Thai Food and Bitcoin. Noice! What are your favorite coins, and how do you introduce friends to crypto?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Met up with a friend tonight here in the city. We caught up with each other and I had the best green curry I've had in my life.

IMG_4135.JPG

With more and more people getting into cryptocurrency, it's always fun to talk with friends who are into seeing what it's all about.

My friend Kevin is an entrepreneur, and so understanding this type of stuff comes pretty naturally. We ended up talking Bitcoin a bit towards the end of the meal.

IMG_4140.JPG

Speaking of which, the green curry at this place Kevin recommended was fucking out of this world. I just wish the portion size had been a bit bigger!

IMG_4141.JPG

What coins do you guys favor? Do you preach the crypto "gospel" to family and friends? If so, how do they react?


~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

I always fun getting a nube involved

I only tell each of my friends and family members once about bitcoin. If they are interested they will come. I used to try to talk sense to them in 2012 but well... nobody wants to be treated like scammer so I quickly abondend the idea.
People still react strangely to bitcoin today. Well let me rephrase that. People are still stupid. But they envy my gains so... I win 😆

Edit: My coin picks:

  • Bitcoin because it's the daddy of my cryptolife
  • Dash because it's super fast and anonymous by default
  • Litecoin because I just like the idea of Btc=Gold LTC= Silver

Litecoin because I just like the idea of Btc=Gold LTC= Silver

Same here!

And yes, they are stupid! :)

I also love to chat about crypto currency

I do try to preach Crypto in my surrounding, not always successful at it. I noticed high schoolers are more receptive and intrigued by it. My personal favorites: Golem (GNT), Steem and of course the unstoppable Bitcoin. :)

Funny how youth is generally more open to new ideas, huh. I love old people who still have the "zen mind, beginner's mind," all the more because of that. Thanks for letting me know about your favorite coins!

I try to invest in coins that have a 'real' use, such as Ethereum, Steem, LBRY, BAT, etc. The fact that you can use them for something other than storing your wealth gives it some extra value and people will have more faith in those coins.

I managed to convince one person to join Steemit so far. I just told him I made $200 extra in one month just by being on social media, something that I'd do anyway. My friend saw the value in it and immediately joined :) He's also looking to diversify his portfolio now that he's already made more Steem than me haha!

Hey, don't feel too bad, I brought a friend on here as well and he's blown me away in many respects. All relative. Interested in checking out LBRY and BAT. Thanks!

Oh I'm really glad for him! He is a great artists and Steemit has provided him with a very nice community. If you're interested in art, check out his profile: @benja

nice post @kafkanarchy84, well i prefer btc and steem, i love these two coins and both of these have brighter future more and more peoples are coming in to btc and steem and more and more wallets and accounts created everyday so means more peoples are willing to buy them. i personally see 8k btc and atleast 2$ steem soon. thanks for sharing

Man, that would be great! I certainly hope so!

I am only in three coins at the moment, Dash, Monero and Factom. All were very undervalued a couple of weeks ago but all have had strong increases so they are less undervalued now. I think they are still worth a lot more due to their technology but I don't think they are undervalued much compared to the current market environment. Ark is one I am looking at because it has strong fundamentals and the price I think is a bit low compared to the rest of the crypto space. Price should not be the key thing unless you are a day trader (which I am not).

Yeah, I'm not a day trader, either. More in it for the long game, myself. I've never heard of Ark, but it sounds interesting. I'll have to check it out. Thanks.

i love green curry and am focused on bitcoin, cause i got into this to buy bitcoin and it has never let me down --the others look like they are good for a small portion of total portfolio -- steem is down today and looks like a good buy

My fav RIPPLE!!!

I try to preach the crypto world to everyone I know since I got involved into it myself, however most wave it off rather quickly... Would be nice to have some RL people who actually saw the same future as I do. But then again I have Steemit ;)
My main holders are still Steem, Bitshares and EOS!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49