You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Name YOUR decentralized social network?

in #cryptocurrencies6 years ago (edited)

All the prior reasons I provided on this blog and in the comments for preferring cred are still valid, except my thoughts about women not preferring the rebellious name mosh. Women like rebellion (drama and disruption) because they want to be invaded, so they have the widest availability of genetic input for their limited offspring (sperm is not dear, men can impregnate an unlimited number of women). Women also like cute, lovable things that associate with babies.

Also I’m thinking our name needs to embody the paradigmatic shift rather than just speak to some mundane logic (e.g. credit) of what money was in the agricultural and industrial eras which humanity is necessarily now departing.

What is more expressive of the paradigmatic shift we contemplating: credibility or knowledge?

Thus, my current preference for the token name in order of declining preference are:

  1. knol
  2. mosh
  3. cred

The name mosh (as abstractly branded so it becomes recognizable) probably appeals more to females than knol.

I asked my gf if she was going to choose between a party that had mosh or knol, which would she choose? She said mosh and started wiggling her body and smiling.

Feedback?

Sort:  

I'd trade in my Dosh for Mosh...

Close enough to a term already used for money, yet not obviously just a cheesy rehash of a monetary term.

You could say life's a party... Why not Mosh?

First of all, I think all three are strong considerations for a token name, but my vote would still be for CRED. Btw, I'm not sure what you meant meant further up when you previously mentioned it as "cartoonist".

For me, MOSH seems to naturally lend itself to music / video streaming (which seemed to gain favour some months ago) with its playful, kinetic and disruptive presence, and KNOL for the encyclopaedia / Q&A app (it also struck me that KNOL can also be interpreted as "knoll", a small hill or mound, suggesting being able to see above your surroundings to improve knowledge). However, neither lend themselves to being pluralised without sounding awkward, unlike CRED.

I can see your reasoning over wanting something that is "...more expressive of the paradigmatic shift..." but am not sure how many future users might be swayed by that consideration. "Uber" doesn't have any apparent connection with a paradigmatic shift in the manner of hailing taxis, but it's a cool word (and font) that people quickly took to.

My wife thought KNOL and MOSH both sounded more masculine, but CRED as neutral.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43