My Crypto Portfolio, Coins #4 & 5: NEO & GAS!

maxresdefault.jpg

On January 1st, I announced that to kick off the year, I'd be posting about my crypto portfolio: https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@davidpakman/welcome-to-2018-my-cryptocurrency-portfolio

I'll be posting about each currency I hold in the order I took positions in them. Here are the posts so far:

--Bitcoin (BTC): https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@davidpakman/my-crypto-portfolio-day-1-bitcoin
--Ethereum (ETH): https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@davidpakman/my-crypto-portfolio-coin-2-ethereum-eth
--Litecoin (LTC): https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@davidpakman/my-crypto-portfolio-coin-3-litecoin-ltc

Today, I'll talk about the fourth and fifth cryptos I bought, NEO and GAS, which work in tandem, and are the first forays I made outside the "major crypto" space, or least that was the case at the time

NEO and GAS are, respectively and as of today, 12th and 91st in terms of market cap:

neo.jpg
gas.jpg

NEO, which used to be known as Antshares, was interesting to me by virtue of being the first Chinese blockchain project. Also interestingly, the NEO blockchain works with a combination of digital assets and identities, as well as smart contracts.

The NEO blockchain actually includes 2 different tokens, both NEO and GAS, and that's why I am writing about both together today. GAS is actually used to pay for the service fees on the NEO blockchain, and thus when I took a position in NEO, I likewise did in GAS.

As many of you know, my background is in politics, and the underlying political controversy over China and NEO is an interesting one. Officially, despite being a Chinese blockchain project, the Chinese government -- as I understand it -- banned the NEO ICO. At the same time, there are numerous assertions, including from the founders of NEO and other analysts (take that term for whatever it is worth to you), NEO will be legalized in China at some point, which presents a major opportunity for growth given the size of the Chinese market, population, and economy.

In terms of transaction speed, the NEO blockchain can support up to 10,000 transaction per second.

Do you own NEO, GAS, both or neither? Leave me your thoughts in a reply.

Next on my list will be IOTA, which I took a position in after NEO and GAS.

Sort:  

NEO is a great project. This coin should do well in the future.

Sidenote: I really like the sideblow at the "analysts". It's something I often notice, at least in German newspapers: People with clear biases on certain topics are too often presented as objective authorities to "clear" something up for the reader. I already look forward to the critical thinking series!

my comment is much more general, coming from the world of economics, which is that people are mostly terrible at predicting the values of things in the future

Great post, thanks for your input and I'm happy to see that you are also supporting NEO/GAS. I just released my second Analysis on GAS/BTC come check it out!!! GAS/BTC Analysis

thanks, will check it out!

Good post keep sharing thank you
Following you

Do you think these are the ony coins that will be stable and most wanted from traders? Do you intend investing in other cryptocurrencies and for how ling consudering the fact it is said it is better to invest on long term due to unpredictable future for them. Looking forward for the answer.

NEO and GAS both are very famous. Nice post

Do you plan to include EOS in your portfolio?
Am reflecting on IOTA too, as well as on ADA.

interesting post...keep sharing us your thought

Hi...@davidpakman thanks teaching about 5th crytpos
NEO and GAS . Its great information for new steemians like me
Thanks again sir
Stay blessed.

Interesting post
Your good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98