You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Name YOUR decentralized social network?

in #cryptocurrencies6 years ago (edited)

Did she give you feedback on any of the other recent name suggestions; "Oodles" for instance?

I forgot. If I ask again, I will edit this comment.

I do remember she thought Hyperledger connoted professional (think of a engineering firm). I don’t remember her raving about Boonus, Keeper nor Bleep. And I can’t remember if I asked her about Oodles and Uncommons.

For me, I think johhnyflynn's dLedger, just edges it for appealing to "speculators and geek developers". A pretty good one for a combined project and ledger name.

Agreed and others who didn’t like Hyperledger, do like dLedger. So far no one has disliked dLedger, including those who formerly liked Hyperledger.

I do give him credit for that variant of my dData idea, but do note I had also been considering *Ledger names as well, but just being as busy as I have been, I didn’t get around to that variant before he suggested it. I think I had been avoiding *Ledger variants because of the Hyperledger project. But actually if pause for a moment and consider it, then dLedger is actually a better name than Hyperledger because of the all the reasons that Hyperdata is not really good (decentralized is a more apt feature than fast) and because dLedger is a play on dApps. So that latter insight (play on dApps) was my key epiphany. But yeah, the dLedger variant is superior to dData for multiple reasons such as:

  • easier to pronounce (and thus spell)
  • more descriptive of what it names (less abstract)
  • play on dApps
  • emphasizes the true decentralization feature, which is one of the key innovations of the technology I have been working on for the ledger.

If that were chosen, would you still use ibits for the token name, as it is catchy?

Many seem to prefer CRED.

Grats or Gratz (with perhaps GRTZ as a ticker) which implies a gift as in "grateful"; "Grazie", Italian for "thank you", and also an informal shortening of "congratulations", celebrating a gift of tokens for content etc.

CRED seems superior.

Awarding CRED is a form of thank you, yet it also has the other desirable meanings:

  • credibility (reputation)
  • credits

Also I don’t think the world is ready to focus on selflessness and spreading thanks. Actually the more polite a society becomes on the surface, the more prone it is to erupt into violence. Because human nature is not so one-sided and if we try to force that unnatural virtue every where, then we get blow back.

P.S. Discussion last year about naming when I proposed Hypermesh, Bitnet and Blocknet. And my post about wanting to replace the Bitnet name idea. Apparently I was contemplating the ‘hyper-’ prefix since at least July 2017.

Sort:  

Agreed and others who didn’t like Hyperledger, do like dLedger. So far no one has disliked dLedger.

the dLedger variant is superior to dData for multiple reasons

Yes, I'd agree with those. So looks a promising candidate then.

CRED seems superior.

Awarding CRED is a form of thank you, yet it also has the other desirable meanings

Which is pretty much why it seemed a winner early on. Good you've come round to it again.

I get your points regarding CRED over GRATS; I thought I'd add another to the mix just in case.

Note I am also proposing dMesh and dGraph as alternatives to the dLedger name idea. One guy didn't like dLedger because he associates Ledger with the wallet of that name. dMesh has less syllables and easier to spell.

The dmesh.com domain is not in use. I was able to register all of the following domains:

$33 dme.sh
$15 dmesh.app
$ 4 dmesh.me
$ 8 dmesh.net
$10 dmesh.org
$ 2 dmesh.us

Note dmesh.io and dmesh.cc are in use.

All of dgraph.com/.io/.net/.org/.us are in use. So I just registered:

$15 dgraph.app
$ 6 dgraph.cc
$10 dgraph.co
$ 4 dgraph.me

One guy didn't like dLedger because he associates Ledger with the wallet of that name.

I have one, but that didn't put me off dLedger. It would seem a shame to dump a good name just for this reason.

I am also proposing dMesh and dGraph as alternatives

Not really grabbed by dGraph - as in my understanding at least - it doesn't appear to lucidly reflect the qualities you were aiming for? However, dMesh seems a better match; I quite like it, and as you point out, easy to say and spell.

I can't recall now what made you go cool on the "mesh" names previously.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59295.75
ETH 2607.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41