UPDATE new mining rig

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

UPDATE
IMG_0931.JPGThe new parts for my mining rig were delivered this morning. This is the graphics card I installed to mine with, currently I am getting around 280 Sol/s. If I am mining with both the GTX 1060 and 750ti, I get 350 Sol/s.

IMG_0932.JPG The power supply has been upgraded from 430W to 650W. The modularity of the power supply prevents a cable mess so I can keep my case looking tidy.

The GTX 1060 is mining Zcash with the power limit set on 90%, the GTX 750ti is mining burst coin and my CPU is plotting the new 2TB drive. With all the miners and the plotter running, my rig uses 250 Watts. I think this is reasonable. The mining rig is now running for 12h and I made about 2 euros. I expect that my profits are going to increase but we will see.

Sort:  

Hey there buddy! Nice mining rig you got there. I am curious though. What is "plotting the HD"? I use CPU for mining Hush or UBIQ at the moment and sometimes Hodl because I just love the coin. Good luck with your mining operation! Next time you might also consider adding a picture of the finished rig as well!

Thanks! I am plotting the HDD so I can mine Burstcoin. This is a cryptocoin based on Proof of Capacity. After the HDD is plotted, my CPU searches for solutions in my plots and submits a deadline. Based on this deadline you win a block or not. Good idea, maybe for in a next post ;)

I'm trying to understand all of this stuff now. I live in Ecuador right now and there just might be some valuable used computers I could buy and mine with. I don't know yet.

Anyway- what do you think of the MinerGate miner? I'm running that right now. :)

Do you now what the specs of the used computers are? Try to search for the estimated hashrates of your components and try to calculate your estimated earning. A good website to do this is: https://whattomine.com/

MinerGate is a GUI miner, try to use the console miners because they are more efficient. MinerGate is a good way to start. It was also my first miner but if you get more advanced, you should look for a pool to mine. Maybe try watching some videos on youtube about mining. (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjYHcWGAjUVqU49D2JOKD3w)
Good luck and if you have any questions, just ask them! ;)

If you can return the 1060, change it for a Rx580 8gb... You will get a better mining speed (little more Watt), or get a 1070.

Why? You need a 256bit card for good mining.
However, welcome to the mining club!

I know, I would like to get a RX 580 or 570 but here in Belgium the cards are not available yet. Big miningcompanies are buying all the cards above marketprice. So I'm going to stick with my 1060 for now and maybe buy an extra RX 580 in the future. Thanks for the tip though, I didn't know 256bit cards are better for mining!

1060 and 750? You sure its going to worth it if you take the bills into account?

I did some calculations and profit-simulations and I think it will. I am currently paying 0.225€/kWh. Besides mining with my graphics cards , I also mine on my HDD's (Burstcoin). At the end of the week I am going to look at my earnings and electricity cost. I'll keep you updated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64