If you can not hold your liquor then you should not drink.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Now who panicked again?

China might be the secret code word for: dump all cryptos.

Darn, bought too soon.

When it is all in the red, means there is a sale going on. That were some wise words of Heidi Travels a while back when the cryptocurrency market had a major panic sell drop. To put it in other words: Buy The Fogging Dip {BTFD}! And that is what I did, unfortunately I did it too soon. So when the market goes back up again, I will have less gain than would have been possible. But it is hard to exactly know where the cryptos market is going. If I really knew that I would already be a multi-billionair. And so far I am not even close. Well, I am a multi-millionair, but that is in SLOTHcoin. Guess that does not really put any weight in. Yet, stranger things have happened, right? But, do not mention China, or bad things will happen...

By the way, I lost about 14% of my crypto portfolio value overnight, so I am too licking my wounds on this one. So, Chinese government caused FUD {Fear, Uncertanty and Doubt}, again, causing panic on the crypto currency market!? In a way that could be seen as ironic. This time the rumour is about the Chinese government and regulating ICOs {Initial Coin Offering}. Now, first of all what is there to be expected from a collectivist government like that of China? Come on now, they are supposed to govern, it is their job to do so. And many ICOs are really malafide, plain rip offs, scams, piramide schemes, what ever you would like to call them. This happened with the crypto coins too. When it was easy to just create another fork. Premine a lot, or ninja mine the most within a few blocks. So, do not believe the ICO hype anyway, cause it is yet another 'get-rich-quick' sequal!

Self governing, the solution.

Yes, it is weird to expect a collectivist state government system not to try and regulate every aspect of human life. It would be strange to expect the banks to let go of their monopoly on money. Nothing new there really, so the panic that hit the cryptocurrency market again is almost something like: If you can not stand the heat then stay out off the kitchen. Luckily there are those within the cryptos realm who already have come up with a solution: self governing. Set up a list of agreements about what makes an ICO bonafide and publish the ones that applied and got certified. If an ICO or ITO {Intial Token Offering} got through the selection then it can be considered safe. If it is not on the list? Well then it might be a good idea to handle it with a lot of care. Cause where ever there is money to be made there will be scams. It is just common sense, but self governing might still be a good thing to do. Bitcoin, Litecoin, Dogecoin and Zcash are on a clean tokenlist innitiative. And you might be happy to know Bitshares and Steem are too.

And also publish the doubtfull ones or the straight blunt scams. Now what could be more usefull to do so than a blockchain publishing platform like Steem? And maybe it is possible to find ways to decentralize fundraising, although that might even be me trying to kick in an open door. Where rulers are set aside as a thing from that past, that does not mean there are no rules or agreements anymore. It will become a situation of taking self-responsibillity and setup of an alternative system of self-governing. It has been mistaken before that the outcasting of rulers, because they became corrupt self-enriching war-mongering oppressors, to name just a few minor reasons, means the same as no rules. But that would just mean chaos and soon that will lead to a new order, which will be just as fascistic as any bundle of rulers are controlling now. So, self-regulating is needed, it is part of the proces. Just like the Open Source Community needed to create their own licences.

In the meantime HODL...

Innitiatives like TXSRB dot org are a healty first step. Also to make a clear statement that voluntary objectives are different from acting like fashion 'punks' by means of creating chaos, so a call for a new (fascist) order can be heard and fullfilled. With an alternative system comes a different mindset. It will take a while for that one to sink in. And for the time being the current self-acclaimed rulers will do what they always have done, try to stay in control, by all means. Thus, instead of panic selling because some collectivist state calls out for yet another way to suppres humanity, it is better to stay ahead of this and self-regulate, from a voluntary objectives mindset point of view. Rulers never could be defeated on their own territory, where they made up the rules to support them. The solution lies in offering a preferable alternative that slowly evolves in a peacefull manor.

And in the meanwhile after the dust settles things will pick up on the cryptocurrency market. Where I expect it to go up at a ceiling of 150 billion and stay about there for a while. Going for 200 billion next. But remember, only to invest in cryptos what you are willing and able to lose. Also your speculation might be as bad or as good as mine. Recently I bought some Bitcoin and zCash, too soon but I did because of BTFD {Buy The Fogging Dip} and I know that when ever there is a huge dip, there will be a massive buy again in the week to follow. Therefore, I just sit back, relax and HODL my portfolio. As the cryptos market will move up again. Even my EOS I keep safe, because that actually is an ICO/ ITO that I am convinced will deliver a good product. As it is ahead of its targets in developement.

Decentralize everything, that to me is the blockchain future.

Have a great one!


It is a sequal, yet another one...

image cc-by-sa @oaldamster

Sort:  

I like the dip, i'm thinking about buying some EOS this week. Btw is it just as simple as buying some ETH (to my own wallet) and sending it to the stated address??? (I have never done this before, thanks!)

Btw, do you have any experience with giving a paper wallet as a birthdaypresent to someone that you're not sure about will like it or not...?

