You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Name YOUR decentralized social network?

My 18 year old daughter prefers CRED over netbits. She said it is easier to remember and vocalize. Her perspective is from a social media user, not from our niche altcoin speculator markets. I forgot to ask her about ibits, which is more personalized “i+bits” connoting perhaps “my bits”.

Remember I started from trying to think of a better project name for the decentralized ledger separate from any mainstream social media dApps that might be built on top of it. So my brainstorm progression was Hyperdata + CRED → Interdata + ?→Interbits + ibits → Netbits + netbits.

Perhaps Hyperdata + CRED is still the best. Problem again is that people associate hyper- with fast and not the more generalized meaning which applies in this case.

The project and ledger name is really a different target demographic (speculators and geek developers) from the mainstream dApps.

I have new idea: dData

dApps need a decentralized ledger. Seems that ledger should be name dData. Seems to perfectly hit the target demographic for the project and ledger name.

P.S. I’ve been busy collecting information for a new blog: https://steemit.com/computing/@anonymint/parallelization-obsoletes-the-desktop-computer

Sort:  

I haven’t ever lost enthusiasm for CRED... Only question I would raise for dData is how it’s vocalised. dData just sounds like data. Or would it be “d-data”? How might someone know when just reading it? Why not dLedger or dLog etc?

I read it as "d-data", but whether, say, non-English speakers would I don't know.

I agree dLedger may be better than dData. I registered some of the dledger.* domains. Thanks for the feedback.

Regarding your other question, I analyzed Hashgraph in part 2 of the blog series you posted to.

Cheers mate. BTW don’t know if I’ve said it but your posts and insights are very much appreciated

My 18 year old daughter prefers CRED over netbits. She said it is easier to remember and vocalize. Her perspective is from a social media user, not from our niche altcoin speculator markets.

I do myself too. Did she give you feedback on any of the other recent name suggestions; "Oodles" for instance?

Perhaps Hyperdata + CRED is still the best. Problem again is that people associate hyper- with fast and not the more generalized meaning which applies in this case.

Agree.

I have new idea: dData

I agree dLedger may be better than dData.

For me, I think johhnyflynn's dLedger, just edges it for appealing to "speculators and geek developers". A pretty good one for a combined project and ledger name. If that were chosen, would you still use ibits for the token name, as it is catchy?

I thought of another too for a social media / token name (but haven't trawled previous posts to check if it's been used as a suggestion already), which is:

Grats or Gratz (with perhaps GRTZ as a ticker) which implies a gift as in "grateful"; "Grazie", Italian for "thank you", and also an informal shortening of "congratulations", celebrating a gift of tokens for content etc.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68559.31
ETH 2695.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73