Ledger Nano S and Blue Now Available for Pre-Order.

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I Highly Recommend You Keep Control of Your Crypto Currency Keys.

We just ordered a Ledger Blue to store our Bitcoin and Altcoins securely offline. I recommend you do the same if you have a significant amount of Crypto Currency. There is an old saying in the Gold and Silver communities, "If you don't hold it, you don't own it". The same is true with Crypto Currencies.

If you have been around this world of Crypto Currencies long enough you will remember the heist at Mt. Gox, Bitfinex and the rumored one with Jaxx wallet this week. Today there is no excuse to suffer such a loss if you keep your Bitcoin and Crypto Currencies offline in a cold storage device like a Trezor or my preferred Ledger Blue or Nano S.

For most people a Ledger Nano S will be sufficient. The pricing on the Ledger website is 58 Euros plus shipping.

Ledger Nano S

Ledger Nano S is a Bitcoin, Ethereum and Altcoins hardware wallet, based on robust safety features for storing cryptographic assets and securing digital payments. It connects to any computer (USB) and embeds a secure OLED display to double-check and confirm each transaction with a single tap on its side buttons.

The Ledger Nano Blue is more robust and has a touch screen. The Price is 229 Euros plus shipping.

Ledger Blue

Ledger Blue is the most advanced hardware security gear on the market. It boasts multi application execution, and packs enterprise-level crypto-capabilities into a lightweight handheld device designed and crafted in France. It is architected around a Secure Element, featuring a touchscreen and USB & Bluetooth* connectivity.

Secure Your Crypto Currencies Offline ASAP.

You have been warned. If you are trading your tokens it is ok to have them on Bittrex, Poloniex or Bitfinex but as soon as you are done trading for the day I recommend you immediately take your Crypto Currencies offline to a Ledger device. I have had friends get hacked for considerable amounts of money I would hate to see you suffer through this as well.

Pre-order your device today. I am not affiliated in any way with Ledger Wallet.

Cover Image Source

Sort:  

Awesome i saw they ledger got pushed back i cant wait to get mine!

It is glad to see those safety wallet. However, I think there are lots of types of cryptocurrency on the market, it will be very expensive if you keep several kinds of altcoin safely. So I hope that maybe next few years, all the altcoin can have a protocol about the storage of altcoin, standardising the strobe method and make the wallet can be used cheaply and also widel:)

I actually prefer the opposite. Having a standardized system makes them all vulnerable to attack.

I know your concern about the hacking issue. And actually there are lots of hacking occurring in altcoin market. Like gatecoin was stolen a few million... Maybe smart tokens is a better solution to solve the efficiency of exchange. So I think the smart token maybe a new way to scale up the altcoin market.

Excellent point. Much like centralized data centers, decentralizing assets is a major win for cryptosecuriy. Just learning about the crypto world. Your page has been very helpful!

I have used the ledger nano s, for the price it is good, but I don't like how you have to enter and exit each wallet.
I use the keepkey which is great because you can view all the accounts at once and even make multiple accounts in any of the supported currencies. One for personal or one for work for example.
I have really been wanting to try the ledger blue, looks very nice!

I have never seen a Keepkey in Action. Sounds very cool.

It is a very nice product. I will be doing a review at some point. I will try to remember to send you the link.

How do you actually put coins on the ledgers and how you get them off?
Do you install a program on you PC to transfer the coin on to it, can you give me a little info on this :)
I'm thinking about buying one now for a few weeks.

nice post though :) keep that good stuff coming

Click on the Ledger videos I embedded and watch all of their videos. They take you through the whole process with each device. You download wallets to the devices to hold your favorite cryptos.

You use a Google Chrome app to connect to your device. Note on Linux you need to run a command on the command line first time, otherwise it doesn't work.

Another great post, thanks!

I've been using the nano s for a while and I really like the way it works; easy to use, intuitive and compact. I wanted to get a keepkey to use in parallel, just to compare the two (and I like the fact that ShapeShift is integrated and that conversions can be made on the device), but they have been out of stock for some time now. I needed another device anyway because the nano s has limited space, so there isn't enough room for all of the wallets that are available. I'm quite keen to get my hands on the ledger blue for many reasons, one being that I use an iPhone and, on the move, the nano s can connect to android but not to iOS thanks to apple's restrictions on lightening port access. The ledger blue gets around that problem with Bluetooth; but does Bluetooth connectivity jeopardise security? I'd love to hear your views on that.

All the best!

I would think it would jeopardize security only if you are in a public place. This also goes for public wifi. If you have hot wallets on your computer you should never use it in public.

Good point!

I should probably pre-order soon otherwise I'm sure they'll sell out quickly like all the others.

Take care!

Very interesting, I think buy a very soon (as soon as I have enough money to store ^^)

just got my Trezors! :)

Honestly it makes you feel like a part of you died when you get hacked
So better you stay safe

Thats a cool wallet, just ordered one.

Congratulations!

Nice one. Got one too.

That is a very nice storage device for cryptos, I have quite a bit on poloniex and Ive been meaning to get them out of there. Thanks for the info and Im following you :)

Please get your Crypto off that exchange.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65809.08
ETH 3604.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54