A year in crypto terms

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

One year can make a big difference in crypto terms.

This time last year was a significant time for me. It was sometime during this 14/15th September changeover that I hit my lowest point in crypto holdings. By lowest point I mean that it was the lowest USD value of my crypto portfolio since I had stopped buyig in with fiat. I did put a little more fiat in after that, but the majority had already been invested by this time last year.

I hopped into my time machine and went back to take a look at my portfolio then, compared to now. Wow, what a difference. How things have changed! This post is a quick look at that portfolio of one year ago and how it has changed to become what it is today. Also: were my changes good changes?

Screenshot_1.png
Made by Bit Brain (in 2017)

A year in crypto terms

I share this so that you may see where I have gone right and where I have gone wrong in the last year. Hopefully you can learn something from my mistakes and build this into your trading experience.

The market

As I have already said, this was a very bad time for me in last year's market. I had lost about half my fiat investment, but I didn't care. I knew that good times would return. That's very much like now: a bad market - especially bad to a mainly small market cap altcoin holder such as myself. My portfolio has once again been hammered, but once again I don't really care. I'm sitting waiting patiently for the inevitable bounce back.

Number of coins and tokens

A year ago I had 32 coins/tokens on my tracking sheet. Today I have about 2.5x that. I have therefore continued to diversify. My diversification is active and deliberate. I did it to spread risk and to maximise the chance of being in coins that "Moon". It has worked fairly well, especially from a risk perspective. Several coins have failed me, either outright like Titanium and Centra, or are having problems like Envion or BTG, or turned out to be useless, like COSS or Electroneum (no I don't care if they bounced back - both of those had pathetic teams which cost me a lot of money when they failed!).

The coins

In order of the USD value I held them in a year ago, I had:

  • Bitcoin

    • I held about the same BTC value then as what I do now. I retrospect I should have put more of my altcoin profits into BTC when they all Mooned in January. (Or back into fiat).
  • Neo

    • I have more NEO now. I should have done long-term swing trading with NEO, but the stress of doing that is enormous. NEO has been very poor since February, but I'm still very happy to be holding it and would like to hold even more.
  • Unobtainium

    • UNO messed me around. I tried to sell it when it spiked in price, but a 13 hour transfer cost me many dollars in missed opportunity. I still managed to sell all my UNO at a tidy profit, but in retrospect this was a mistake! UNO is one of very few coins that has done consistently well in 2018, despite it's low volume. The ultra-rare cryptos have some strange properties. I don't hold any of them anymore, but I think holding at least one of them is a good idea.
  • Ether

    • I have far less ETH now, though my ETH tends to swing wildly. ETH was normally my ICO buying currency, so what I held in ETH would jump all the time. I would like to hold more than what I do now. Despite any shortfalls, ETH is a well known brand and should do well for years to come.
  • Omisego

    • I bought quite a lot more OMG since then, a decision I am happy with.
  • Dashcoin

    • I increased my DASH, then I sold some again. I hold slightly more now than one year ago. DASH is proving to be reliable and useful, I recommend holding some.
  • Lisk

    • Lisk has yet to get any sort of decent adoption. It remains a very good investment which may or may not have a great long-term ROI.
  • ZCash

    • I'm still holding my ZEC tightly and waiting for people to figure out that privacy coins are needed to fight the corrupt bankers, corporations, governments and their fiat.
  • TenX

    • Ah man, I backed the wrong horse. At one time I held Centra, TenX and Monaco. Then I sold Monaco. Now Monaco is the only one of the three with a working product. TenX is doing okay, but isn't there yet. Centra turned fraudulent and I sold fast as it crumbled to nothing.
  • Binance Coin

    • I used to hold about double the BNB that I do now. At one stage it was about triple. BNB has done very well, showing what a bad idea it is to sell off good exchange coins.
  • PIVX

    • The same story as ZEC; I'm still waiting for people to realise that they need these coins.
  • QTUM

    • Did rather well when others struggled.
  • Bitcoin Cash

    • I still hold some BCH. It's like a hedged bet. I hold it just in case it suddenly usurps BTC!
  • Adex

