How I Became a Crypto-Millionaire Before Turning 23

in #crypto6 years ago

SPOILER ALERT
Long story short, I was f*cking LUCKY.
Yeah, for real.

I didn't believe in the project, and I didn't travel back in time. Pure luck.
END OF SPOILER ALERT

I'm sure you're curious about my story. I will try to make it as short as possible.
And I won't put detailed dates and numbers. You know, the crypto world is crazy, and there's always someone trying to steal your coins. Especially when you hodl a large amount like I do.

So let's start.

2009 -I'm a 14 years old computer nerd, and a compulsive collector too (stamps, Play Station games, ecc.). I came across BTC in December, on a forum about vidoegames. And boom, I fell in love: a new item to collect.

2010- I finally decide to get some BTC. The only choice was to mine it with my PC. Great idea, until I broke it (you know, 12 hours per day of mining are pretty tough). I was really pissed off, not only because I lost my coins, but also because I broke my PC and i couldn't play videogames.
Bought a new PC and started to buy BTC on MT Gox with my dad's credit card. I spent what I thought was an huge sum of money at the time (approx 60 dollars, when 1BTC was worth less than 30 cents, more or less), to get exactly 200 BTC (I like round numbers). Then I forgot about BTC for a while.

2011 - I find my CD with my wallet and check BTC price after a long time. It was at 10$ a coin. I was feeling like a millionaire. I had 2000$ dollars, without working a second. But I was greedy too. I kept my BTC some more time, and sold at 20$ a coin. I gave my dad 4000$ in his bank account: he didn't want to give me that money, because I would spend it on dumb stuff (thanks dad). I was again pissed off: I was so rich, but I couldn't use my money.
To make the situation even worse, BTC kept going up: I was really angry, I could have made even more money.
But luckily BTC didn't rise to 1 mln a coin, and it "crashed" at 2$ (my first lesson in the crypto world).

Xmas 2011 As a gift I convinced my dad to buy BTC with the money i made early that year (again, thanks dad). So i spent 4000$ to get approximately 50 BTC, thinking it would get back up to 10$ in a few months.

At this time I was 16 years old. And thanks to school and puberty (yeah, sex can make you forget about stuff) I didn't think about my CD with 50 BTC on it.

2014 In the summer 1 BTC was approximately 500$. Boom, 50000$ baby. But here I am greedy again. In my mind I was like "Mmm no man, I don't need that money now, I will wait a few more years and have 100000$ and buy a f*cking Mercedes!". Thanks God I was stupid like that.

2017 In January I check again, and 1 BTC was "only" 900$. Hell yes, I can buy my dream car. I was thinking about selling all my coins and cash out, but fortunately I googled "btc future price" and read about people saying BTC was going to the moon. That's when I fell in love with crypto and its philosophy. And thats's when I decided I wasn't going to sell my coins. I became an hodler.
I think you know the rest of the story.
And just to say, I sold all my BTC at 17000$, making a pretty good profit.

Thanks for reading!

P.S. Right after I sold I was really angry (again, like years ago), because the price kept going up. But fortunately the price went down a little bit ;).
Today I have reinvested a large amount of my money into a diversified portfolio.

Sort:  

Congrats for selling near the peak.
Put some of those back into Steem and join us here :)

Congratulations @whiterabbit007! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @whiterabbit007! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67164.91
ETH 3518.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71