CPU-only Cryptocurrency You Can Mine!

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

CPU-only Cryptocurrency You Can Mine!

So, a while back I wrote "What Are The Best CPU Coins To Mine" on steemit, since then I've tried the following coins, and I may have better suggestions:

CryptoNite Algorithm Based Coins:

  • ByteCoin (BCN): Can easily mine about 100 coins in a few hours;
  • QuazarCoin (QCN): Takes a few hours to mine 1 coin!
  • AEON: Takes a few hours to mine 0.1 coin but the coin value isn't bad!
  • DigitalNote (XDN): Takes a lot of time to mine on CPU!
  • FantomCoin (FCN): Takes ages to mine a single coin!
  • Monero (XMR): Difficulty is too high!

HODL Algorithm Based Coins:

  • HODL Coin (HODL): Coins are easy to mine, but the value of coin is quite low and also it doesn't mine too many coins in short time.
  • EuropeCoin (ERC): Value of coin is alright, and it's mine-able on CPU, but you won't be able to mine too many coins in short period of time.

Misc. Coins:

  • Lbry.io Credits: Think GPU-mining is better suited for this (as they also suggest on their website).
  • GridCoin (GRC): Takes a lot of time, with a lot less return!
  • NovaCoin (NVC): Doesn't mine too many coins, might yield better results on GPU (as it's based on SCRYPT).
  • Karbowanec (KRB): Tried their own software (which looked good) but yielded no coin in an hour or two.

Laptop I Used To Mine:
MacBook Pro mid-2015 2.5 GHz Intel Core i7 16 GB RAM*

  • Before you jump on to mining on an expensive machine please be aware that most miners out there aren't optimized to be used on a MacBook and can damage it by over-heating, so use with caution! Also, you may want to keep in mind the amount of power mining uses, and what you mine on a CPU versus the electricity cost, might not yield enough profit for you. In such a scenario, you can try cloud mining or try getting free coins using various faucets on the internet.

Conclusion:

Here's how I would rank the top 5 CPU-coins I was able to mine (based on ease-of-use, most amount of coins mined, and the value of the coin):

  1. ByteCoin (BCN)
  2. EuropeCoin (ERC)
  3. AEON
  4. HODL Coin (HODL)
  5. QuazarCoin (QCN)

ByteCoin is a winner in many regards because:

  1. It's easy to mine;
  2. It yields most coins in little time;
  3. It's value is not that great, but also not too bad;
  4. It's still available to exchange on most exchanges (although I personally use Cryptopia).

If you know of some coins I may have missed, please mention in the comments section below. Upvote if you like the post, thanks :)!

Sort:  

Nice article!

I started mining Vericoin recently after hearing the lead developer talk about decentralization and the idea of creating a mining algorithm that would make it tough for ASICs or GPUs to mine. Here's the link https://portal.vericoin.info/. I like the idea of using commodity hardware to mine crypto kinda like the raspberry pi community or the idea behind airbnb (let someone else use something you own while you're not using it and get paid). Anyone have previous experience mining Vericoin? Any thoughts?

I thought you could only mine Verium and that Vericoin you had to buy and stake. I used to mine Verium but was just solo mining and the diff got a little high for me so I switched to cryptonote. Like the project though.

Very informative article :)

I was thinking of mining Siacoin using my CPU, what are your thoughts on this? :)

I'm now following you, feel free to follow back @dr-physics

SiaCoin and PascalCoin were on my radar, I tried downloading miners for both, but all the miners I came across were GPU-based and they kept crashing giving me a "openCL.dll not found" error. So, I turned to these other coins instead. If you are able to mine either of these on CPU alone, do tell me how you were able to, and how many you were able to mine, because both of them have been on my list :)!

these coins can be mined with ETH in dual miner, you can use nanopool and in ETH section you will find working miner version also from claymore

followed you back

Siacoin is not profitable to mine with CPU. Not even with a single GPU, I believe, at this point of time

Congratulations @dannnielli! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good post.You can try Bitdirect,easy to mine with CPU.Only down side is waiting to be listed on some better exchange.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1857875.0

Great! Thanks for sharing! The cryptonight / cryptonote algorithm are easy to mine with CPU so I'll definitely try it out and post my findings once I have something. I have to ask though, if you know of the exchange rates of it against USD? I tried googling it but nothing came up. Is it listed on some website like coinmarketcap.com?

Nice article , I have already tried mining all of the above coins except EuropeCoin . I will give it a try. Bytecoin is easy to mine but the price is really low. What I recommend is to try Magi (XMG) Coin which has a good resistance to ASIC miners so everyone is able to "equaly" mine coins. You can even create some coins with other devices like mobile phones and tv boxes using the Neo-Neon Miner app. For the desktop i use Sweet Spot Magi Miner 1.02 with good results.

Happy mining!

What about Steem? Can it be mined by CPU?

Yes, it can be, and I tried mining it but with no luck. I followed instructions from numerous articles on the internet, and I keep getting "No such host is known" when I try to mine. I believe this is because all the mining articles are old, and the one on official steem website seems kinda complicated. Plus, I also figured, the best way to earn steem is via the steemit website lol

Well, maybe you are right. But I would like to try mining steem. Mining task is a weird pleasure, but pleasure in the end ;)

if you put yourself to it is interesting alot plus is like earning passively

Credits (CRDS) is also a CPU only coin that is worth mentioning. It uses Argon2d for it's algorithm and incorporates Delta difficulty re-targeting to prevent botnets. Currently listed on CoinsMarkets.

BiblePay (BBP) is a new CPU only charity cryptocurrency: http://biblepay.org/
10% of mined coins go to Charity, the project is already funding 175+ Orphans monthly!

BiblePay is a fork of DASH (governance model)
with ASIC Resistance (CPU Only mining) like Vertcoin

Masternodes (Sanctuaries) are going live this December 2017,
by owning one you become a part owner and can vote on the direction of the project!

Launch Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2388064.0
Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/BiblePay/

Love one another,
be a good Samaritan,
help those in distress (orphans & widows),
and spread the gospel

I'm Currently mining Bytecoin on a gaming laptop, going really well and the price has increased quite a bit since i started.

Very good explanation!

I would like to know what mining program you are using.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 62134.65
ETH 3418.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51