    • See below
  • Basic Attention Token

    • I held roughly equal USD amounts of BAT and ADEX. Since they were similar I decided to choose the better of the two and sell the other one. I sold BAT and kept ADEX. BAT has done amazingly well since then. Adex has not.
  • Metal

    • A good coin that is still waiting for its time to shine. Someday it will get noticed.
  • Civic

    • I still hold this necessary and hopefully one day popular coin.
  • Rise

    • I sold all my RISE, and to be quite honest: I've lost touch with the project and don't know how it is now doing.
  • Waves

  • I sold all my WAVES and am happy I did so. Waves has also had to issues lately and I'm glad not to be a part of that,

  • Blocknet

    • I still hold a lot of hope for BLOCK and am holding it tightly.
  • Bitshares

    • A tricky one: I sold all my Bitshares to buy other alts. Bitshares is great, but will it stay great as Binance launches a DEX or as NEX hits that market? I don't know...
  • Stratus

    • I'm waiting patiently
  • Litecoin

    • I sold most of my LTC. I still often use LTC to move funds around, but I covert it back to something more solid ASAP...
  • Monaco

    • (See "TenX")
  • Golem

    • Has done very badly, but AI cons must surely take off soon!
  • HShare

    • I sold my HShare while I still could, after the exchange I held it on stopped supporting it.
  • LBRY credits

    • A bad investment. I put even more into it since then. If it ever succeeds it will be great, so I continue to hold (no point in selling now anyway).
  • district0x

    • Nothing much changed here.
  • Safe Exchange Coin

    • Got de-listed and I stashed mine in a local wallet where it has been ever since.
  • Reddcoin

    • I sold mine the day before McAfee first shilled it, I kid you not. I don't know why its market cap is still so high, I don't think that the coin belongs in the top 100 and I'm not sorry that I sold mine.
  • Waltonchain

    • Has performed fairly well. Since then I bought a lot of VeChain which is even better
  • GAS

    • Follows NEO price (i.e. it's bad right now!)

That was then

I'm am up quite a bit since back then. Putting a bit more fiat in helped, but even accounting for that, I am still ahead a little bit. I think that my decisions are generally good and that I am very well positioned to benefit from the next bull run.

What ever you do and however you invest or trade; try to learn from your mistakes and from the mistakes of others.

Yours in crypto,
Bit Brain

P.S. I am very tired. I apologise in advance for any/all the mistakes that I may have missed.

Coin line mini.png

Bit Brain recommends:

Crypto Exchanges:
KCS.png
BNB.png


Published on

mentormarket.io
by Bit Brain


https://mentormarket.io/legal/termsandconditions

Sort:  

Seems like diversification both helps and hurts you as you may have multiple assets that actually compete with each other in what they intend to do. These are great times to consider some rebalancing as well.

This is true and my portfolio will change with time accordingly. Being early days still, it is not always clear which coin/token in a specific sector will dominate. That's why I did things like buy into MCO, PAY and CTR all at once - to hedge my bets. Ideally I would only buy the best of each type of coin, with platform coins being an exception to that rule. Over time I would like to streamline my portfolio by eliminating the not-so-good coins that compete with my main ones. For instance: I still hold both Civic and THEKEY. I would like to only hold one of those, though where and how they are adopted may change how I feel. I don't hold SelfKey because I consider it to be inferior to the other two.

I still like Steem the best. Love it here

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

What about steem? Are you a long term holder?

A year ago I was not blogging here yet and I had not bought any STEEM, which is why you don't see it mentioned in this post.

I have never bought STEEM, I have earned all that I hold. My objective was to keep all my STEEM and reinvest all SBD and liquid STEEM into STEEM Power until I hit the 100 STEEM mark; which I did. SInce then I have been using 50/50 payouts. I never power down so I just keep slowly building up all my vested STEEM. The rest of it I either spend on bot experiments or I send it to an exchange to convert it into whichever crypto is a good deal at the time.

I wrote this post about using STEEM if you are looking for a little guidance in that regard: https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@bitbrain/what-is-your-steem-doing-for-you

Excellent mate! I’m a Steem Long term holder since almost 16 months ago.
Keep doing well!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice summary and portfolio.

That's a year old portfolio, it looks very different now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73