Don’t Store Your Bitcoin on a Ledger Nano S Until You’ve Read This!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

I recently purchased a Ledger Nano S hardware wallet so that I could store my Bitcoin and altcoins securely and to make backing up my private keys easier. However, I’ve noticed an issue where you could potentially lose your funds and this post will explain why and how to prevent this from happening.

Ledger Nano S

Why Use a Hardware Wallet?

The main benefits of using a hardware wallet are:

  • Private keys are stored on the hardware wallet and transactions are signed in a way that funds can’t be stolen by viruses or malware running on the device connected to the wallet.
  • Backing up your private keys is much easier because they are derived from a securely random generated list of seed words that must be configured on first use. All you need to do is write down the seed words on a piece of paper or engrave them on steel and store them in a safe location.

What’s Wrong with the Ledger Nano S?

The configuration of the Ledger Nano S is surprisingly easy. When you first power on the device it walks you through a series of step-by-step instructions which is all done via the built-in display and the buttons on the device itself. You don’t need to connect it to a computer so you can be sure the PIN and seed words are not compromised during the initial configuration.

However, I noticed a slight issue.

After being notified to write down each seed word the confirmation to make sure they are correct only asks you to confirm two words.

To be certain I wrote them down properly I did a full restore of the seed words and it turns out I had written them down wrong even though the confirmation for two of the words was successful. I started the process again from scratch and I wrote them down wrong again. It was my third attempt before I managed to write down the correct seed words.

Conclusion

I thought I was being careful when writing down the seed words but it turns out it’s quite easy to get one wrong. I don’t know if it was my bad hand writing making a word look similar to an invalid word, or if I was just being stupid.

Either way, if you are going to store a lot of funds on the Ledger, I would recommend doing a full restore of the seed words before sending any funds to the wallet. Don’t rely on the verification method of selecting 2 seed words in the initial configuration wizard.

Now that I'm sure I can recover my seed words, I'm happy with the device. It's so much easier than having to install a full wallet for each cryptocurrency and it makes me sleep at night knowing my funds are safer :-)

Sort:  

thanks sir to introduce this device to us :) happy steeming

Very helpfull. Have to remember this. At the moment I have nothing, so nothing to worry about either ;-)

Thanks for sharing this.
what is your favorite crypto hardware wallet?
if you had to recommend one to a first-time buyer

I've only used the Ledger Nano S and I'm finding it good to use. I've heard good thing about Trezor as well though.

thanks for the tip

Congratulations @bullshark! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @bullshark! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great work. The Trezor has you use the entire seed phase, which is better.

Congratulations @bullshark! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bullshark! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94