Bitcuners Invite Me To Speak At An Upcoming Dash-Sponsored Event In Cancun - Crypto Grows In Mexico

in #crypto7 years ago

Yesterday I attended another crypto meet up in Cancun with the Bitcuners and they are most definitely outgrowing the Startbucks where they meet weekly. The number of people attending is growing steadily and the energy of the group is very enthusiastic.

The Bitcuners received another green light on their proposal to the Dash network to further their cause of helping people get involved using Dash as a payment method and introducing people to cryptocurrencies. This is the second proposal that Dash has approved for the group and their momentum is picking up speed.

bitcuners crypto news cancun.png

Here you can read more about the Bitcuners

This week I have signed up three more people to Steemit who will be posting as soon as their accounts get approved and I'll make a post to help introduce them to the community once they do. Also, my friend who is on Steemit as @mithrylweed join us at the Bitcuners meet up and is getting to mix with the locals. It was good to see him.

I have also helped two people new to crypto install a wallet and buy some bitcoin for the first time using LocalBitcoins.com and am getting more requests from a handful of friends to help them get started with Bitcoin. Bitcoin, it seems, is making a name for itself here in Mexico. Here's a post I did abut my first time using LocalBitcoins.com that seems to be helping people navigate the site.

One of the people that @mythrylweed brought to the event to talk with me about installing their first bitcoin wallet and getting some coins turned out to be the father of a friend I used to work with for years which I didn't know until we exchanged emails. Small world, right?

One of the merchants who regularly attends the Bitcuners meet ups got some press in the local paper helping to bring more awareness to customers and merchants about cryptocurrencies, or as they call it here moneda digital, which translates to digital money.

local crypto merchant news in cancun.jpg

The title of the local story translates to,
"
Businesses Adopt Digital Currency Payment
"**

The story goes on to say that as digital currency payments become more secure and common, business are beginning to embrace to new technology as a form of payment for their businesses.

local crypto merchant news in cancun customers.jpg

Locals buying items with Dash and Bitcoin. Notice the sign hanging in the store to advertise they take crypto

Customers are coming into these stores and buying items using cryptos, something I plan to help foster and grow in this area.

Did you know that of the 120 million people living in Mexico 80 million are unbanked and 100 million have a smart phone? With digital wallets installed on their phones they could have access to peer-to-peer financial services they would not otherwise have access to. This area is ideal for introducing people to other money options besides fiat not to mention that over 24 billion USD came into the country last year in the form of remittances from foreign countries.

bitcuners 5.jpg

The groups is made up of half men and half women which I find very interesting. Money is not gender based after all but for some reason I thought less women would be interested in this crypto stuff. I stand corrected gratefully.

bitcuners 4.jpg

The day after the event I was invited by JZA and Yucy, the event organizers, to talk one on one and they have invited me to be a guest speaker at their upcoming, Dash-sponsored, crypto event to be help at the Grand Oasis hotel on June 8th at 7 pm.

They want me to talk to merchants who are attending about the benefits of accepting cryptocurrencies as a method of payment in their businesses.

The main speaker is Juan Galt, a well-known author in the crypto space who will be flying in for the event. Juan Galt has written about crypto for Bitcoin News, Cointelegraph, and Bitcoin Magazine among others.

He was also a speaker at last year's Anarchapulco hosted each year in Acapulco. Mexico by Steemit's own @dollarvigilante AKA Jeff Berwick.

Juan S. Galt is a Bitcoin, Blockchain Tech and Privacy Researcher and consultant. He has been a Journalist in the Cryptocurrency and DAO space since early 2014. And how focuses on Education, Video Production and Cryptocurrency analysis. You can learm more about Juan S. Galt and his work at FreedomHacker.TV/bitcoin credit

I'm honored they asked me to speak and gladly accepted. I have a good idea of what bullet points I to talk about, but let me ask you this. We all know more minds are better than one so perhaps you can help me give a better presentation.

If you were a merchant considering accepting cryptocurrency at your place of business, what would be the benefits in your mind?

What benefits does accepting cryptos offer a business?

Please add your comments below and the more ideas the better. Thanks.

DASH is better money than Bitcoin. Anarchapulco 2016 Speech by Juan Galt

Sort:  

Great post. Never knew DASH was so popular!

It's getting popular over here along with bitcoin and if I have anything to say about it, Steem.

Very cool....new times are upon us my friend.

Good to see you there last night.

Cool Post and great pictures :) Sounds like you had a good time in Cancun

Fun times. Missing you already. Hope you're having fun.

How is the hostel without me? Did you get the translation? It is pretty calm here :) I just love the food!! - I am already looking forward to the beers at our beautiful beach :)

Not the same without you. I sent you my email if you could please send it there. Thanks. See you soon.

You should have it now in your inbox :) - I´ll be back soon!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $27.83 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 13 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64927.71
ETH 3517.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36