Ledger Nano S SOLD OUT! (everywhere)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

ledger-nano-s-fold-large.png

So I finally decided to buy a Ledger Nano S since my BTC and ETH holdings are getting pretty substantial. I need to get them of the exchanges and on to a COLD WALLET. The problem is that it is SOLD OUT EVERYWHERE!

The only places I can currently get it is on Amazon for around 300$, and Ebay from private sellers for 250-300$ which is absolutely insane! This product usually has a price tag of about 60-70$. I guess the shops who still have them available is just taking advantage of the situation.

On Ledgers official website it says that the next batch of Nano S will be shipped around the 4th of September. This is in two months. I feel really unsafe leaving my crypto investments on the exchanges for that long before finally getting them offline.

Any suggestions on where I can still get a Ledger Nano S? Or any other suggestions on what to do?

Thanks in advance!

Sort:  

Heres a cool video on what happens

follow me @shifty0g

Personally I think the next best thing to hardware wallet where the private keys are going to be in your physical possession is probably a paper wallet however I'd suggest doing some HARDCORE research on how to do it in the most SECURE way possible.

With having to trust a third party, your fate will always be in someone else's hands.

I agree, and paper wallets are probably a good way to go, it's just sad that the entire globe is sold out when it comes to Ledger Nano S. Which in my eyes is the perfect way to store all my coins. They even have native support for Ethereum, Litecoin, Ripple and Stratis which I all hold.

Quiero una! la forma mas segura de tener tu monedas!

Excuse me, what?

liked and followed :)

best hope you have now is to move it to Exodus ,buy a wallet and wait.

Do you think Exodus is safer than, say Coinbase?

What I am doing is just to keep in paper wallet at this time...

Do you make several paper wallets and spread out your holdings on different ones or do you keep all of your bitcoin on one wallet?

And what about Ethereum. Is the process of making a wallet for Ethereum the same as for Bitcoin?

Just one wallet because I don't have many, but printed out several same papers kept diferent places.
printed MEW too.

Okay that is a good idea, as long as nobody finds one of your copies and drain your entire private address of bitcoins... Thats one of the biggest risks I guess. And what is MEW?

Myetherwallet

Thank you. But that is online right? Or can you use it to make a paper wallet offline?

I wrote a post about Ledger myself because I had a chat with the co-founder and he told me some pretty interesting things. They are having a huge increase in orders. It's absolutely incredible. Here's the post: https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@valderrama/ledger-increases-production-to-deliver-over-one-million-units-this-year

Thank man, thats interesting!

Go with MyEthereumWallet and store the UTC in a pen drive and as only option to log in so you are all fine... but doesn't work with BTC.

Thats a good idea, thanks

I'd recommend moving your coins to a paper wallet until the hardware wallet arrives. Your right to be concerned about leaving coins on the exchange.

Yeah I thought about a paperwallet. Its safe, but a little fickly to make...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59370.83
ETH 2591.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46