$20,000 Stolen from Bittrex (7btc) Captured live is Fake.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

It Appears the Video Could Have Been Staged!

I Just Got Taken for .11 BTC!!

Even though the video appears to be a fake my warnings about 3rd party exchanges are real. Please do not leave more than you can afford to lose on any exchange. This is a great education for the whole community.

Tips to Protect Your Crypto Currency.

  1. Do not leave your crypto currencies on exchanges if you are not actively trading.
  2. Use a phone dedicated to 2FA (2 Factor Authentication). Do not use email 2FA.
  3. Use an external hardware wallet like Ledger to store your Crypto Currencies.

Be Careful Who You Trust. This Was My Donation. My Cost for Not Doing Research

crypto-is-key-bitcoin-donation.png

Sort:  

RandyHilarski Randy Hilarski tweeted @ 23 Jun 2017 - 02:18 UTC

$20,000 Stolen from #Bittrex (7btc) Captured live! @CryptoIsKey
#Bitcoin #CryptoCurrency 😡😡😡

steemit.com/cryptocurrency… / https://t.co/FtPc5Kpl4Y

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

This is horrible, the post really gives me a warning in handling the cryptocurrencies. Anyway I've started to think that internet is in fact the most dangerous, and the safest methods are actually the ones with lowest level of technology. More inclined to use paper wallet instead. Thanks for the post! Great one.

Wow, he took all the precautions with his Exchange account and still it got compromised:

  1. 2FA
  2. Strong Password
  3. Login notification from new browser

I guess the only real precaution left is to transfer coins to the exchange only when you want to trade them.

What do you think about openledger exchange Randy?

Thanks.

Damn! More reason not to keep your crypto on exchanges, folks! Hardware wallet or cold storage wherever possible!

Wow . . . that was heartbreaking to see. You could tell he was visibly shaken by what was happening. Just horrible . . . and to actually see it real time . . . man . . thankfully he was able to move some of his funds before those thieves got all of it. I don't know what else to say . . . just horrible man. You're a true hero for giving the earnings from this post to him.

Posts like this combat the negative stereotype that emerged because of heartless thieving bastards like the ones that took this guys hard earned money . . .

Wow as much as I trade most of my holdings are on Paper wallets

I have been warning and warning and warning about this. I have been wondering why nobody was taking this seriously. In previous posts I had explained how my Poloniex account was taken hold of. I was also warning that if Wells Fargo employees aren't trustworthy, then why should Bittrex or Poloniex employees be trustworthy?
People think it's not going to happen to them. Please review my post and comment, thank you. https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@lucky.digger/scams-continue-to-trick-victims-is-your-steemit-com-account-safe

Certainly Polo is in trouble and people shouldn't be using it at the moment. I guess this is just another reminder that when $$ is involved, everyone needs to be super vigilant. Ensuring the security of cryptos is much different than ensuring the security of paper fiat.

Hi @hilarski thanks for your public service announcement. For your 3rd tip, when you use an external wallet, would that serve as a back-up, or would that be the sole storage location of your cryptocurrency assets?

That is the main wallet but you can also use Paper wallets as a backup.

I see. Thanks @hilarski. Does it also work on Steem?

That sucks , my husband had $36,000 stolen by mt gox but at todays prices it would be about $90,000

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65566.66
ETH 3559.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48