Buy the fogging dip, like a boss!

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Now that was a close call!

The cryptocurrency market almost really went down to 60 billion...

We're all on the upper hand again.

Now who did PS and who did BTFD LAB? In case one is wondering what it all means? PS stands for Panic Sell, BTFD kind of means something like: Buy The Fogging Dip and LAB stands for: Like A Boss. Now I am not shure about that word fogging, but I think it is close enough, or sounds like. Because I want to easy out on the swearing a bit. Anyway all these terms are kind of financial market related. In line with the recent dip that also hit the cryptocurrency market. Somehow this one almost looked like it was correlated to the traditional financial market. Only recently I wrote about the market dropping all the way down to 60 billion. Now, do I need to remind the cryptos market that I also wrote about the next ceiling of 120 billion? Well, I really whished it worked like that. Although it seems it did hit the lowest dip so far this year.

Well, I did buy some more Litecoin, not even at the lowest possible drop. My expectation was that the steep downtrend would have stopped somewhere at 68. And I thought to myself: "Man, I just cannot seem to catch a break!" Well, the break is over anyway. Today the carpenter will be here to repair some front door framework and after that it is one last paintjob for me. That is for the time being, because with a home of your own, there is always something that needs to be done. Anyway, the cryptos market plummeted around 48% over a short amount of time. That is were those who own cryptos state things like: "I am in it for the long term...", but really I am, no kidding, hahaha. But it is important to stay calm when this kind of collapses happen, at least that I have been told. That is why I focussed on different things.

It is all too easy to get dragged into the panic sell {PS} that is humming at first and then starts to become like loud screaming: "SELL, SELL, SELL!" It could almost be heard outside. While it is also a time where the Fear Of Missing Out {FOMO} gets triggered, because when there was a high, and there has been some big selling going on, when is the time to buy back? Because it is like walking through a shopping mall, everywhere it says: "SALE!" in red. Buy now with 30% of, or when it really hits the fan: 70% off! Now that last one would be a real cheap buy, but would it be any worth? When it passes a drop of 30% that would be a call for Buy The Fogging Dip {BTFD}! At least, that is what I have come to understand lately. And the signs? Well, it all starts with a flood of _FUD _and that is the one where it stands for Fear, Uncertainty and Doubt. It is almost like a countdown, the more FUD is spread in a faster pace, the bigger the bubble gets inflated, the closer the PS {Panic Sell} becomes.

Towards the 120 billion ceiling.

That is the next big ceiling for the cryptocurrency market that I expect around the end of october 2017. In slow steps, first topwards 85, then next 97 as the next ceiling for a while. Much has to do, as far as I can see, with the flood of Inititial Coin Offerings {ICO} and Initial Token Offerings {ITO}. Where I first made a Freudian typo writing 'Con' instead of 'Coin'. But it is inherent with the digital goldrush that is cryptos, it also attracts golddiggers of all sorts and kinds. The bad ones will get flushed out after a while, right into the wastelands of the con jobs. While the capital the flows out off all these golddigger ICO/ITO releases will flow back into the meaningfull crypto projects. Where my bet is still on the EOS project, this one is going somewhere. Currently the market is moving up fast, already past 71 billion, it would be nice if it got to the next temporary ceiling of 85, that I expect.

Part of the uncertainty in the cryptos market is caused by Bitcoin. And this effects the price of all other cryptos, Steem included. Therefore I would be very okay with Litecoin taking over the number 1 position, while the Bitcoin realm should get things sorted. Yet, I think that if SegWit is held back by a majority of mining farms, then this could end up in a disaster for their own investement. Because while they can not seem to get consensus on SegWit, Litecoin already did, just like Vertcoin and Digibyte. And there are suggestions that the Lightning network will be announced by the Litecoin developement team on august the first 2017. If that is indeed the big tech news Litecoin is about to release, then Bitcoin will get behind even more. While BTC could get dumped in favor of Litecoin. With LTC becoming the new cryptos gold. There have been a lot of warnings towards the group of conservative minings pools that if they keep up the fight like dogs over a bone another crypto might get away with it. And my speculation is that the one getting diner is: Litecoin.

Steem still for 12?

That still stands for me, a market price for Steem of 12 US$. There needs to be some trust regained in the crypto currency market as a whole though. My speculation is that Steem can only get to the 12 USD if the total market cap gets to the 120 billion ceiling. And the flood of golddigging ICO/ITO releases have been flushed down the drain. Bitcoin getting SegWit and if not Litecoin taking over the number one position. Both would work. And I expect Litecoin go up towards 100 USD, at least, any way, because of their tech news that they will release on august the first. Enough excitment to come that will gain even more attraction to the cryptos realm. Good for Steem too, because it is still the one Social Media Platform on a blockchain, that actually works! And I wrote it before, but my bet is on the Steem Community Tokens, this would get things really pumping, market wise...

And finally, a reminder, like always, only invest in cryptos what you are willing and able to lose. And your speculation might just be as bad of as good as mine.

Time to get to get back to the woodwork one last time, for the time being, sand papering and then add the final layer of paint. Back on Steem and Steem on!


Buy The Fogging Dip, Like A Boss!

image cc-by-sa @oaldamster

Sort:  

I will resuming buying in small bites shortly, just in case we visit .3/.5 - if this happens the buys will arrive in force I guess!

