My Experience with One Page Exchange - New Blocktrades Competitor

in #crypto6 years ago (edited)


Some of you might have heard already that there's a new alternative for Blocktrades, called One Page Exchange, which allows you to 'instantly' exchange your Steem for other crypto and vice versa.

I had decided to try them out for two STEEM purchases using Bitcoin, since they currently do not charge any fees. Comparing the amount of STEEM I would receive with Blocktrades, I did end up getting a bit more with OnePageX. The difference isn't that big, but it's big enough that you might want to think about it.



The positive

My first transaction went through fine and after my Bitcoin transaction had two confirmations, my STEEM was sent to my account immediately. It's a bit slower than Blocktrades, but I didn't really encounter any problems with my first transaction.

The negative

I made a second trade, again sending Bitcoin to One Page Exchange to receive STEEM from them. This time things didn't go as smoothly. I used the same address to send the Bitcoin to, but this time my transaction was flagged and I'm still waiting to receive it. I didn't do anything weird with this transaction, it was sent from the same personal Electrum wallet I had used for the first transaction.

I think I'm waiting just about an hour now and if I had known this would happen, then I would've just used Blocktrades. Having a transaction stuck for God-knows-how-long certainly isn't worth the 1 STEEM that I've saved.

Then I would just use Bittrex and get cheaper STEEM, which also requires some waiting time.

Conclusion

I don't think I'm going to use One Page Exchange again, if my transactions get flagged for no reason. Such a thing has never happened to me on any exchange, so I was a bit surprised when it happened here.

I would love to know why it got flagged in the first place, maybe @onepagex could answer that for me? You guys would have a great service, if it was operating at the same speed as Blocktrades, but for now it's certainly a bit slower.

EDIT - My transaction did go through in the end, it appears as though they were doing some maintenance. Check the comments under this post to see One Page Exchange's reply.


Advertisement


Check out Mannabase if you want to receive a free basic income

Receive free Litecoins every 5 minutes

Join STEEMFOLLOWER to gain more exposure on STEEMIT


Sort:  

Interesting and honest review. Although, I'm a little unclear why either Blocktrades or OnePageX would be be preferable to Binanace/Bittrex? I guess it is one less hop for the BTC/ETH/LTC, but it is rare that you would need STEEM in that much of a hurry....

At the moment, the best use case is for a simple change between SBD/STEEM but I don't really see much use otherwise?

Yeah it's a bit faster than a regular exchange. I know it's not that much time saved, but I tend to use Blocktrades because I don't have to log in, don't have to wait for confirmations, don't have to manually buy/sell.

That is cool that they got back to you so quickly and had a reasonable excuse for what was going on. I personally don't do a lot with Bitcoin, but if they are really going to add Litecoin in the future that could be very interesting.

Hello @daan,

First of all, thank you for trying OnePageX.com!

We are sorry to hear you had to wait. We were doing some routine maintenance as well as implementing updates, and during this time there may be some delays.

In fact, we will be launching LTC for deposit input, and we are actively working on facilitating STEEM deposits (this would result in significantly faster transactions as well)!

We hope this experience does not discourage you from using using us, as this is an exception and not the rule.

No problem, it did get through eventually. I'll edit this post to include that and I will certainly try again in the future.

Thank you for being so understanding. Please feel free to contact us on here or through the contact form on OnePageX.com if any other issues arise. We are dedicated to ensuring that users have a great experience with OnePageX.com!

Thanks for alerting us to this new exchange. I generally use Blocktrades and I'm happy with them, but I think it's always best to have a choice. I haven't done any exchanges for a while, and when I do, I prefer to use Litecoin. I have a great LTC app called Loafwallet and the exchanges are generally fast and straightforward.

Yeah, I think that Blocktrades could use some competition. I love the fact that this exchange has 0% fees until the end of the year. I'm glad that they even responded to this post and explained why my transaction was a bit slower.

I'm also very happy with Blocktrades' service, though their fees are a bit high.

Good information for sure.. sometimes those new exchanges still have bugs that need to be worked out. Its hard to compare a new exchange to one thats been around for a whiel, but yeah i think ill pass for now 😉 thanks for checking itnout and letting us know.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks for the info good to know of other options

Hi @daan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.683 which ranks you at #5200 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 147 places in the last three days (old rank 5053).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 225 contributions, your post is ranked at #112.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 310 (11/12/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67706.36
ETH 2616.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72