Crypto Tips: How BlockPay is Helping to Bring Crypto to the MassessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #crypto7 years ago

Cryptocurrency was developed to be more than just an investment to speculate, or for a quick buck to be made by day trading.

At the core, cryptos are built for utility, it’s what ultimately decides its value.

ScreenShot2016-12-01at4_Fotoradd9b.md.jpg

One day you’ll be able to go to your small, local grocery store and buy a bag of veggies and a loaf of bread by using any crypto currency of your choice.
Let’s take a moment to fully appreciate that thought. Imagine supporting your favorite digital currencies the way they were meant to be utilized.
Thanks to the company BlockPay- brought to you by the creators of BitShares, that day will come sooner than you think.
BlockPay has set the stage for mass adoption and acceptance of digital currencies by businesses around the globe. They offer their great new software for FREE. It’s easy to set up and will enable businesses to accept any foreign currency as well as all of the new digital currencies and smart coins.

This gets me excited.

Since I often find myself in foreign countries, the thought of being able to pay in Steem, Bitcoin, or any coin that would be most beneficial for me, would be a huge relief. No longer would I need to worry about the exchange rate, or how long until my funds from cryptos are transferred into my bank account. But the best part is keeping those coins in circulation in the real world; and solidifying their value with people who may have thought of them as nothing more than fake money.

There are two sides to this scenario. The business owner, and the consumer. Which is more important for initiating the widespread acceptance of digital currencies for goods and services?
Which came first, the chicken or the egg?
I agree with the BlockPay website. It states that the merchants will ultimately drive the success of this adoption- much like the adoption of credit cards can be attributed to big name retailers who first started accepting them as a form of payment.

But let’s not discount the importance of the of consumers.

I don’t care if I’m at a small bait and tackle shop in Indiana, at Macy’s in downtown Chicago, or at a cafe in Amsterdam, I’m going to ask them if I can pay in Bitcoin, Ethereum, Steem or Dash. Of course I know that most likely they will not. But the very fact that I bring it up to them will plant the seed that their customers are using other forms of payment. Their customers have needs that they aren't yet fulfilling.
It’s even better if I frequent that location, because they’ll be even more likely to enquire about it and learn why it would be beneficial for them as a business and for me the consumer.

Right now the crypto-sphere is a snowflake. Someone’s gotta get the ball rolling and turn it into an avalanche. BlockPay is working to do just that.

Sort:  

I'm a big fan of BlockPay! @kencode and his team are movers and shakers!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

steemit Steemit tweeted @ 01 Dec 2016 - 17:48 UTC

How @BlockPay_ch is Helping to Bring #CryptoCurrency to the Masses @Steemit

steemit.com/crypto/@heidit… / https://t.co/rW3mB2aVCS
https://t.co/b2Yt7RzPIM

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Thanks, and thanks!

Fight the good fight my friend :) Thanks!

Great post @heiditravels! It feels great to be on the forefront of such an exciting thing..

One day (hopefully not in the too distant future) we'll look back and say- I knew it! ;)

Wow, Awesome episode Heidi! Thank you for covering us at your latest episode of #cryptotips! I am looking forward to more tips all around Steemit, digital currencies and more in your upcoming videos.

You are right that we all can help the adoption of digital currencies like Bitcoin and Steemit when we talk about it in our daily life. Tools like #Steemit, #BlockPay and others will be the fundaments of the next digital economy.

Keep on pushing guys and girls :)

Wow, absolutely fantastic video @heiditravels !

I'm not one of the original Bitshares inventors though, I just chose the Bitshares platform to build stuff on. BlockPay, Stealth, C-IPFS, Echo, mobile wallets, etc. Bitshares can't be beat.

We'll have a couple more releases before Christmas too, so stay tuned, and thanx so much for your awesome posts!! :)

Nice post. I have been using BTC to pay for food and bills for around 6 months. I actually don't use a bank account anymore. I have 2 debit cards for BTC I use depending on Market value, and I now have a new Debit card I can use BTC and ETH and also my favorite 'Dash". There are also a few ways you can now accept most crypto currencies in your store including steem and steem dollars.

@heiditravels Where I live, I can shop for clothes, shoes, bags, kitchen wares, eat out on restos, drink in a bar, karaoke, buy a gala gown, eat cake and organic food paying BTC . We can even pay our rent, take out food or have 'em delivered at home using BTC. It's already a reality where I live.

Arnhem is probably the first truly Bitcoin city in the world ;D Time for visit soon!

@chris4210 haha some other countries have the same situation but we are the Bitcoin capital of the world. you could check bitkassa.nl :) for the services. I've been to this hotel on a date with my hubby - almost every other week paying btc -they accept btc payments on everything there. cool huh?

@kus-knee yes, i think so, too
here we ate out, had fun, and paid with BTC :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04