Societies and The Token Economy with Naval Ravikant

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

A bit of a whale circlejerk, but I really enjoyed this recent talk by angel investor Naval Ravikant. Great overall view of the playing field and highly recommended. It's true that just about everything in the human experience is made up of stories and are part of networks. Money is a story, a network. The same goes for religion, nation states, and the digital platforms that we use. So for better or worse, cryptocurrencies (or networks and stories with strong capital incentives) will definitely bring huge changes in societies around the world. It's also a fundamentally new way of organising humanity, away from old-world constructs that are based on violence.

One book he brought up during the talk is The Sovereign Individual: Mastering the Transition to the Information Age, which is something that I'd recommend too. Also, Naval mentioned that he wants to see a decentralised social media platform. Hello? Steemit is up and running for more than a year already.

The host of the talk is Ryan Shea, co-founder of Blockstack, which is something pretty similar to the BlockSurf: Your Gateway Into The New World Economy idea. Difficult to pull off, since it would take a lot to bootstrap a hub or discovery app without leveraging off a frequently used blockchain-related platform like Steemit.

Dug a little deeper into some of Naval Ravikant's older videos and I have to say, I'm now quite convinced that I should embrace my new path of being an investor rather than mixing it up with being an entrepreneur. Been in both positions since last year, and it has definitely generated some conflicts within myself. Investors and entrepreneurs really do require vastly different modes of operation. I shall write about this soon. To conclude this post, here's one of my favourite tweets from the man himself about the heuristics of investing:-


Thanks for reading and be sure to check the videos out!


You can follow Naval Ravikant's twitter at https://twitter.com/naval

Sort:  

Great post! I am new to steemit and always enjoy gaining more valuable insight into the crypto world! Thanks for sharing!

And welcome to Steemit! I see you haven't made your first post. Here's an ice-breaker: what are your tokens of choice? :)

Hi @kevinwong. I am planning on doing an #introduceyourself post soon! My tokens of choice are ripple, factom, and monero, wbu? And of course, steemit to the moon!

Steem, TaaS, BCAP, and CFI :D Funny I've got none of your top picks at the moment. Should probably get into FCT again..

I have been following CFI and Lisk closely as well. Great connecting with you, I am looking forward to reading more of your content and furthering my understanding of the crypto world!

Pretty excited and looking forward to see how CFI would scale and decentralise the operations on a standalone platform down the road!

Dylan I am following you please follow back please

Very cool interview and I really likes the way he talks, he is very pedagogical! I likes how he points out that block chain is revolutionary because it solves the problem of governance, it is not necessarily the one with the biggest stick in charge, the power is out back in the hands of the people. Definitely worth watching - Thanks for sharing !

It is revolutionary :) . Here's a document released for the WEF a couple of months ago - http://www3.weforum.org/docs/WEF_Realizing_Potential_Blockchain.pdf

Thanks man! I will definitely check it out!

@kevinwong excellent point about the difference in being a good investor vs entreprenuer. It really has me thinking about what goals and aspirations I have in both areas.

Also, "whale circle jerk" was a super funny phrase.

As a new member in on SteemIt, I truly enjoyed this post. I love the analogy regarding religion and money being a story of their own. It seems as if we've just started the story of the mysterious, up and coming cryptocurrency!

Hmm did you and @dylanjacobson (comment above) come from the same group? Just taking notice of the similar profile pics :). What are your favourite coins? Thanks for dropping by!

My good buddy @dylanjacobson has actually introduced me to the steem world! The similar pictures come from composite pictures from the fraternity we're in. I've taken a look into Lisk, Stratus, NEM, and EOS but always looking to expand my Blockfolio and learn more and more as the days pass.

Great, get more buddies in! Invested in other stuff before this? I've a feeling that cryptos are turning everybody into investors, small and large. Good coins there, and pretty sure they'll all do well and hopefully be able to sustain their network value.

Be an Entrepreneur to make cash flow... then be an investor to become wealthy :)

Be both and ruin all the free time lol

this is cool. will chase after the book too The Sovereign Individual: Mastering the Transition to the Information Age

Naval's a genius. I've followed him on Twitter for a few months now, and I've got to say he is very good at retaining his objectivity (which is a massive symptom of competence and wisdom).

It's nice to see people who can appreciate all the changes happening in the world.

A very good post. I like the video you post because it is very useful for me. Being an investor and an entrepreneur is very difficult only great people who can run these two things. Thank you for sharing knowledge

Fantastic post with a lot of information, and why we need to stay up to date. The world is going to be changing faster and faster for sure, and we need smart people to keep us informed. The big question, is who do you follow the most?

If it's about beating the market.. then follow the money ;) lol

follow the people who move the money,then learn to think faster than they do.

Great video @kevinwong I first got to know about Raval when I came across his 36 tweets that nailed how blockchain could change humanity. Went through the whole video and I like the clarity of thought that he has. Its funny, as he rightly points out, how greed will drive the adoption of blockchain which will decentralise and democratize(with meritocracy) most of the things that we know today. I had heard somewhere that "Greed is Good", I think in this case it really is.

Thanks for the share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99