Ledger announces Ripple (XRP) support on Nano S and Blue!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

I use a Ledger Nano S and have reviewed the product on this blog in the past. Today I received an email alert from the company with exciting news!


Ledger Adds Ripple

"Ledger announces XRP support on Nano S and Blue

Celebrating the latest major price rally on XRP, and due to high demand, we are excited to announce immediate availability of XRP support of all Nano S and Blue units.

XRP app installation on your Nano S or Blue

To add XRP support on your Ledger hardware wallet, you need to launch the Ledger Manager and install the XRP app on your device (as the maximum number of apps is limited by memory constrainsts, you may have to uninstall first another app). You must make sure that your Nano S has been updated to the latest 1.3.1 firmware.

Ledger Wallet XRP

To manage your XRP wallet, you need to install the Ledger Wallet XRP app (compatible PC/Mac/Linux). It is a new and independant app, only dedicated to this crypto-currency."


Step by step guide


 

If you want to stay up to date on crypto and Fin Tech news follow my blog @digicrypt.

DASH: XgQ9NBonMoCPKhF37agY4W8zk7gwQFnwGV

Litecoin: LfqygtBxy3AJgEpTnTMUYGEoTYEcED8YPZ


Sort:  

(as the maximum number of apps is limited by memory constrainsts, you may have to uninstall first another app)

Do you know these limits? The Nano S is alright, but I have several for risk mitigation purposes, and haven't reached the limits on any of them yet.

You may want to try KeepKey, all of your accounts are managed on a single app and UI. You can also have several accounts in a single currency.
"How many private keys and wallets can be stored on my KeepKey?
KeepKey supports BIP32 wallets, or what are commonly called HD wallets. This allows KeepKey to generate and store an unlimited number of private keys. KeepKey also supports BIP44, which allows for an organization of accounts. KeepKey can support a practically unlimited number of wallets, with an unlimited number of private keys."
My only issue with it, and it is being picky, but it does not show account value in USD like Ledger, I understand why, but I just like having it as a reference.
Followed:)

Well, that's discerning news, because i have yet to see my balance on my ledger itself, aside from outbound transfers - how do you access this?

I am waiting for my KeepKey to arrive in the mail, but I keep track of my portfolio on an xlsx doc anyways, plus Blockfolio which has been fialing me today, actually.

Gotcha, I meant on the device itself.

Oh sorry,my mistake, no I do not think either device shows your balance.

This is very exciting news!! Thanks for sharing! Who do you think will be added next to the nano?

I don't know, normally they give hints but this announcement really came out of nowhere. If I get any indication I will post and let everyone know.

this may be a dumb question but shouldn't I get two, just in case one is lost, if your whole portfolio is on one thumb drive isn't that a little dangerous or am I being stupid. Is it easy to move stuff from the nano over if i want to sell, I'm just not sure how it works for transactions (yes I'm outrageously new to crypto's)!

Check out my review here
https://steemit.com/cyptocurrency/@digicrypt/ledger-nano-s-cryptocurrency-hardware-wallet-review
This may also be helpful to you in explaining your question
http://support.ledgerwallet.com/knowledge_base/topics/what-happens-if-i-lose-my-ledger-wallet
They are pretty easy to setup and use, transactions are pretty simple.
Hope this helps

Upvoted & followed. Great news for everyone Xrp is just about to see another massive influx of investment - great timing.

Thanks and thanks for the follow!

now I'm just hoping they add Bitshares soon... :-)

That would be amazing!

Thanks for the info!
Cryptos 4 life!

Cryptos 4 life indeed! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60935.93
ETH 2645.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56