Wish Me Luck | First Time Mining CrypoCurrencies | Total Noob

So I have a mid range I guess gaming PC. It has an Intel i5 3570 with 12 GB ram and a GTX 1060. It was actually a HP desktop that I got off of Ebay that luckily had a 400 watt power supply. I paid the low low price of $119 shipped to my house. That included everything but the GTX 1060. I know its nothing fancy but I was recently laid off at the time of purchase and I was very thankful to get it for that price.

PC2.jpg

Well as luck would have it I was in the market last year on black Friday for a GFX card and I got this card for $160 dollars shipped to the house. It is a Zotac Mini which fit perfectly in my pre built case.

GTX1060-1.jpg

Well of course I was happy to have my "gaming PC". I had a big backlog of PC games that my old PC was in capable of playing anymore. So I got to work playing my games since I had all the time in the world. Well if only I had known then what I know now. I would have built a couple of these and started mining with them instead playing games.

Any ways fast forward to about a week ago when I started researching cryptocurrencies to get into. Well I found Steemit and I really enjoy it here. But I have been wondering about this mining business. So I started watching videos a couple of nights ago and found out this graphics card I have is decent at mining. So I found this video tonight by "We Do Tech" on YouTube and got to work following the instructions. Setting up all the wallets and stuff.

If you are needing a little help this video can really help you out. So anyways started up the dual miner software after configuring the file to direct the ETH to my wallet, and I'm getting 17-19 MHs without changing any setting or overclocking the card. It is running a little hot though I think. Probably because of the computer case I'm using has limited air flow.

mining1.png

Thank you guys for reading and wish me luck on my journey. I will monitor power usage and make sure I'm not spending more than I'm making. I will have fun with this and I will let you guys know how it progresses. If you have any helpful tips or concerns please comment below.

Check out my past posts below.
ColorChallenge Friday Blue | My Trip To Vegas And Then To Cali PT.2:
https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@joeyknowsbest/colorchallenge-friday-blue-or-where-land-and-sky-meet-or-my-trip-to-vegas-and-then-to-cali-pt-2
Frog Eat Snake Fight Cat Day:
https://steemit.com/life/@joeyknowsbest/so-there-i-was-on-facebook-or-frog-eat-snake-fight-cat-kind-of-day-or-pepe-chronicles
Steemit We Have To Talk:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@joeyknowsbest/steemit-we-have-to-talk-or-very-serious

Sort:  

Good luck to you! And keep us informed.

Thank you very much and I will try. Just gonna let it run for some days and see what happens. I might over clock if I can get the temp down. Unsure what is safe with this card yet.

Hello, i wish you all success in cryptomining. Upvoted your article. I wrote yesterday article about mining with MinerGate https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@cryptomonitor/cryptomonitor-explains-web-and-desktop-mining-with-minergate-guide it might help you allot in mining.

I will check it out more thorough tomorrow. Thank you for the suggestion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54787.37
ETH 2302.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35