Ledger Nano S Cryptocurrency Hardware Wallet Review!

in #cyptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

With Bitcoin, Alt Coins and STEEM values exploding higher this month I thought it would be a great time to review the Ledger Nano S Cryptocurrency hardware wallet.

I am a strong advocate for using hardware wallets for their security and peace of mind.


Introduction

I have read several "reviews" of hardware wallets that are more setup tutorials or a list of specs.

This is not a tutorial!

If you would like a tutorial let me know in the comments. If you would like a more thorough breakdown of why I like hardware wallets let me know that too.

I intend to have this review be short and concise, listing some specs and features but focusing on my judgement of the device on 7 criteria

Design - The overall design of the device 

Construction - Is the device well built, durable?

Ease of use - How easy is the setup and operation of the device?

Compatibility - How many and what cryptocurrency can be used with the device?

Security - What security protocols are put in place to protect your keys?

X Factor - Does the device have any unique features that set it apart from the competition?

Price - Value for cost


The device ships with the following...

  • Ledger Nano S
  • USB cable
  • Instruction Sheet
  • Recovery Sheet
  • Accessories - Lanyard & Key Ring


Specifications

DIMENSION & WEIGHT

Size: 98mm x 18mm x 9mm.
Weight: 16.2g. 

COMPATIBILITY

Windows (7+), Mac (10.8+), Linux or Chrome OS. Requires Google Chrome or Chromium, and one USB port to plug your Ledger Nano S. 

MATERIALS

Brushed stainless steel and Plastic. 

MICROCONTROLLERS & CONNECTOR

Connector: USB Type Micro-B.
Certification level: CC EAL5+.
Chips: ST31H320 (secure) + STM32F042. 






Design

Overall I really like the design of the Ledger Nano S. It is simple and functional. The brushed metal is a very nice touch. The device comes shipped in a box very similar to an Apple product, good presentation.

Construction

The device is lightweight and has a similar feel to any USB device. The brushed metal outer shell is well built. The plastic feels a bit too light weight and I would question it's durability as compared to its competitors. The USB cable also seems to be lower quality. I have not had an issue with the USB but have read that several others have. I believe Ledger will replace your USB cable if it shipped with a faulty USB.

Ease of Use

The Ledger Nano S is extremely easy to setup and use. The directions on their website are very clear making setup a breeze. The Google Chrome apps needed to use the device are simple and elegant. You can download an app for Ethereum and Bitcoin, Alt coins can be setup using the Ledger Manager app and used through the Bitcoin app. Out of the wallets I have used thus far I prefer the Ledger's operation and Chrome Extensions. The clear directions are a big plus for this product!

Compatibility

The Ledger Nano S comes setup to use Bitcoin and Ethereum. You can easily enable wallets for the following Alt coins...

Dash

Dogecoin

Litecoin

Zcash

Stratis

Security

SECURE ELEMENT

Ledger Nano S is based on a dual chip architecture (ST31/STM32). The firmware integrity is guaranteed by cryptographic attestation. 

PIN CODE

Ledger Nano S ensures only you can access your accounts by requiring a 4 digit PIN code each time it is plugged to your computer. (I believe the newest firmware allows for a longer PIN code)

MALWARE PROOF

Initialization or restoration of your configuration is fully done on the secure environment of the Ledger Nano S. Your cryptographic secrets are never exposed to the outside world. 

Overall the security features of the device are good, especially if they will be updating to allow for longer PIN codes. In order to access your wallet you need physical confirmation from the device.

X Factor

The Ledger Nano S  supports the FIDO® Universal Second Factor authentication standard on Google, Dropbox, GitHub or Dashlane. I think this is a cool extra feature to have and is a nice addition to the device.

Price

The Ledger Nano S retails for $89.99 and and can be purchased through Amazon or their Website. I believe the price is fair for the product. Most of it's competitors retail for around $99.99.

Conclusion

I really like the Ledger Nano S overall. It has a great look, great features and is easy to use. I prefer their chrome extension interface to that of other wallets.

The ledger is great if you want a hardware wallet to carry around with you, although I would remember that the main body is made with light weight plastic and that there is a reason for the lower cost.

I would note that on a few occasions the device caused some issues with my USB ports. "Could not identify USB". The problem was easily fixed but annoying. I cannot say if it was the device or my personal computer causing the issue. (Firmware updates may resolve)

For the price the Ledger Nano S is a great option!

If you are considering buying your first hardware wallet I think this is a great product to start with!

Ledger also sells other products I just have not been able to test them.

https://www.ledgerwallet.com/products/ledger-nano-s

Photos direct from Ledger Website


If you have any questions about the Ledger Nano S that were not covered in the review comment below and I will do my best to answer them.



Please upvote and resteem if you found this post interesting!

Follow my blog @digicrypt if you want to learn more!


DASH:  XgQ9NBonMoCPKhF37agY4W8zk7gwQFnwGV 

Ether:   XE04RO3I0QA5UKB31OZK4O3CK3TOT03R4TM 



 https://logomakr.com/ 


Sort:  

thanks a lot for this post .. keep up the good work

I am glad you enjoyed the post!

Nice review. I never had the need to secure my wallets. My whole portfolio would buy 1 hardware wallet heh.

Trust me I am not a crypto millionaire either ;) Just start small and build up over time. The ledger Nano S is a great wallet option for the price! Thanks for your comment!

Nice post! I will definitely need a safe and secure hardware wallet in the future, once my Steem portfolio grows. Keep up the great posts!

Thank you! The Ledger Nano S is a great first hardware wallet! Very easy to use! I plan on doing reviews of other products as well! All my donations go towards doing product reviews and improving the blog. Keep Steeming!

Steem on! I'm looking forward to the upcoming reviews. :)

Thanks! I would really appreciate a resteem of this post! I will probablly be doing the KeepKey wallet next. I will also be checking out your blog too!

So, we can store any crypt we want on this bad boy?

The wallet comes setup to use Bitcoin and Ethereum. If you want you can download apps from the Ledger Manager Chrome extension to use currently supported alt coins Dash, Zcash, Litecoin, Dogecoin or Stratis.

I may get into Ether soon. I still haven't yet done so. Thx for the info. I've seen this around for some time but have not yet took the time to learn these wallets;)

Same. I accept Ether and Dash for donations but don't actively buy at the moment. No problem!

thanks for directing me here, this certainly looks like the best option. I'm gun-shy because when I was trying to load a linex os backup onto a thumb drive it was tricky. also some say these paper wallets are the safest and easiest I don't know. and dumb question of the week, I'm new I don't know how to re-steeem this! if you could tell me how I'll re-steem this!

Like I said in my other comments, it is what works best for you.
As far as the ledger goes it is very easy to setup, the most important part is writing down your secret passphrase in case you need to recover the wallet. There are a bunch of step by step guides/reviews, some even on Steemit. The wallet software is already loaded on the device you just have to get it setup and download a google chrome app to use it. I believe it comes configured for BTC and ETH. The ledger manager app allows you to add wallets of other currency. I know you are just getting started in crypto, so don't feel like you have to learn everything at once.
To resteem you just hit the arrow looking thing to the left of reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56589.13
ETH 3005.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16