I hope for all and for myself that steem will go in a right direction! cryptocurrency based on socialmedia - that is a lot of potencial and must be a Success!

oaldamster I realy like your content, a lot of good infos
@kam.ila

Thank you @kam.ila,
Glad you like my content.
Steem does indeed have a lot of potential, it is already great and will be a big succes. Hard to belief it will not. But I am a bit biased. ;-)

Steem on to 12 USD value!

Hello @oaldamster I've written an article about you check it out if you can thanks.

30 Best Steemians Of The Day To Follow 19th July 2017

https://steemit.com/funny/@jzeek/30-best-steemians-of-the-day-to-follow-19th-july-2017

Thank you very much, I feel flattered! :-)

Think we had the biggest #dip so far. But that is speculation. Most of the time it will go down at least some after a new great climb up. Bought LTC too early I guess, yet it will go up again. Just like Steem. :-)

I think the yearly cycle is easier to follow, could be a year or two until the low at BTC. The next bull run will be a cracker though!

Somehow I still believe that we have not seen anything yet.
The first trillion all time high still is far ahead. ;-)

And I agree the next one will be a big one! (For me the ceiling of 120 billion would be like that, but I think it will even go far beyond that.)

Still will be some big things to come, I think. Do not know whether we get back to very low values though. Lowest of Steem was .77 and it is now close to 1.0 again. It has been quite a severe drop. Maybe it is better if the market slowly regains strength.

What I do expect are some capital shifts out off a bunch of golddigging cryptos (including some ICOs/ITOs that fit the bill) and towards more top performing/ well known ones.

Partly that is also my hope...

I bought some last saturday @ 0.95USD, guess I was to early to...
This however lowered my cost average to 1.24 (so still 20% in the red😅)

It is very difficult to forsee. ;-)

Hope the price will go up again over time!

If it doesnt, I could buy me some more!

Maybe there will be an opportunity again...

Hey @oaldamster good article. Beginning of august feels a bit like D-day for Bitcoin. I think all will be fine and price will go up from there, but until then people are hesitant to hodl the bitties.

Thanks @vipete, it seems many found it hard to #hodl their cryptos lately.

Guess the upcoming weeks are going to be crucial for all things crypto. Hopefully wisdom will win in the Bitcoin realm.

I am still waiting for after the 21, my bet is still that ETH will get the money out of Bitcoin.

To be really honest, I do hope the Bitcoin realm is able to keep one unique blockchain going after the 21st of july 2017.

I do hope but I haven't seen enough guaranty. Let's wait and see.

Indeed, only time will tell.

I'm mining LTC and ETH. Should I keep my LTC/ETH or convert them to something else?

As I see it currently the market is gaining trust again. #ETH and #LTC are moving back in the green quite well. The only thing I can state to you is that I would keep them. But it is your call.

If I really could efficiently mine with a profit for both, I would keep doing that too. Still, that is from my point of view.

After all it is speculation.

Good luck mining!

I did it! I made my first steps into owning coins as well! :D
I am not 100% if I bought at the right time, or the lowest but I did start buying some coins. Stratis, Steem, Waves and bitcoin. :D
Now we sit and wait lmao...
I am going for the long term but I hope to be starting some quick buy and sell soon as well.
I don't know all the terms so I just use my own words but I think you know what I mean!
I am buying like a pro! hahhaha

Oh yeah, Like A Boss! ;-)

Long term I do have most. Not that good at short term trading myself, do not have the patience for it. Maybe you'll discover another talent for yourself.

Think were the market dropped to high in the 60 billion was the most ideal time to buy. But I was a few billion behind that, hahaha.

Congratulations on your buys, have fun trading!
And keep us posted.

I hope for Steemit 12$ as you showed in your Prognose.
😊🤝

Oh, I am still going for that one! Who cares for the moon, just let Steem go to 12$... ;-)

the bleeding not over yet need wait a bit
now its a trap
yesterday good day to buy ,now wait will go down again

Thanks for sharing your insights, will wait a bit.
Hope not as deep as 60 again though...

i buy alllot ,antshares,steem,digibyte,eos,iota,bat,,,,,,

That is quite a lot of different ones...!

I bought some on the fogging dip. It's a scary thing though isn't it. You fewer that you will buy some when it still had a way down to go!!

Great post dude!

Thanks mate!

Did not buy at the lowest of the #fogging dip, but got close this time... (What is a few billion more or less, right?)

Indeed that fear, when is the right time to buy...? Still, am happy so far, even though it looked like panic struck real hard this time...

It did, looks like it is turning today but could be the Monday false alarm before it starts sinking again!! It's like reverse FOMO when you try to catch the bottom!

Sun it out here, blue sky, nice temperature, it does influence my thinking a bit, have to admit. ;-)
So no monday reds in my mind, but it has happened before.

Never really managed to get the right time, it is kind of the opposite yes, how far will it drop, when do I get in to get a max gain... Oh nooo, I do not want to think about that.

Almost time to start painting, that will get my mind of it for a while...

That will take your mind off it. The sun is due to come out here at one o'clock. I am looking forward to it!!

Enjoy the suntime mate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51