How I learned to stop worrying and love the Bitcoin

Disclaimer: This post is just to brush up on my writing. This story will most likely bore you.

I once read an article in Newsweek about this mysterious virtual currency, being accepted in local drinking pubs and pizza parlours. Created by an even mysterious person or group of people. It sounded so cool. You can can use it as a virtual currency to anyone who would accept it, and even more so, you could purchase illicit goods and services off the deep web. I read more bad things about it on the news. I browsed through the Silk Road, just for kicks.

Looked it up on google, and saw it costs a little over $600 a coin. Looked it up a few weeks later, and it shot up to $1,000 per coin. I thought to myself, this is just a little bit too volatile for my tastes. And then, I would continue on, with my daily life again. A year later, I came across an article on the Mt Gox collapse.

Cut to 2017, after watching a documentary, on Bitcoin, (featuring our favourite Bitcoin Jesus turned Judas, Roger Ver), I found myself fixated on the idea of taking the politics out of currency. I was Inspired by the libertarian currency of the people, and how we the people can now have a chance to take money back from the eevil banksters who rule the world. I finally took the plunge and buying my first few fractions of a Bitcoin in August, for fiat, was exciting, to say the least. I also got real lucky, as this was right before the massive bull run leading up to the end of 2017.

I thought to myself, wow. This is like a collective pool of funds. A global pension or an insurance fund too big to fail. And so I hodl'ed, like the good old Bitcoin maximal-ist that i was at the time. I found myself reading up on crypto-currencies for hours on end, everyday. Looking at charts and watching youtubers, as if it were a spectator sport. I must admit, I quite dislike sports, but this, this I could I understand. Buying it for the first time was exciting. And the first time moving a substantial amount of funds around, was quite nerve-wracking. The segwit2x came and went. Another few forks, came and went. Towards the end of the year, I started dabbling in alt-coins, and somehow, I've gotten a little bit disillusioned what with all these ICO's and alt-coins coming out every other month. It started to feel like all I was doing was betting on a horse, at the races.

But the liberator that is Bitcoin, in the guise of a crash, has re-aligned my perception again. Hopefully, I won't again, lose sight on what we stand to achieve with Bitcoin.

Long live the blockchain!

Sort:  

WHETHER YOU ARE RISING OR RESTING - #01

I've elected to deliver a special package of POSITIVE VIBES just for YOU, valid for the next 24 hours !!!

So, If you are off to bed, rest well and deeply! OR,

tenor (52).gif

If you starting a new day,

tenor (3).gif

Steem Onward and Upward!

Please Note: I am delaying up-votes. For further details use this link. Up-votes will resume timeously for this post.

Comments and Upvotes welcome! If you are NOT on my list to receive "WHETHER YOU RISING OR RESTING..." and you wish to be, please follow me and request to be included in the reply section.

Source: Tenor Gifs

I'M CELEBRATING 300 FOLLOWERS

download.png

Come Check Out Some of my Cool Posts:
A Cool Morning Gratitude Session
Apologies For Slow Up-Voting

FOLLOW * UPVOTE * RESTEEM * REPLY * WELOME!!

Source: Picture300

Congratulations @messiahhh667! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @messiahhh667! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56963.59
ETH 2355.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38