"Read More Than You Write"

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

As you all know I'm new to the Steemit Platform but one thing I hate is to be intimidated by big words and unfamiliar terms and they are often used in the Steemit community. If you had read my Introductory Post, I mentioned that I aspire to be the best or at least good in whatever I do.

Before now, I have been hearing people use words like Cryptocurrency, Bitcoin, Blockchain, Mining, Wallets - the list goes on, but I do not know what they mean in real sense (I want to believe I am not left out and that there are still other novice like me on this Platform too). I also did not feel the need to find out what the above mentioned words mean, this is because I usually get bored when people mention them, truth be told, that was one reason I refused to join the Steemit community I felt it should be left to people like @tojukaka and other "gurus" who know better about these topics.

Just this evening I was going through my feeds and I saw a post by @tojukaka about Crytptocurrency, the first thought that crossed my mind was @tojukaka he has started again with all these his talks, I wanted to ignore as I would have done prior to now, but since I am now more open minded to learn more on this Platform, I decided to read through his post to see what it was all about. As I read, I got intrigued especially at the end where he advised those who knew little or nothing about Cryptocurrency to learn more about it in his words and I quote "give more than you take and read more than you write". I said to myself its time to learn, thanks to google my search began. First, I searched for the meaning of the word Cryptocurrency (term number 1) from Wikipedia The Free Encyclopedia as a beginner- It defined cryptocurrency as a digital currency that uses cryptograpgh to secure transactions (this was simple enough for me to grasp). It also said that the decentralized control of each cryptocurrency works through a blockchain. A blockchain (term number 2) provides the validity of each cryptocurrency, and it is a continuously growing list of records called blocks which are secured using cryptoghaphy. Bitcoin (term number 3) can be stored in a cryptocurrency wallet or digital wallet and Bitcoin was the first Decentralised Cryptocurrency. Mining (term number 4) is a validation of transactions from which successful miners obtain new cryptocurrency as a reward. Wallets (term number 5) - A cryptocurrency wallet stores the public and private keys or addresses which can be used to receive or spend the cryptocurrency. This is the only part I did not really understand so to my fellow Steemians what are these public and private keys or addresses stored in the cryptocurrency wallet? Please Respond!!!

Conclusively, I have learnt so much today in my on little way, thanks to @tojukaka and I am still eager to learn more from the Steemit Community as you have seen above and I wish to also assist fellow novice like me through my untalented posts. I know I have something to offer, it may seem little or irrelevant to you but to me its just a beginning of better days ahead.

I am proud to be a Steemian! #@asrealasme

Sort:  

Thats the joy of steemit, you learn and earn. You can't still share whatever you learn putting your perspective into it.

Steemit makes you do a lot of research even your trying to create a post.

Steemit is a great way to increase one's IQ in no time.

Welcome to this great community.

PS: cheetah was first thing that came to my mind when I saw you quoting @tojukaka and Wikipedia.

Take few minutes to learn right way to quote and other formatting... Good luck.

What's this @cheetah, please

A bot that detects plagiarized posts.

We really have to read too, not just write. I see steemit as also a platform, where we can learn from one another. There is no excesses in knowledge, there is always something new out there to learn. for me i am still trying to familiarise myself with the terminologies, terms and conditions of this platform. Newbies like us, will definitely get there someday

@vwoke Yeah sis. True talk.

interesting write up....i am also a newbie and am yet to understand their terms but as time goes on definitely we shall conquer it all...

I see you are learning on the go. This is the beauty of steemit. You just learn Unconsciously.

Being a novice that i am on steemit, still finding it a bit hard to understand the platform... with time i will kick the ball rolling.

Being a newbie on Steemit is tough. You are not alone feeling lost in this new community. There is so much to learn and so many moving pieces that it is overwhelming. I am fortunate to be a part of a group that helps newbies expose their voices by supporting and exposing their quality blogs. Like you I strive to be my best in everything I do in life, love, family, career, friendship, and recently Steemit. I joined this community to learn, add value, and be moved. Come check us out when you have a chance. newbieresteemday

Hello @beeyou, I am glad there are lots of newbies like me in your group, just checked it out, so how can I join this @newbieresteemday group?

Hi @asrealasme. I'm so happy you dropped by to check us out. Here are some easy steps to engage with the group. Feel free to reach out to me with any questions.

  1. Use our tag, newbieresteemday, in your blogs and all of our members will be able see your posts. They are great at upvoting and commenting to help you earn and get feedback.
  2. Upvote and comment the blogs that you like from any of our members to help them earn.
  3. Resteem any good blogs that you come across to help increase exposure of that good content
  4. Follow any of our members that you like so that we are all exposed to each others blogs when resteemed
  5. Join our free contests to try to win free SBDs (some of those who win try to pay it forward by offering a portion of his/her winnings to start a new contest to give away free SBDs to more of our newbies)
  6. Spread the word about newbieresteemday as I did to you
  7. You can volunteer your time to help grow the newbieresteemday initiative by adding your name, asrealasme, in the comment section here. Volunteers earn SBDs when they make it onto the weekly recap
  8. Here is a recent blog of how you can participate now and help Engagement is Key

Example of tag, upvote, and resteem:
Blog components - comments.jpg

Readers are leader. I know a few people who read a lot and consequently are so knowledgeable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66543.69
ETH 3327.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71