Dips are a nice time to buy, most of the time, except when another dip comes after that and another after that. :-) But it will go back up again too.

Buying EOS through the website can be a kind of a demanding task that needs some patience. This I used in combination with the MetaMask browser Ethereum browser wallet. Mainly so I could get hold of the private keys so I can claim my EOS on that blockchain when it gets released.

First install the MetaMask browser extention and then follow the step-by-step instructions. Also make sure you store the private and public keys! Print them and back them up.

Paper wallet present.

No experience giving it as a birthday present. Think it would be good to know if that person was at least interested in cryptos and willing to use a wallet like Jaxx or Coinomi that can swipe a Paper Wallet in.

Guess if somebody is kind of progressive minded and you could help them with getting it in their own wallet, that could work as a present. And remind them to back up the recovery phrase in the proces. ;-)

Think a Paper Wallet is a great idea for a present, but I do not think everbody is just ready for it.

I was away for the weekend, and only found out on Monday BTC mooned (while my Alts suffered because of that) and then the drop of BTC and my Alts suffered again from that. Interestingly, NEO went down so much, I decided to buy extra. Since then NEO went further down and now at a level, I purchased the last lot. Yep, it is super difficult to determine when the bottom is reached and when the tops are reached. I changed from day trading to more mid term trader and maybe you can also call it investor. This causes less gains from the ups, since day trading gave me 20% on breakout profit, now I may get the 20% but since I do not sell, I loose it as well. But I spend much less time behind the screens. To be honest, day trading went really well, but since this summer my BTC values of Alt coins is still half. Ok, the $ value is 20% lower than my maximum, but still losses everywhere. When picking up day trading again, I need to change some of my rules, one of them was "do not sell on market going down", but that gave me loses up to 75% of my peak, in BTC, luckily picked up again a bit, but still.

Hard to predict, there is a risk. So far I went good on BTC, LTC and zCash for a short while.

Still looks like things are going more upwards on long term. Difficult to see where the Alts are going. But it the total cryptos market grows the most well known ones should be able to gain quite well in value.

Oh man!! What a panic it was and is. That is one of the things that allows me most about crypto and mostly I love it, that people who own coins are spooked so readily. Oh no, someone in China farted quick sell all we have. Ooh look a new ICO, go all in. It is an unnecessary volatility.

Then again if they just stayed the same it would be boring!

...Oh no, someone in China farted quick sell all we have...

Hahaha, yes, exactly that. Imagine what would happen if somebody in China let a wet fart escape...

Never a dull moment in cryptos. :-)

Oh no, not a wet one. The entire crytosphere would crash!!! :0D

PANIC!!!!! Push the Panic button and lets all freak out!
I did not buy nor sell, nor did I have a look on me wallet...
I am not in panic, I am in my what hell and what ever happens happens mode for some reason!
This morning however I though.... Should I open my wallet and cry or smile...
I did not open it.... I am going to stay in me happy bubble!

Don't panic, don't panic...!

Stay in the happy bubble, I just checked my portfolio and it is not over yet.

Overhere I am more annoyed by the weather actually, it is a gloomy tuesday...

(daar komen de schutters)

Hahaha, Jonesy lance corporal 'Dont panic' the village butcher.

The good old days ...

Absolutely, one of my all time favorite classic comedy series. :-)

Mine too, and timeless. Same as Fawlty Towers (pity they never continued).

Ah yes, Fawlty Towers too. :-)
Only two seasons, it is a pitty.

Good post, and good to know a lot of ico's are not trustworthy. I didn't knew that. It takes time to understand the whole cryptomarket, and when you understand it a bit, keep reading is a must. Because the markets keeps changing everyday.

Good day there

Absolutely know on forehand what you are getting into. Knowledge can safe you from a big loss, or get you a nice gain instead. Markets are quite dynamic and they do not get boring easy.

Have a nice day there too.

I thought it would have been pretty obvious to hold and double down in some coins during this dip. I've already made my investment back.

It is not so obvious for most I guess. Congratulations on making your investment back.

Weak hands. I think anyone in the space didn't let fear get the best of them.

One would thinks so... But looking at the numbers and figures, panic did strike hard again.

I'm hoping this will consolidate the money a little, shave off some of the pump/dump projects flooding the market. I took the opportunity to branch out into other altcoins I've been trying to find a floor to get into.

In line with that this might be a good thing. The cryptosmarket took off really fast at a certain point. Happened before and at that time it got leveled out, after quite a steep drop.

Maybe now the flood of the pump-and-dumps will indeed stop.

Currently I am not that into a lot of different cryptos. Have moved out a lot, and settled with a few for the long term.

i love when people sell in panic.....great entry point for my trades....thanks for bringing up such a qualitative content...

Yes, when there is panic on the market, it is time to buy.

Glad to know my writing is appreciated, thanks.

i found each posts of your very valuable....

Thank you, I will do my best to keep that up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94