How I lost out an opportunity in trading to TRIPLE my earnings and what it taught me

in #crypto6 years ago (edited)

I used to follow a crypto trader or influencer who would post about different coins. In the beginning, I was really impressed by the guy & thought that he was an excellent mentor and expert in the field.

I was repeatedly seeing how he would call or recommend something, and then the coin would shoot up in value and he would be correct!

Just before Xmas, he recommended that his followers buy DigitalNote (XDN) coin


With Bitcoin falling, I didn’t know what to do with a large chunk of my Bitcoin so I took his advice. It was a gamble, for sure, as I didn’t know anything about the coin, but I didn’t want to miss out on this wave, so I went ahead and traded my remaining BTC for XDN.

I bought approximately $1300 worth of XDN, and I bought at 0.00000166


I just went with it. I didn’t know what I was doing, but I went with my gut feeling. His idea was that any coin related to Security is going to be big in 2018.

For the next few days, I was reading into XDN and what I read scared me…

Multiple people were complaining that the XDN project was dead and that there were no official announcements from the development team. The roadmap was murky, and then my heart sank. How could I have bought into a coin that I knew nothing about?

Then I started doing some digging on my “influencer” and realized that he’s pushing a lot of Ponzi schemes behind the scenes

I felt sick that I had just wasted $1300, which was a nice chunk of the profits that I had earned in 2017 trading crypto coins. What if the coin took a nose dive and became worthless?

Next, I sold all my XDN coin. (which was the right move for me)

Thankfully, I sold at a slight profit so I didn’t make a loss but my stupidity and impulsiveness had made me rethink trading. I decided to pull out all of my crypto currency investments, retain the profits and finally stop checking the charts. I plan on using the money that I have earned to buy some new tech/hardware, which I can put to put to good use, like learning new skills and creating content!

However, I couldn’t help myself and checked the charts a week later. Look!

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 12.09.31.png

That’s right, If I had held on a little bit longer, I would have TRIPLED my earnings and my $1300 could be worth $4000 (if BTC stayed the same)

Am I mad at myself?

A little, yes. But not because I couldn’t HODL and missed out on the profit.

I’m mad because my impulsiveness and fear of missing out (FOMO) led me to make a stupid decision which ultimately made me feel uncomfortable. I was not in control.

I am happy to pull out of my crypto currency investments for now while I can still take decent profit. And will I return to crypto trading? Perhaps, but as of now, I want to focus on more important things and unfortunately for me, having investments in crypto when there is such high volatility sucks too much time from the important things, at least for me!

If I can learn to HODL for the long-term, then I may be able to check the charts less but being active on Steemit and surrounded by news about cryptocurrencies, it’s difficult to become oblivious to all of these price fluctuations.

Can anybody else relate to my behavior?

And is anybody else excited for XDN? :)

Follow me: @soul-thru-da-ink, upvote & resteem!

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @soul-thru-da-ink to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 8700 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.100 Steem or 0.100 Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works. News you will find under the hashtag #resteembotnews.

Please help us grow and use our link to trade #IOTA #BTC #ETH and a lot of more at one of the biggest exchanges. https://www.binance.com/?ref=10230705

@resteem.bot

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29