you guys deal with stupid decisions like that? I want to hit myself in my head with a heavy book!
I've had many micro breakdowns that were based on some kind of currency issues. The one time when I decided to sell something and Coinbase was down, was one of them.

Screenshot_26.png

Susanne

Sort:  

I WANT A HAT LIKE THAT! HOW?

my friend @kvithai made it for me when I brough the Steemit logo to his office. I asked the graphic designer that made the logo first. :)

take my money.gif

How can I get my hands on one?

resteem and upvote for you....

you are welcome...

Lol. Same here. It's like I wrote this article myself. Probably you like to take risks, and like adventures, and you probably have 1000 ideas everyday. Well, at least, I wish I could live several lives to do all the things I would love to do ;-)

I do. Sounds like you know me. Ha ha. Same here! There are so many things that seems like fun, but I don't really have time to pursue it.

haha, funny right?! Nice meeting you then ;-)

Hi @susanne, I love to know that you are into cryptocurrency, if I may suggest the cryptos that are in my opinion are still undervalued (aside from what you already mentioned) are Stellar, Nxt, Dash, Monero and Tezos will be on ICO this coming June so it is really worth taking a look. I like your post followed you, hope to see more...

Dash and Monero keeps coming up when I talk to people about this, so maybe I should do some more research on them. Thanks for leaving a reply :)

I agree, if you do your own research you avoid unnecessary risks. God bless and more power to your crypto investments...

some jokers become arrogant after becoming overnight millionaires. stay grounded and don't forget the homeless people who are hungry tonight.

I agree. I'm luckily not a millionare. And I donated to charity after recieving my first payout :)

Eventually you just get used to it. I still can't stop myself from regularly checking the prices, it's more like a bad habit than an emotional thing now. I am regularly gaining and losing ten thousand dollars or more in seconds. You get used to it like the guy who stayed on a rollercoaster for weeks.

I totally agree, it's a very bad habit.. Did someone really stay on a rollercoaster for weeks? :)

The surge in crypto has almost been a nightmare for me. I have friends coming out of the woodwork telling me that they should have listened to me and then want to see if I struck it rich since I have been involved in this since 2013. Unfortunately I got washed out of the majority of my holdings.

That's unfortunate. :( We all have some regrets, I think.

Like your post Susanne, some things really resonate with me - and the thing about checking prices! Argh...

Thank you! I know, so annyoing.

love the hat... :)

Thank you! I'm pretty happy about the hat myself. :)

The very best thing to do is to hold. I sold 11 bitcoins in 2012 for around $15 each as It went up since the last time I checked. I shouldn't have checked and just left it there as it would be $28,270 today. Its just part of the unknown, either make some profit and get out or lower your risks by diversifiying and holding :)

I actually agree. Ha ha, that's probably hard to think about..

Yeah was for a while after I didn't have any money. But it kind of helps if your into playing poker. Hands 9/10 you'd choose the right decision even if that one time it would have paid off. Right now I like where Steem might go and I want to back it :) Even if it doesn't I think it is a much better social network over Reddit + facebook. We'll see where it goes but I definately want that hat :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58320.47
ETH 2367.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45